This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

112 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

35% success

Leopard

14% success

Cheetah

7% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

91% success

Zebra

65% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Elephant

56% success

Brown Hyena

28% success

Meerkat

20% success

Wildebeest

15% success

Showing 21-30 of 112
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S.
Northampton

"Good rooms and service"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"enjoyed tracking on foot. good guides, food, rooms and service" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Superb Dessert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"Dessert Rhino Camp was our favourite camp of our trip and perhaps the nicest camp we've ever stayed in.

The atmosphere was wonderful; the staff were the most friendly ever, our guide the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable, the location superb, the activities fun and exciting. Plus great food and great company. The style is simple but everything you need.

The bush dinner was enormous fun and very much appreciated by all the guests.

All this in an area which felt truly remote." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Desert Rhino"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"A wonderful place. We loved it.

Had to use 'the african airconditioning' in the tent as it got very hot." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

D & K
Texas

"Rhino tracking was incredible"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"As the descriptions of the camp say, tracking rhinos is the focus of the activities at this camp. Rhino tracking was a major highlight of our trip.

The first day, we spent hours tracking a rhino before the guides showed us where to hide and the rhino walked right in front of us. We thought we'd used up our luck, but on the second day, the trackers found and tracked a group of 3 rhinos which we were able to walk up on and observe without them knowing we were there. Although we were very lucky, there's no guarantee of seeing a rhino on a given day, so we're glad we stayed 3 nights.

We also enjoyed this camp very much. It is and feels like a small and intimate camp. The staff were most welcoming as they greeted us with singing upon arrival and departure. We enjoyed sitting at a communal table and visiting with other guests during meals. Although some may not like it, we enjoyed staying someplace with no cell service or Internet." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Our favourite camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"Wonderful welcome and departure with singing. The service was the friendliest and the best on our trip. The food was out of this world, including a barbeque. Wines of high quality. Amazing to get all this in such a remote location.

Finding black rhinos wasn't easy but it was a marvellous experience when we saw them. Walking up to the rhinos for a short distance made it even better.

Hot water: we found out that there was only enough hot water for one shower a day.

NB The instructions said that the transfer from our car to the camp would take 3-4 hours. This is wrong; it took an hour and a half, but it was still quite hard work. My recommendation would be to fly into this camp, even if the rest of the holiday is self-drive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"Wonderful experience at Desert Rhino Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2018
"Quite wonderful location - we flew into the camp's airstrip from Windhoek via Doro Nawas Airstrip. Well worth doing. The camp is located quite literally in the middle of the desert.

We stayed for two nights, and wanted more. Had great day tracking black rhino. Everyone was so helpful, generous and fun. A special mention to Lloyd our guide, who was informative and a good companion.

It was good to see rhinos in their natural environment, as well as other animals. We did not expected the hills surrounding the camp and across the whole area to be so beautiful - they changed colour as the day went on, with hues of pink, purple and blue. We were also fortunate in that it had recently rained, and the desert was covered is silvery grass which also changed colour during the day.

Food was excellent and each night the staff explained the menu in local "click" language as well.as English. They are wonderful singers too. A fabulous stay - cannot recommend it highly enough. Will come back one day." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Midlothian

"Desert Rhino Camp live up to expectations "

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2018
"We had the most amazing safari and were lucky to see three rhinos on foot and get within 10m of a cheetah (in the truck).

The scenery is beautiful. The guiding was exceptional. The area was just starting to get a game population back as the rains were late.

But we saw springbok giraffe oryx impala as well rhinos and cheetah - all in the most wonderful scenery. Plenty of birds too. Loved it!

Staff at the camp were fantastic and we particularly loved the singing." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"Fantastic place with fantastic staff.

The Rhino Camp team does everything they can to make the visit worthwhile, and the scenery, wildlife, and lodge are amazing." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Drs F & S
Oregon

"Great experience"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Only wish perhaps that we had flown in and rearranged our driving arrangements" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
Ottawa

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"It is very cold temperature during our stay and there was no area where you could warm up. The staff did their best to make us comfortable and provided with hot water bottles and blankets but with partial success.

The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were funny and caring. They sure know how to sing and dance!

The landscape is like nothing we saw before, looks more like the moon. We felt so far away from everything." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 112
97%
112 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
15
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (447 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa