This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr and Mrs RB from Bristol

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Great trip - stunning country

Namibia between 17 Sep 2018 and 5 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Wonderful trip. We drove everywhere - not something to be afraid of. The roads are empty and so long as one is careful the gravel roads are fine ( but would recommend a 4 by 4 ). Yes, there are long distances, but I found driving through amazing scenery very enjoyable.

Our accommodation was consistently very good. It seems almost invidious to come up with highlights - everything was good, but my personal favourites were Desert Rhino Camp ( outstanding ), desert elephants at Doro Nawas, the dunes of Sossusvlei, lions in Etosha - I could go on.

Our first visit to Namibia ( but not Africa ) - I should say that I found the people very welcoming and friendly, and we felt perfectly safe everywhere."

Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Very good first stop"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"Very comfortable after a long flight to Windhoek via Jo'burg.

The management were very helpful, recommending a good restaurant nearby to 2 tired guests.

Great breakfast on balcony overlooking Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Lovely place"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"This was a great start to our trip around Namibia.

Very comfortable and atmospheric camp in rocky mountain terrain. We came here to do some walking and we were not disappointed. We self guided for one walk and took a guided early morning walk which was very good. We also took an evening drive ( the only activity to pay for ), going to a cave with prehistoric engravings, and ending up with a welcome sundowner.

Good food, guides and staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Excellent camp just outside Etosha gate"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2018
"Very good camp immediately outside the Anderson gate of Etosha, inside private reserve. Lovely views over the reserve, with water hole which attracted 3 white rhinos every night we were there, as well as oryx and other antelopes.

The good thing about here is that you can spend time on the private reserve as well as in Etosha itself. We took a guided drive on the reserve on our first afternoon, seeing white rhino, lions, and giraffe. For the next 2 days we drove ourselves around Etosha, which was easy. We saw many animals - lion, elephant, giraffe, ostrich, leopard. We did not think it worthwhile going on a lodge trip into Etosha, as driving oneself gave more freedom ( and less dust ! ).

My wildlife report below includes both the reserve and Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Exceptional experience"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"This is a wonderful place - remote, with dramatic scenery, great staff and exciting rhino tracking. We spent an entire day tracking black rhino, finding 5, and coming back at 7pm to a lovely dinner in the bush. Our guide Johannes was very good.

My personal favourite place on our trip.

Be warned - it's very cold first thing in the morning and in the evening ( but hot in the day ! )."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Great camp for Desert elephants"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2018
"Very good camp overlooking dramatic scenery. We took a guided safari to find desert elephants, which we did in a dry river bed. Very close encounter ! Our guide, Markus, was very good and very knowledgeable - he also took us for a walk into the bush.

Good food, very large rooms, friendly staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Organic Square

Organic Square

"Good base in Swakop"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"A good base in Swakop, quite near everything. Helpful management, recommending a place to eat ( Fish Deli ). We had booked The Tug from England for our first night - seemed essential to book - very good fish and oysters.

Breakfast not as good as other places ( no hot dish on offer )."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Excellent location near Namib"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"Great location with private access to the park . We only had one night here, but we were glad we did, taking drives in the afternoon and the next early morning. Our guide, Castro, was very good and informative, making sure we did not overdo it on the dunes.

Good rooms, ( slept on the roof under the stars !) and food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Le Mirage Lodge

Le Mirage Lodge

"Impressive site in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"We stayed 2 nights here. More like a Moroccan read than a lodge - massive room, aircon, ground floor balcony. Very comfortable, with good food and service.

It is a bit of a drive to the park entrance, but that did not bother us. We did not take any of the organised drives, but drove ourselves, which was easy and relaxed.

Le Mirage is larger than the other lodges we stayed at, but not too large and very pleasant."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Comfortable GH"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"A comfortable place to stay for a night in Windhoek.

No view though."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team