This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from Perth

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

Amazing trip - loved it!

Namibia between 9 Jan 2020 and 27 Jan 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our overall experience was amazing.
It was special getting to see all the landscapes and the animals. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly.

We stayed at a variety of accommodations, all of which were great. It ticked all the boxes.
Thank you, Expert Africa.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have been trying to think of things but we were really happy with the service and information provided - we have booked with you twice and both times were amazing. We will ponder and let you know.
Thanks again, we had a wonderful time and we have been recommending you!

See you again in a few years :)"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Great Guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 9 Jan 2020
"We were greeted by a friendly receptionist, services clearly explained.

Room was neat, tidy. Shower and toilet worked.

Breakfast was very tasty, hot food options were offered.

Gardens well maintained."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2020
"Reception was polite, everything explained clearly

Room had amazing views across the bush, lots of animals walking by.

The afternoon drive was excellent, guide was knowledgeable, went beyond basic information. Was skilled at positioning car for photos - the Leopard sighting was a good one - he was able to provide a viewing experience without making us feel we were intruding upon or upsetting the animal.

Guide offered to take photos of us and when we asked him about insects, he was able to point out some cool critters immediately that we had just not seen (very cool, as the little guys often get overlooked)

Dinner was a high standard, good drinks service/variety

Breakfast was great, wide range of food/drink - one of the waiters was very personable (young fella, can't remember name :(

On way out of Okonjima we saw a Dung beatle rolling its ball across the dirt road- a manager had stopped in front of us and we watched the little critter dig a hole - the manager was really knowledgeable and gave good advice about roads

The whole vibe at the lodge was positive. We would have liked to stay another night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Friendly mongoose and great food"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2020
"Lodge had attractive gardens and swimming pool. Dinners and breakfasts were high standard, lots of variety

Service was inconsistent, we were offered dessert and said yes but it didn't arrive. The same waiter was also slow on drinks service and his demeanor was less friendly than other waiters.

Victoria was a standout. She had a good sense of humour and was efficient.

The room sprung some leaks during a thunderstorm and there was water pooling on the sides - (we had the canvas shutters up)

The game drive was rich in animals but the guide spent too long on his phone - at times it seemed he was talking to other guides about where animals where but at other times he was looking at photos and seemed to be having personal conversations

Guide was still informative and provided a great experience, especially when it rained heavily and he got the ponchos and car sorted while also still serving G&Ts.

We saw a cheetah on our self guided drive."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Outstanding experience"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2020
"Welcome at gate was friendly, good instructions provided to get to the lodge. We saw a large male elephant along the way - Wow!

Lodge welcome was friendly, a real sense of enthusiasm evident among staff.

Facilities and activities explained clearly. We had an excellent guide - Tuli. We went on 3 game drives with him, he was very knowledgeable. He was able to drive around to provide good camera angles for us.

We appreciated the refreshments after the game drive, and the turn down service before bed time. It was great to have Michael, our rifle guide to escort us to our room.

The staff were friendly and engaged in conversations and discussions with us, not only about safari, but also about being a Namibian, personal lives, and worldly topics. This provided us with insights and enjoyable conversations.

The pool was looking a little green, so that had put us off swimming in it, however, the next day it was being cleaned. We got some cool photos of an elephant drinking from it so no worries!

The deck was a fabulous place to enjoy our refreshments and to view the wildlife.

It was great that there was a library there, we enjoyed browsing through the literature.

All of the food was tasty. In regards to snacks, perhaps there could be portion options - I realize that many Westerners go to Africa and enjoy the experience of a Safari and being waited upon, (and eating) but portions were often too big. One afternoon I just asked for some nuts with a beer and received Biltong, nuts, fruits etc - it was appreciated but . . . I just can't eat that much"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Transcendental experience"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2020
"The Grootberg Pass is potentially treacherous for drivers with limited/no experience on gravel roads. It surprised us that the speed limit was as high as it was, considering the condition of the roads (gravel/narrow/sheer/high). We would advise drivers to be more cautious, and not drive at the speed that was recommended. We saw an over turned truck among other vehicles that had come off the road and fallen down into the valleys. (We are experienced drivers who have driven on many gravel roads with divets/pot holes/ corrugations etcetera). We would recommend a 5 hour drive, rather than 4 hour from Ongava to Desert Rhino - not only due to road conditions, but also to enjoy the amazing scenery. The drive was so scenic, we would have liked to have stopped more - but we were already taking longer than anticipated...

We were met at the gate by the staff member who was expecting us. Our guide William was waiting patiently for us. He welcomed us and told us not to worry about the fact that we were late (we had apologized as we felt guilty, we hate being tardy, we had left with plenty of time to spare...). We enjoyed the beer, water and food that he had provided. The drive to the camp was great, there were a few animals spotted along the way.

Upon arrival, we had a lovely greeting. We loved the singing and the refreshing towel and beverage. We had a very warm welcome and a great introduction to the camp. The grounds were fantastic! The accommodation was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the lounge and the pool. The service of drinks by the pool, and the entertainment/friendliness of the staff was appreciated. We had fun playing Scrabble with Selena! The setting of accommodation provided a real sense of being part of nature and being able to enjoy it to the fullest potential.

Our game drives were unreal. Seeing the rhinoceroses from such a close distance was spectacular. It is wonderful that you provide the opportunity to go out with the trackers and be part of the important conservation projects and research that you conduct. We thoroughly enjoyed the information talks that the guides provided whilst we were out. We had a Chinese visitor and his interpreter on our stay and it was great to see the staff have such patience and enthusiasm as conversations were translated for his benefit - it was a nice feeling to have see multiple languages being spoken and shared.

The sundowners with drinks and nibbles out in the amazing setting was incredible. It was really unbelievable - actually brought tears to my eyes (that's me - Tania - 'the girl'), my husband was also in awe and describes it as transcendental!

William was a thoughtful and wonderful guide. He knew that we enjoyed Gin, so he brought along some special local Gin on our second night. He also knew that we enjoyed the stargazing and laid out the blanket for us, provided an incredible torch, and knowledge!

The food was wonderful, fresh and tasty. We appreciated the fresh fruit, and the cookies that were available all of the time.

The Barman/Artist was very friendly and efficient. He was polite and it was lovely having a chat with him.

Highly recommend this location - please make time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Enjoyed our stay at Doro !Nawas!"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2020
"We were promptly greeted at our luggage was taken to our room for us. We appreciated the refreshing towel and beverage.

After an introduction, we were able to dine on the deck overlooking the surrounds. What a fabulous setting including the building. It was structured in a manner that we were able to enjoy the many views.

Our guide Stephen met us during lunch and we chatted about our options for activities. He organized our 2 activities (to Twyfelfontein etcetera, and then on our 'Bush Walk' in the afternoon). Our guide Stephen was fabulous, he was friendly, and very knowledgeable. He also took into consideration our interest in nature, and provided an insight to the lands. He also had a fabulous sense of humor. We shall remember him as 'Desert Adapted Stephen'. We appreciated the bottles of cold water provided on our afternoon adventure. The food and drink during our excursions were fabulous. We appreciated being consulted as to when we wanted a 'tea break'. Stephen was also wonderful in the way that he was happy to stop where and when we liked to admire a view/take a photograph/talk about wildlife. We saw oryx, ostriches, and springbok.

One dinner was set out in the bush. We enjoy 'bush dinners', however, the timing was terrible. We thought we might have a pre-dinner drink at the bar before heading down, however, we knew that we were to depart soon, so we decided to wait. However, the other guests did not arrive back at the camp for quite some some, and then even when they did arrive, those guests insisted on showering before attending dinner. So we had been waiting for quite some time - waiting for the other guests. and in the end, the staff said that we would go without them. It would have been better to have been informed about the time frame. If someone had told us that it would be 30 - 40 minutes, we would have been fine with that, and ordered a drink. However, to be left there waiting and not knowing how long the wait would be, was frustrating. The walk to the dinner was lovely and the setting was amazing. We enjoyed the arrival drink and the warm fire. The setting was truly gorgeous!

The drink service at the bush dinner was awful! Besides the welcome drink, I was not offered a drink until everyone else was already served their entree. Wine service started at one side/end of the long table, and it was going around, however, just before it reached my husband, it stopped...He had to specifically ask an attendant for a drink. He had asked for both of us, and I had put in my request for a wine, but not served. So I was then the only person at the table without a drink. It took a while longer to get a glass of wine, by which time, everyone else's entree plates were being cleared! I specifically asked one attendant, she had told me to wait...
The food was excellent. The entree was tasty. I enjoyed being able to select my choice of meat/ etcetera at the buffet. The food was delicious.
Again, the drink service was terrible. I enjoy a glass of red wine with my red meat. I sat for quite some time, waiting for waitstaff...in the end, I had to go and ask someone for a glass of red wine.
The dessert was tasty, but it was a little bit awkward being served the dessert, whilst the singing/dancing was happening, as our backs were turned to the staff. Perhaps the performance could occur post the main, and prior to the dessert being served.

We LOVED the singing!!! Thank you!

We LOVED being able to sleep outside on the deck! The stars were unreal! What gorgeous accommodation!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Great location and hospitality"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2020
"Good location, easy to find, prompt acknowledgement, and secure parking. Good local advice not only about attractions, but also about safety. Provided a mobile phone with direct contact to owners.

The gardens were gorgeous, we wanted to stay longer just to enjoy the stunning garden and little patio.

Swakopmund was a good place to stay with plenty of restaurants, bars/cafes with good food and beverage service.

The breakfasts were fresh and tasty. The staff were very welcoming and prompt with their service of tea/coffee/the offer of cooked eggs.

The C35 and C34 on the way to Swakopmund had lots of road works (tarring the road) so transit times may change this year"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Great day out!"

20 Jan 2020 • All-day excursion

The tour was as advertised- and lived up to expectations. It was great to be picked up at the Guest House promptly and taken on tour.

The walk/view of the flamingos along the way was great. We enjoyed the commentary on the bird life as we drove out. Our guide Leon shared a special surprise - the gecko - it was unreal. The scenery was stunning. We enjoyed stopping along the way to view the small animals, it did not feel rushed.

We would recommend it for families with children (8 years +). It was a nice mixture of wildlife, scenery, and 4WD.
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2020
"The scenery was fabulous.

We appreciated the warm welcome with flannel and drink.

The swimming pool was nice and clean.

The food was of a high standard.

Our guide introduced herself to us on the deck. We had a chat about our excursions, she was friendly and enthusiastic. The tours were excellent. We appreciated the cold water/drinks and food that was provided. She was knowledgeable and happy to stop for us to take photographs/ask questions.

Our guide, Richel, did a fantastic job of changing the flat tyre whilst we enjoyed our sundowner of drinks, with nuts and billtong etcetera. We did feel a little guilty... but still enjoyed our treats.

We loved sleeping under the stars, and hearing/seeing the wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Great stop over to end our adventure"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2020
"A surprising accommodation out in the dessert - lovely and comfortable. We loved having the option of the outdoor shower.

There were plenty of animals that visited the waterhole, it was wonderful to see them from our room/the dining area/pool etcetera. We enjoyed the friendly service and delicious meals. When my husband said that he was not keen on duck, the staff offered game meat. When I heard that it was oryx, I inquired whether I could have that also, they were very obliging. The food was excellent - well presented and tasty. The portions were great - not too large.

It was handy having the Curio shop there for those last minute souvenirs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team