This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange

Reviews of Camp Hwange

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Hwange and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Hwange.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

53% success

Wild dog

37% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Roan antelope

58% success

Sable antelope

52% success

Eland

50% success

Wildebeest

32% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

4% success

Oryx

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Wellington

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2018
"Quite outstanding in all respects." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Mr M
Toronto

"Superb staff"

3 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2018
"Pros: This is an excellent camp in the north of Hwange with absolutely amazing staff. We were most fortunate to have Spike as our guide, although he usually works at the sister bush camp. We have been on many safaris and Spike has been the most knowledgeable guide we have ever had. Kim the manager of the camp is extremely efficient and professional, as well as enjoyable to talk to and kind.

Cons: June is very cold and even with the hot water bottles and blankets provided, it is still cold at night and very cold getting dressed in the morning. Although the camp tries hard e.g. warm ponchos and blankets in the jeep, our very early drive out of the park in order to be picked up for transportation to Victoria Falls, was long and freezing. Ensure that you have a warm hat, many layers including a down jacket, and a face mask." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 14 May 2018
"tented rooms were clean and had a nice outlook onto a water hole. Main lodge had a campfire around which we gathered each evening prior to dinner and which was lit in the morning if you wished to warm up. The mornings were quite chilly so definitely needed my down vest for game drives. Loved the hot water bottles which were put in our beds each night.

Try to go when the French investors are not in camp--they tend to take over while there and it flavours the whole experience. Two of them smoked while we were there and I saw one of them simply drop his cigarette and grind it out in the sand in front of the lodge.

We had a very bad experience with a trainee guide which Julian dealt with and which I won't go into details here. Julian is a superb Zimbabwean trained guide with a wealth of knowledge. His story telling is magical as he talks about the lions Lots of good walking here, but is always preceded by a drive to get to a walking location." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"We were quite early in the season(May) so wildlife wasn't as plentiful as we hoped, but the camp did a nice job overall.

Our guide Nigel was exceptional and contributed to us having one game drive that was just great, we saw everything from Cape Buffalo running to being surrounded by six lions." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs M
Japan

"Beautiful camp with great view"

3 nights Arrived 28 Apr 2018
"Camp Hwange is a beautiful camp. I like the view of wide plain and waterhole with an elephant from my room.

Food was excellent, I think one of the best food experience I have ever had at the camps in Africa.

Julian, who has wealth of knowledge, was my guide throughout my stay and I really enjoyed walking. It was an exciting moment facing an elephant. We happened to find Bat-eared fox while walking. And walking up to buffaloes was another exciting moent as well.

All of camp staff are very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
E
Canada

"Camp Hwange"

4 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2018
"Our experience at Camp Hwange was phenomenal! The guest rooms are simple yet elegant, and completely met our needs. The setting is peaceful and a perfect escape from the bustle of everyday life, where we were serenaded to sleep by the grunts of hippos.

The staff were thoughtful, professional and approachable, and anticipated all our needs. The guides, in particular, were second to none. The information they provided and the efforts they made were truly the highlight of our trip.

The food was also fantastic, and without our even mentioning it, they noticed our preferences and made an effort to meet those.

Overall, I cannot praise Camp Hwange highly enough, and it will be our first choice should we make another trip to Zimbabwe." See all these reviews: 4n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Queensland

"rough & tumble, guiding not up to expectation"

3 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2018
"Unfortunately this lodge did not live up to expectation. I was guided by Julienne the former manager twice, then a trainee twice, before Spike.

Julienne I truly didn't feel was very committed to or interested in guiding. He picked me up at the gate, and only pointed out a small number of animals we happened to come across along the road. I discovered later that there was a lake and hide half way to the camp that we could have gone to to see a good variety of birds and animals. Upon arrival I was given the closest room to the public area which could result in me hearing all the laughters and conversations in the dining room late at night when I want to go to bed early with my jetlag. I requested a move further away, and was told by him that I had requested the room closest to the dining area for mobility reasons. I never made such a request, and why would anyone come to a camp renowed for walking safaris if they can't walk from their room to the public area?

Expert Africa passed all the room requests to me to check, and the requests we ever made were for the quietest room possible, or the room with the best view for photography. He argued and argued about this non-existent request, and that all future guests coming were families and they want to keep them next to each other. I ended giving up and walked away. As it turned out the next guest was elderly and had mobility problems, and would have made such as request. So good the way they read their emails! As for keeping families together - all incoming guests were adults, and the cottages were spaced several meters apart. Do they expect guests to yell across that distance to have a family conversation? They did end up changing me to a different room but it wasn't a pleasant exchange. As for guiding, Julienne and the trainee Blyde (who is a nice bloke) drove up to the animals too fast, resulting in them running away. Their style of guiding was to drive up, tell you the name of the animal, give you a few moments to take photos, and then drive off to look for the next animal. As there had been alot of rain, game was very thin, and we spent alot more time driving around on bumpy roads than doing anything else. Blyde who was in training, was not in a position to give much information, but Julienne often truly seemed uninterested even when asked. I guesd it's no worse than guides I experienced in many other parts of Africa. But I was told the guides here were very knowledgeable and I was looking forward to much more.

I have read a review that some of their vehicles have seats (which are just old fashion benches) so high that nobody's feet could reach the floor. We made a request for the more comfortable type of vehicle as I have back problems. That didn't seem to be taken into account and I was given the back breaking vehicle. Even after using a tyre or a stool to raise the feet, after one and a half days my back flarred up very badly ( the worst in 20 years). I still wasn't offerred a different vehicle (they did have several vehicles), and given the disappointing safaris experience, I felt so depressed that I decided to give up the next 2 days of safaris, stay in my room to rest my back, and just go home to watch David Attenborough for a better experience. The next morning I went to breakfast when others are leaving for their safaris, and found Spike had a vehicle with proper seats same as the ones at the last lodge I stayed in.

I joined them at the last minute and found in Spike the most considerate person towards guests and animals. He is one of a small number of guides who truly knows how to approach animals, and particularly birds which require alot of care. With him I had good sightings and was able to get many good bird photos. He had a true love of nature and was ready to impart his extensive knowledge to guests at all times. Even with the late turnaround, I cannot recommend this camp as there is no guarantee that one would get Spike for their stay. I actually preferred guides from Namibia to most of the ones here. They were more communicative and approachable. I cannot comment on the quality of walking safaris here as there wasn't really much game around to attempt that.

And for the accomodation, this place was set up and run on a shoe string. Lighting is the dimmest in all lodges I've stayed in for this trip. They could have mounted the lights lower and it would have been brighter. There's no light in the bathroom whatsoever. Basically one has to use a torch throughout the cottage, and in the dining room to see what food is being displayed, and to eat. Expect Africa made a couple of food requests on my behalf. Some weren't brought in until I was half way thru my stay. Even then they were of such low quality (rotten) that some had to be thrown out and recooked.

This place, unlike most lodges, made no attempt to cover their food. Virtually everything was consumed by insects of all kinds, before by humans. They could see I was bothered by flies, and made attempts to use a fly net to cover my food. But what about other guests? Even with their attempts, I still found a dead fly in my food and dead ants in my honey. Since such issues seemed insignificant compared to other things I had to deal with, I just scooped them out and continued the eat the rest of the meal. If insects in your room and food bothers you, definitely don't consider this place.

Kim who looked after guests' daily needs made a genuine attempt to accomodate my dietery needs. But as was the case across Africa in general, only half the instructions were followed as they got passed down the chain.

The best thing about this lodge was their meat was the tastiest I 've ever had anywhere (even with no favoring).

In summary, I experienced the lowest standard in accommodation and vehicle comfort at this lodge. Another lodge with the same uncomfortable vehicle had built metal footrests across to fix the problem. Here you are expected to rough everything. For me, it just wasn't worth it." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 4n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Ms L
Elma

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"This was an unbelievable experience for us.

It was OVER THE TOP." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
BloomfieldHills

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"We really enjoyed our time at Camp Hwange.

The staff was great and wonderful experience on safari.

We stayed 4 nights which we thought about right for starting our trip and the guiding was superb and very educational.

We were lucky enough to see a second leopard and a pride of lion staying the fourth night!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Alan
Glasgow

"An unexpected wonder "

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"The drive to Hwange through the Park was at first quite uninspiring, through an open cast coal mine, then mile after mile of quite burnt out scrub land. After a long drive through the park reaching the camp was a great reward and the warmth of the reception by staff was very welcoming. The chalets were very good but in the heat of the day, would really have benefited from some form of aircon.

Adam,our guide and host did a fantastic job. we had an amazing walking safari, tracking lion several unforgettable encounters with elephants, including a heart-stopping close encounter from behind some fallen tree stumps with an older bull and then a younger more nervous one. And our last night dinner in the bush (a birthday treat) lit by candles was a true highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 87
97%
87 reviews of Camp Hwange by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (37 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


95% (36 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


97% (31 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


98% (24 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


98% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


88% (5 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp features a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants and offers excellent value for money.


95% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (2 reviews)
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 12km Dete Vlei, the recently upgraded and family-friendly Sable Valley sits in a private reserve within easy reach of Hwange National Park.


100% (1 review)
Daka Plains Camp

Daka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa