This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs SH from Seattle

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

1

My Dec 2019 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 3 Dec 2019 and 22 Dec 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Maruska was great! She made great suggestions and listened to our needs.

The only lodging that was not great was the one that I suggested (next time, i will take your advise, Maruska made suggestions when lodges were above our price-line and redirected.us. I believe our trip was as great as it was thanks to help from Maruska and Expert Africa!

Thanks so much!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Splash Camp

Splash Camp

"Great wildlife and guides"

3 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2019
"We were really pleased with the efforts of the guides to take us to the wildlife.

Staff were so friendly, and i loved it that the guides at dinner with us at the long table set for all guests."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
River Crossing

River Crossing

"River Crossing review"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2019
"We stayed here overnight before our 2 week Namibia self drive tour.

We arrived late d/t plane delays and left early the next morning after breakfast and did not get to enjoy the area. At first we were a bit confused why we had an upscale lodge/room when moving on the next day. However, after spending the morning in Windhoek getting money exchanged, picking up food, we realized how great it was to be outside of the city, not deal with traffic, people, beggars, and having a quiet space after a day of travel."
Excellent
Location
Good
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Dec 2019
"Great location!

We decided Pay the extra money to get driven into Sossusvlei after a day of driving the dirt roads from Windhoek the day before. It was worth it! We were the first up Big Daddy dune! If that is important to you, do it. And, we learned a lot about the dunes at the same time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"Lagoon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2019
"We were given a room with torn privacy curtains on the ground floor and a loose faucet that we had to hold at the base to turn it on and off. We asked the owner the next day for a new room and she obliged happily.

She is a new owner. However, the next day someone else was staying in the room we moved out of. It was not a full house so i question why she is giving that room to others when it was not appropriate to rent out. Food was barely ok.

The birds are so great everywhere i would not stay here just to see the flamingos as it touts in the guidebooks!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning in the Namib Desert review"

9 Dec 2019 • Morning excursion

Wow! Need i say more.

But yes, the pilot was fun, funny, and we felt so safe with him.

Do it!
Excellent
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

"Spitzkoppen Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Dec 2019
"Beautiful location and perfect after days of traveling and needing a quieter spot, great outstanding views, great little pool with a view, sunsets from the lodge, sunrise from your tent/room.

Loved this place and wish we had a extra day to stay, relax, just view they beauty of the surrounding rocks or red! And there a great animals there too.

We took a morning bike ride to several spots to get out and get some body movement!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Camp Kipwe review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2019
"Great location for seeing Twelfelfontain.

Relaxing, great sundown location and food.

Cool rooms but a bit hot. Leave the top of the Dutch doors open at night for more airflow."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2019
"I loved this staff who exudes joy!

Our guide and rhino trackers were the best!

Cannot say enough about our good experience here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2019
"We had a great drive in and then out the next morning wrt wildlife. And we choose room 13 at the end of the rooms/cabins. It has a little soaking pool on the deck and an overlook of the pan and small watering hole. A little wildlife wandering in to drink. We spotted 3 male lions under acacia trees in the pan, and clearly the animals knew the sleeping lions were there. Because of this i think the animals at the watering hole were less than if the lions had not been near. We did hear those lions roaring for 4-5 hours not far below our cabin for 4-5 hours in the night! So great to hear them! We had good fortune here.

However, the staff were low energy but took care of our needs, and the food was just ok."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Dec 2019
"Good location. Good waterhole viewing. Go out at night. Good wildlife nearby with lots or waterholes to visit, animals, birds.

The camp itself is adequate and the rooms conform table."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 18 Dec 2019
"Beautiful, great staff. Great tented rooms/cabins. Food very good. Lots of wildlife on site. Saw 2"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2019
"Love this place! Large but the staff make you feel like it is a smaller lodge.

Great guides to help track and locate leopards."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team