This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr and Mrs A from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

June 2019

Namibia between 28 Jun 2019 and 14 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved our trip.

At times we found the impact of the drought challenging - particularly in Etosha. Namibia is a stunning place and a wonderful place to travel in. The standards of accommodation, food and service were far higher than we expected. At times we felt a little uncomfortable with the luxury ( in some places we had wonderful days with out with our guides but at dinner it was the white members of staff we had not really met who sat down and ate with us, for example ).

The driving was perhaps more time consuming that we had imagined and it would have helped to have an idea of the lengths of the drives at the outset with the itinerary. However, the roads were good and we had no problems. We would recommend people take lots of music and podcasts to pass the time."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2019
"This was perfect stop after arriving - close to the airport but with lovely views.

The rooms were very comfortable and service was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"This was our first proper stop and was a good choice as easy to reach and chance to get used to driving etc.

The lodge is beautifully arranged and furnished and service was excellent. It is hard to judge the wildlife experience because it felt they were suffering in the drought like a lot of places. We opted to go out on the bikes which we really enjoyed. A sandstorm rather dominated our afternoon here but did not ruin the experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This is a very slick operation. Very luxurious.

Extremely warm welcome and attentive and knowledgeable guide. The setting is superb.

Going into the National Park we were able to feel like we were not following the crowd and had a great walk in the dunes followed by a fabulous picnic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

2 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

Gong into the park you do feel like you are on the tourist trail but our clever guide managed to minimise the feeling and we were able to get away from the crowds.

In fact we were on top of Big Daddy by ourselves and had a picnic with no one in sight. We all loved running down the dunes after the climb to the top.

Stunning scenery.
Excellent
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Desert Breeze Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"Perfect place for us - we had a chalet for us all. Great view of the dunes.

We liked being out of town. Friendly staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jul 2019
"I loved this place! So beautifully designed - a visual treat with stunning views... The service was faultless.

High levels of luxury but with a sense that you were in a very natural environment. Classy! Food was amazing too and beautifully presented.

We did not stay long so could not really say much about the activities. We did have a good trip out to see the rock art with an excellent guide ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. The camp is fantastic. Not the high levels of luxury that we had elsewhere but that is not a criticism. In that setting what was provided was incredible . The rooms were really lovely. We had a fabulous guide who judged us perfectly - we had impromptu drinks at sunset in the middle of nowhere to watch the sunset and a walk to the BBQ learning all the time about the local wildlife etc. We saw rhinos and mountain lions ( the lions were the first seen in five months )

It felt really good to be part of the conservation project and not just tourists. ( although that is of course what we were!!)

The service was great ."
Excellent
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jul 2019
"This was a contrast as it was a lodge owned and run by the community. Whilst is was not as slick as other places we stayed at it had a charm that grew on us.

The best water hole action of our trip... We did a night drive and got very close to a pride of lions which was exciting."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"We found this place a bit sad. An amazing setting and a beautiful lodge that had not been maintained so it looked worn around the edges. The service was ok but not warm or impressive.

I think in times of more rain it would be a stunning place to see the park from but in the drought less so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

"Etosha Safari Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"This was another unexpected joy - very different atmosphere. Run by impressive and friendly team .

Good mix of slick service with relaxed “traveller vibe”. Hard to pull off but they do.

We enjoyed the music in the evening."
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2019
"What an impressive place. Unbelievable design to the main space - given that this was not the high end of the operation.

Beautiful rooms. Very slick service. Our guide was also very impressive. Again it was good to feel we were putting something into the conservation efforts.

We had a great trip out looking for leopards early morning ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team