This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

112 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 28 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

35% success

Leopard

14% success

Cheetah

7% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

91% success

Zebra

65% success

Spotted Hyena

63% success

Elephant

56% success

Brown Hyena

28% success

Meerkat

20% success

Wildebeest

15% success

Showing 11-20 of 112
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
UK

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2019
"Our guide Bons was superb. Very nice helpful staff. Management was superb. Nice touches like hot water bottles when the temperature dropped.

Trying really hard." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"Great Rhino tracking camp"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"What an experience - a luxury tent set in a lunar landscape.

Our guide Moses was excellent and, together with a great team of trackers, we were lucky enough to get close, on foot, to a black Rhino (we made sure that we were even closer to our Safari Truck!).

Great game drives, great staff and food and we ended up with a camp fire meal out in the bush." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

J&J
Plockton

"Remote comfort"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2019
"This camp, of all the places we stayed in Namibia, has a truly remote feeling, which was one of its major highlights. At no point during our stay and activities, did we see any other sign of human occupation. Which makes it all the more sad that path lights are on all night, and we also had to ask for the electrical generator to be turned off on the first night. At least we could then hear the hyenas calling outside the tent later that night! Another highlight.

Another highlight is of course the rhino-tracking. We had had previous experience of tracking black rhino on foot some 30 years earlier, but it was still thrilling to have the opportunity once again, even though this time it was a much more organised, almost choreographed, encounter. As we were staying two days we had two Rhino hunts, and were successful on both occasions. However, it was sad to see Rhinos dehorned for their own protection. Something that not all Namibian guides appear to agree with.

There was a water shortage during our stay, and water was actually being brought in by tanker. We are unhappy that camps in such dry places feel it necessary to have flush toilets.

The camp itself is well laid out, with comfortable tents, and a pleasant central eating/sitting area. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, and gave us a great sung farewell when we left." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"Good rhino and elephant sightings but little "

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2019
"Good rhino sightings and desert-adapted elephants but little else. Birdlife non-existent.

Eventually saw hyena den after pushing repeatedly to go having been told about it by camp manager. Guide v resistant to requests and needed clothes that didn’t show his large belly and private parts when he bent over. Lots of hard driving to get anywhere.

Camp v good and food OK but not startlingly good." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"This was one of the highlights of our trip. The camp is fantastic. Not the high levels of luxury that we had elsewhere but that is not a criticism. In that setting what was provided was incredible . The rooms were really lovely. We had a fabulous guide who judged us perfectly - we had impromptu drinks at sunset in the middle of nowhere to watch the sunset and a walk to the BBQ learning all the time about the local wildlife etc. We saw rhinos and mountain lions ( the lions were the first seen in five months )

It felt really good to be part of the conservation project and not just tourists. ( although that is of course what we were!!)

The service was great ." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D.
Southampton

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2019
"Fantastic accommodation and very attentive staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

BRIAN O'B
IRELAND

"The experience of a life time."

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2019
"Remote, and a long way from anywhere, this camp blew us away. We had a tyre blow out en route to the pick up point which delayed our arrival by a couple of hours. We were hot, stressed, and hungry and we called the camp and they could not have been nicer. They sent our guide, Ben, to meet us at Palmwag Lodge whilst our new tyre was being fitted. Ben came with refreshments and food for us, and reassuringly got us on our way promptly. It was our first introduction to Desert Rhino Camp, and it set the tone for the remainder of our stay.

Ben was a superb ambassador for Desert Rhino Camp. Passionate, enthusiastic and great company, he organised our safari each morning accompanying the trekkers from Save the Rhino Trust. He made our holiday for us, chatting about life in Namibia, local culture and sharing his hopes and dreams. But it wouldnt be fair to just single Ben out. Gertruda, Carl and Thyssiana were wonderful hosts, fun, obliging, engaging, and so hospitable. We danced at camp, learned the click language and were spoilt by the wonderful food and service from the moment we arrived at camp.

This camp was unlike any other. Its location is remote which we loved. Its difficult to get to, and it doesn't offer much in the way of facilities. But it was informal, and with tons of personality. It was exactly what we wanted and more. Yes, you wont find all of the Big Five here. It offers so much more. We witnessed Jasson, and the team from Save the Rhino at work, under harsh, remote and challenging conditions.

Wildlife is difficult to spot in this vast wilderness, and safari drives are long and sometimes uncomfortable. But it made spotting the wildlife in their natural habitats, so much more rewarding. This was an authentic experience, both humbling and a privilege to be allowed participate in. We'd return here in a heart beat, and we would recommend this camp to anyone who cares more about the environment, and people over the 5 star anonymity or formality of other camps. Truly the experience of a life time for us." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Absolutely wonderful!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2018
"This was one of the best locations of the holiday. Our welcome was outstanding, not just the first time we arrived but every time we came back to camp.

The kitchen and room staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The service was first class from everyone and we especially loved the scorpion dinner which was such a surprise! We enjoyed the fact that all the guests ate together. Again I must thank the kitchen staff for proactively helping with my food intolerances.

Learning about the black rhino was immensely interesting and we were fortunate to find rhino on both days, although the second day it wasn't until 14.30 after 8 hours of tracking. All credit must go to Lloyd, our guide, and to the three Save the Rhino trackers who gave us a day to remember.

We saw large parts of some of the more remote parts of the Concession and some wonderful landscapes. And even after being out for almost 11 hours, Lloyd then took us on a sundowner drive where we saw spotted hyena cubs up close as we enjoyed a glass of white wine.

An outstanding three nights." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Great rhino sighting"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"We initially booked Desert Rhino Camp in order to fill time between the other camps we wanted to visit, but it was one of the true highlights of our trip. The rhino viewing experience and learning about the work of Save the Rhino Trust Namibia made this visit very special. We were impressed with the work of the trust and how respectful the guest viewing of the animals is.

The landscape is beautiful, we saw many Welwitschia plants (Namibia's national plant), and we spent one evening viewing a family of spotted hyena. One morning we were able to view a rhino mother and her calf with the help of expert Save the Rhino Trust trackers. Afterwards we enjoyed lunch in the bush with a presentation by the trackers.

The camp is rustic, but still luxurious. Meru-style tents are roomy with ensuite toilet and shower. The lodge is open air with sweeping views and a fire pit. Food was delicious and tables were set beautifully for meals. Service was excellent. We had a very special experience one evening, but it's a surprise for when you visit." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs RB
Bristol

"Exceptional experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"This is a wonderful place - remote, with dramatic scenery, great staff and exciting rhino tracking. We spent an entire day tracking black rhino, finding 5, and coming back at 7pm to a lovely dinner in the bush. Our guide Johannes was very good.

My personal favourite place on our trip.

Be warned - it's very cold first thing in the morning and in the evening ( but hot in the day ! )." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 112
97%
112 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
15
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (447 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (117 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa