This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss J. from Bury St. Edmu

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

0

Vic Falls and Camp Hwange Nov 2019

Zimbabwe between 20 Nov 2019 and 29 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"As always the trip was wonderful.

Not having to worry about transfers, just had to be there at the correct time.

The booking of the trip was excellent and communication was very good."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Btonka Guest Lodge in Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2019
"This was our third time staying in Victoria Falls, but first time at Batonka. It is set just outside the main part of the town which makes it a quite and relaxing place with a very reliable taxi to the town centre or during the day you can walk (not advisable at night as you could meet an elephant or two!!!)

Nothing was to much trouble, booking taxis giving you a pack breakfast to take to the falls with us knowing we where going to be there all morning.

Breakfast was lovely and the complementary tea and coffee all day. We had a garden room which was lovely a spacious with a massive bathroom."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Fantastic safari at Camp Hwange"

7 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2019
"This is our third time at camp Hwange. As usual the staff, accommodation, food and facilities where excellent. The guides where excellent especially Washington. The learner guides where very knowledgeable and looked after us very well making sure we had drinks, asking what we had seen and waking us up every morning.

Camp Hwange is the best camp if you want a really African safari. The guiding in exceptional and the best in Africa. Nothing is to much trouble and the food is fantastic. One of the best things about is camp is it is small and has it own concession, so you are able to do night drives which is a treat to see nocturnal animals, we saw porcupines for the first time!!!! It is situated in the quieter park of the park so you don't see many other vehicles.

This is the first time we have been in November and there had been some rain and it was a lot greener than when we have been in September. It was lovely to see some flower coming out and learning about the flora and not just the animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Victoria Falls and Camp Hwange

Zimbabwe between 25 Aug 2018 and 5 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was seamless, transfers where all there when they where meant to be. Ilala Lodge was lovely and camp Hwange was fantastic."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"The transfer from airport to Ilala was very good. Once at Ilala the welcoming was great with a drink and a comfy seat while filling out the registration form. We where then taken to our room which was downstairs, the room backed onto the lawn which was lovely for just relaxing and watching the wildlife. The breakfast was fantastic with a wide choice of cooked breakfast, cereal, cold meats and pastries. Staff where very helpful at booking taxis and booking tables at restaurants for us. It is the perfected location for Victoria Falls a safe 10 minute walk . We stayed 3 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Fantastic Safari at Camp Hwange "

8 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"This was our second stay at Camp Hwange. This time we stayed 8 nights. Well where to start. The transfers where seamless as usual, drinks where offered on the way to the camp. It is a 31/2 to 4 hour transfer fro Vic falls, yes you go thought an open mine, but they have put in a road that takes you round the outside not through anymore. Once at the gate into the park you are met by one the the learner guides from the camp. Once you go through the gate your safari starts.

The welcome at camp was lovely as always, staff to meet you and a drink. Once shown to your room where your bags are all ready you are shown everything in the room. We then went back to the main bit of camp for lunch. The great thing about this camp is that you all eat together round a big table with the guides and other guests.

In the morning you are woken at 5.30 with hot water in a flask for a cup of tea or coffee you then make your way to the main area of camp when it light enough to leave your room which is about 6.00, you have breakfast and then go out on your morning game drive. You get back from the morning game drive in time for lunch. After lunch you have a couple of hours to yourself before afternoon tea and afternoon game drive. Your evening game drive involves sun downers of course, then a night drive back to the camp for dinner. You can go on walking safari's but we chose not to.

The food was brilliant as always and nothing is to much trouble. The staff are all very friendly and look after you. Our guide Washington was fantastic and his knowledge of the bush is second to none. Adam was great as well. Kim looked after any of our needs very well. Zimbabwean guides are the best I known.

This camp is one of the best we have stayed at, the think that we liked about it is that you are away from most of the main camps in Hwange so don't see many other vehicles do must of the time you have the animals to yourselves. This was our second time here and we will go back again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team