This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp
Desert Rhino Camp

Reviews of Desert Rhino Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

106 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Rhino Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 21 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Rhino Camp.
Lion

33% success

Leopard

20% success

Cheetah

10% success

Black Rhino

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Spotted Hyena

77% success

Zebra

59% success

Elephant

50% success

Brown Hyena

29% success

Wildebeest

18% success

Showing 11-20 of 106
Duration
Arrival date
Mr B.
KILFENORA

"The experience of a life time."

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2019
"Remote, and a long way from anywhere, this camp blew us away. We had a tyre blow out en route to the pick up point which delayed our arrival by a couple of hours. We were hot, stressed, and hungry and we called the camp and they could not have been nicer. They sent our guide, Ben, to meet us at Palmwag Lodge whilst our new tyre was being fitted. Ben came with refreshments and food for us, and reassuringly got us on our way promptly. It was our first introduction to Desert Rhino Camp, and it set the tone for the remainder of our stay.

Ben was a superb ambassador for Desert Rhino Camp. Passionate, enthusiastic and great company, he organised our safari each morning accompanying the trekkers from Save the Rhino Trust. He made our holiday for us, chatting about life in Namibia, local culture and sharing his hopes and dreams. But it wouldnt be fair to just single Ben out. Gertruda, Carl and Thyssiana were wonderful hosts, fun, obliging, engaging, and so hospitable. We danced at camp, learned the click language and were spoilt by the wonderful food and service from the moment we arrived at camp.

This camp was unlike any other. Its location is remote which we loved. Its difficult to get to, and it doesn't offer much in the way of facilities. But it was informal, and with tons of personality. It was exactly what we wanted and more. Yes, you wont find all of the Big Five here. It offers so much more. We witnessed Jasson, and the team from Save the Rhino at work, under harsh, remote and challenging conditions.

Wildlife is difficult to spot in this vast wilderness, and safari drives are long and sometimes uncomfortable. But it made spotting the wildlife in their natural habitats, so much more rewarding. This was an authentic experience, both humbling and a privilege to be allowed participate in. We'd return here in a heart beat, and we would recommend this camp to anyone who cares more about the environment, and people over the 5 star anonymity or formality of other camps. Truly the experience of a life time for us." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mrs A & Mr M
London

"Absolutely wonderful!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2018
"This was one of the best locations of the holiday. Our welcome was outstanding, not just the first time we arrived but every time we came back to camp.

The kitchen and room staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The service was first class from everyone and we especially loved the scorpion dinner which was such a surprise! We enjoyed the fact that all the guests ate together. Again I must thank the kitchen staff for proactively helping with my food intolerances.

Learning about the black rhino was immensely interesting and we were fortunate to find rhino on both days, although the second day it wasn't until 14.30 after 8 hours of tracking. All credit must go to Lloyd, our guide, and to the three Save the Rhino trackers who gave us a day to remember.

We saw large parts of some of the more remote parts of the Concession and some wonderful landscapes. And even after being out for almost 11 hours, Lloyd then took us on a sundowner drive where we saw spotted hyena cubs up close as we enjoyed a glass of white wine.

An outstanding three nights." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Peter
Stockton

"Great rhino sighting"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"We initially booked Desert Rhino Camp in order to fill time between the other camps we wanted to visit, but it was one of the true highlights of our trip. The rhino viewing experience and learning about the work of Save the Rhino Trust Namibia made this visit very special. We were impressed with the work of the trust and how respectful the guest viewing of the animals is.

The landscape is beautiful, we saw many Welwitschia plants (Namibia's national plant), and we spent one evening viewing a family of spotted hyena. One morning we were able to view a rhino mother and her calf with the help of expert Save the Rhino Trust trackers. Afterwards we enjoyed lunch in the bush with a presentation by the trackers.

The camp is rustic, but still luxurious. Meru-style tents are roomy with ensuite toilet and shower. The lodge is open air with sweeping views and a fire pit. Food was delicious and tables were set beautifully for meals. Service was excellent. We had a very special experience one evening, but it's a surprise for when you visit." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr and Mrs RB
Bristol

"Exceptional experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"This is a wonderful place - remote, with dramatic scenery, great staff and exciting rhino tracking. We spent an entire day tracking black rhino, finding 5, and coming back at 7pm to a lovely dinner in the bush. Our guide Johannes was very good.

My personal favourite place on our trip.

Be warned - it's very cold first thing in the morning and in the evening ( but hot in the day ! )." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Mr S.
Northampton

"Good rooms and service"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"enjoyed tracking on foot. good guides, food, rooms and service" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Superb Dessert Rhino Camp"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"Dessert Rhino Camp was our favourite camp of our trip and perhaps the nicest camp we've ever stayed in.

The atmosphere was wonderful; the staff were the most friendly ever, our guide the most enthusiastic and knowledgeable, the location superb, the activities fun and exciting. Plus great food and great company. The style is simple but everything you need.

The bush dinner was enormous fun and very much appreciated by all the guests.

All this in an area which felt truly remote." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Desert Rhino"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"A wonderful place. We loved it.

Had to use 'the african airconditioning' in the tent as it got very hot." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

D & K
Texas

"Rhino tracking was incredible"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"As the descriptions of the camp say, tracking rhinos is the focus of the activities at this camp. Rhino tracking was a major highlight of our trip.

The first day, we spent hours tracking a rhino before the guides showed us where to hide and the rhino walked right in front of us. We thought we'd used up our luck, but on the second day, the trackers found and tracked a group of 3 rhinos which we were able to walk up on and observe without them knowing we were there. Although we were very lucky, there's no guarantee of seeing a rhino on a given day, so we're glad we stayed 3 nights.

We also enjoyed this camp very much. It is and feels like a small and intimate camp. The staff were most welcoming as they greeted us with singing upon arrival and departure. We enjoyed sitting at a communal table and visiting with other guests during meals. Although some may not like it, we enjoyed staying someplace with no cell service or Internet." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Our favourite camp"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"Wonderful welcome and departure with singing. The service was the friendliest and the best on our trip. The food was out of this world, including a barbeque. Wines of high quality. Amazing to get all this in such a remote location.

Finding black rhinos wasn't easy but it was a marvellous experience when we saw them. Walking up to the rhinos for a short distance made it even better.

Hot water: we found out that there was only enough hot water for one shower a day.

NB The instructions said that the transfer from our car to the camp would take 3-4 hours. This is wrong; it took an hour and a half, but it was still quite hard work. My recommendation would be to fly into this camp, even if the rest of the holiday is self-drive." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"Wonderful experience at Desert Rhino Camp"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2018
"Quite wonderful location - we flew into the camp's airstrip from Windhoek via Doro Nawas Airstrip. Well worth doing. The camp is located quite literally in the middle of the desert.

We stayed for two nights, and wanted more. Had great day tracking black rhino. Everyone was so helpful, generous and fun. A special mention to Lloyd our guide, who was informative and a good companion.

It was good to see rhinos in their natural environment, as well as other animals. We did not expected the hills surrounding the camp and across the whole area to be so beautiful - they changed colour as the day went on, with hues of pink, purple and blue. We were also fortunate in that it had recently rained, and the desert was covered is silvery grass which also changed colour during the day.

Food was excellent and each night the staff explained the menu in local "click" language as well.as English. They are wonderful singers too. A fabulous stay - cannot recommend it highly enough. Will come back one day." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 106
97%
106 reviews of Desert Rhino Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
91
14
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (113 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (50 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa