This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange

Reviews of Camp Hwange

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Camp Hwange and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 35 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Camp Hwange.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

33% success

Cheetah

53% success

Wild dog

37% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Buffalo

88% success

Spotted Hyena

62% success

Roan antelope

58% success

Sable antelope

52% success

Eland

50% success

Wildebeest

32% success

Brown Hyena

13% success

Pangolin

4% success

Oryx

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Mr T.
United Kingdom

"It's all about the Game"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"We had absolutely excellent game and bird viewing at Camp Hwange. Our guide, Washington, was one of the best we've had over several safari trips. A local man, he has come up through the ranks and is absolutely passionate about what he does. Ideally for us he was a mine of information about birds and keen on photography. Not yet 'Zim Pro' but he soon will be and we would always ask for him if we were to re-visit.

We were very appreciative that they set up a table on the small 'patio' in front of our room each evening and served our dinner there. Those doing the serving were delightful.

A few constructive comments - the 'back of house' was not as strong as the front. Our time of departure from the Victoria Falls Hotel was never confirmed and we spent too much of our all-too-short stay there running around during the evening and early morning trying to get the phone answered to find out. Comparing the housekeeping and laundry service with other equally remote camps, it left a lot to be desired. They have a known problem with dormice seeking food during the night. If we had been advised we could have avoided a luggage bag and a flight bag having holes eaten through them and the contents shredded." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms N
California

"Beautiful camp with incredible amenities"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"We visited Camp Hwange for a 3 night safari and enjoyed our stay. Our decision to visit Camp Hwange was based on their solid reputation and ability to do walking tours. During our stay, a good amount of their guides were on leave which made for a crowded first day. The 2nd day improved significantly when we had a very long and full day of walking and saw a lot of great game with less people in the vehicle.

The facilities are beautiful. Of all the camps we visited, Camp Hwange had the most beautiful rooms and the best food. It was all delicious!

We did find some of the staff a bit stuffy and awkward. Maybe it's because their dining table is very wide and long that meals can feel uncomfortable. During one interaction, a manager gave me the wifi details and told me if too many people are using it in the common area they will "shut it down" because they want their guests to be social. The social aspect felt a bit forced at Camp Hwange and not natural as a result of their staff.

Overall, I'd recommend Camp Hwange because Julian is an excellent guide with an incredible amount of knowledge and the facilities are beautiful." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
BJB
Los Angeles

"Camp Hwange Hidden Gem"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2017
"While not easy to reach, Camp Hwange is a hidden gem. It is small and intimate with an outstanding staff.

The rooms are large and comfortable with great views of the game gathering at the watering hole. In addition to game drives in a jeep, there are many opportunities for walking.

During the day, we tracked lions, followed a cheetah, and experienced outstanding night drives.

For easier access, an airstrip is being built in the vicinity and should be completed in the near future.

Expert Africa arranged for Julian Brookstein as a private guide here; these travellers commented:

We had the privilege of being guided by Julian Brookstein. In addition to his vast knowledge of the animals in the bush, Julian has a particular interest in lion conservation. As we sat observing two lionesses and their two year old cubs, Julian shared the most fascinating lineage and history of the lions in the area. We also had the opportunity to track lions on a seven mile walking safari. Hwange offers the opportunity for night drives and Julian did not disappoint. His ability to spot small game was remarkable.

On our final day, we tracked a cheetah who cavorted and "posed" for us for over an hour." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Dubai

"True African wildlife experience "

3 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2017
"For our first African safari we couldn't have asked for more. Camp Hwange was exceptional. Right from the moment our transfer began from the airport, the game drive also began. Washington was the driver cum guide for us who was very patient and made the drive exciting talking about the flora, fauna and showing us wildlife all along the route to the camp. Once we arrived at the camp, we were greeted by extremely friendly staff that eventually enhanced our experience during the stay.

The best thing about Camp Hwange is Adam, a highly knowledgeable, enthusiastic and engaging pro guide with a great sense of humor. We chose Zimbabwe specifically for walking safari. We wanted to experience not just the big game but everything about the African wilderness. Adam made sure that we got more than what we expected. With the help of Changa, the tracker and Adam, we were able to see over 25 species of animals, 80 species of birds, learn about the vegetation of Hwange and truly appreciate the unique ecology of Africa.

Some of the things we really enjoyed was having meals with the other guests at the camp and the staff, sharing our exciting experiences. Tracy, Lana, McKenzie and the entire kitchen staff were amazing. The fellow travelers also made a big difference and the credit goes to the Camp Hwange staff for making it happen. Camp Hwange took note of our dietary requirements, in that we are vegetarians and served us the choicest of veg delights including freshly baked pastries and cookies.

There is so much to do at Camp Hwange that we thought 3 days was too short a stay and we wish to go back for more." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B & Ms N
Georgia

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2017
"Guides are by far some of the best we have experienced in Africa.

The accomodations are very clean and comfortable. Food is superb and they go out of their way to accomodate vegetarians.

This was our second trip to Hwange and will not be our last. We look forward to our next trip to Africa and Hwange." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
Ongar

"Camp Hwange review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2017
"Camp feels like it was plonked around the water hole rather than blending in.

Rooms are comfortable and well equipped

Food was of a consistently good standard

Service from all the camp staff and the guiding was excellent throughout our stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr I & Mrs W
Dorset

"Camp Hwange - the highlight of the trip"

3 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2016
"Of the three Lodges we stayed at Camp Hwange provided the best all round experience. The accommodation has everything you need plus a great view of the Waterhole.

However, the safaris are so good that there is little time to watch what goes on at the Waterhole. This is a full on Safari experience with excellent guiding (Spike is the best guide I have encountered in Africa - knowledgeable, entertaining and great company) and included walking and a full day (14 hour) safari that gave an opportunity to see another part of the park.

The food is good and plentiful and all the staff are committed to ensuring that you have a great time. This is a happy place to stay - a big thank you to all." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs J
IOW

"Excellent"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2016
"Perhaps the highlight of the trip. Lovely facilities and excellent service.

The highlight was the foot safaris with Julian - tracking lions on foot and walking to watch elephants and buffalo in the river was an amazing experience.

We'd love to go back." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Herts

"Full on in many ways"

5 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"Camp Hwange chosen as the safari add on to our Namibia tour , because of easy flight from Windhoek to Vic Falls, land access to Hwange NP, and varied activities at camp, with emphasis on 'walking' and night drives possible. These also distinguish S Luangwa where we have been 8 times over 30 years.

Soon became clear that Hwange walking differed markedly from rest of Africa previously experienced. As soon as a big five animal spotted, or tracks found, this became a tracking and then stalking exercise , with the intention of getting as close as possible , without intentionally creating a hazardous encounter. This evolution from hunting was striking, with considerable discussion over dinner about firearms, particularly with NRA supporting Americans. All the guides supported trophy hunting for cash as the only way to support conservation.
Our guide, a white Zimbabwean, working freelance was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of of the bush and animals.

found there. He was very keen to please and did suggest varying the usual timetable with a full day out, and a couple of long walks initially 'nature' ones but reverting to stalking if the opportunity arose. The normal timetable was simple breakfast at 05.30, leave at 6.00, return for lunch at ca 12.30. Tea at 4.00 leave at 4.30 with spotlight from dusk till 7.30 with dinner finishing about 9.00. We felt that this did not give enough private time but given the meal times difficult to circumvent. However nobody would complain they weren't getting their moneysworth.

The extreme dryness encompassing Southern Africa this year showed in the reliance of all animals on the few water holes and damned lakes or a couple of natural spring areas. Even the ones accessible from the cam p were up to 20km apart, so it involved considerable travel between sites where animals were prolific.

It should be noted that the transfer from Vic Falls to Camp Hwange took 4.5 hours.of which 2.5 were in the park. A long time if people were coming straight out after a flight.
Description of camp as comfortable but not luxurious absolutely accurate ,food very good. Suited us very well." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr Steve King
USA

"Lots of wildlife around Camp Hwange"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We saw an amazing amount of wildlife. Andy was an excellent guide. He accommodated us to the best of his ability, including a fruitless half day attempt to spot a rhino.

He was knowledgeable and experienced. When they talk about the great guiding in Zimbabwe, Andy is what they mean.

Couldn't be happier with the time spent at Camp Hwange. We saw it all except for a cheetah, and rhino. Enjoyed listening to the animals around the watering hole at night.

I highly recommend Camp Hwange." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 41-50 of 87
97%
87 reviews of Camp Hwange by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
77
6
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


95% (37 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (37 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


97% (32 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


98% (24 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


99% (16 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


98% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


88% (5 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp features a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants and offers excellent value for money.


88% (5 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Daka Plains Camp

Daka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 12km Dete Vlei, the recently upgraded and family-friendly Sable Valley sits in a private reserve within easy reach of Hwange National Park.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa