This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs Hippo from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

What a wonderful holday.

Malawi between 18 Sep 2007 and 2 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"What a wonderful holday.

We would like to extend a very big ‘thank you’ to all those concerned in making our recent trip to Malawi one of our best holidays ever, and they come in no particular order.

Lastly and by no means least, a very big thank you to yourselves and everyone at Expert Africa who put together such a wonderful and, we have to say, life changing experience.

The itinerary you laid out for us could not have been put together any better, allowing the stays we had to give us such a different and diverse look at the things Malawi had to offer. It has simply wet our appetite for so much more!

Having never been to Africa and knowing very little about Malawi we were, its true to say, a little apprehensive in our excitement about our forthcoming adventure."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Sunbird Lodge - Lilongwe

"Super Incite to Malawi"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"See letter sent to Expert Africa"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ku Chawe Inn

Ku Chawe Inn

"Ku Chawe Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2007
"From there we saw the beautiful gardens that the hotel had to offer, along with the magnificent views over the plateau.

We had several walks into the countryside and witnessed the wonderful baboons, birds and butterflies, guided by one of the local chaps, thoroughly in awe of all that Ku Chawe and the area had to offer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

Mvuu Wilderness Lodge

"Mvuu Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Next we went to Mvvu Camp [Ed: this was actually Mvuu Lodge – not Mvuu Camp!] which was the most amazing stay we had ever had. Our ‘chalet’ was extremely comfortable and all the staff, as in our previous stops were very friendly and welcoming.

The drives and boat safaris we had were fantastic and the many species of animals we saw were magnificent, from elephants and hippos to crocodile and impalas, not to mention the variety of bird life along the Shire River.

Kevin and myself were disappointed that we could not see the part where the black rhino and zebra roamed as they were carrying out an animal count which, unfortunately, took pace during our stay. All the more reason to return!

Coming face to face with a bull elephant one evening on our way to dinner was an unforgettable sight and quite a rare occurrence, we’re told, but it added to our ever increasing love for the place. Waking up to find warthogs grazing on your front lawn and monkeys sprawled out on your veranda is a sight we shall always cherish."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Njobvu Cultural Village

"review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2007
"See letter"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

"Club Makokola review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"From Mvvu we went to Club Makakola which was a totally different side to Malawi, being on the lakeshore. Who needs the sea when you have this huge lake with its sandy beaches and clear blue water? When we sat by the pool overlooking the lake you could be anywhere. Seeing is definitely believing!

The ‘room’ we were given was extremely spacious, consisting of two bedrooms and a bathroom, joined by a long hallway. The accommodation and staff, along with the food were, again superb.

While here, as with most of our stays, we walked outside the complex, pleasing many of the local craftsmen when we bought their wares. The golf course was excellent and although we did not have a game, we were given a guided tour of the course, which boasted a variety of different bird life."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

"Mumbo Island review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2007
"On to Kayak Africa and Mumbo island which was extremely special indeed, as all the venues were for their individual reasons.

Ema, Pam and their staff all made us most welcome. Our very comfortable tent was just as the picture had shown us, sat on a platform, on stilts, overhanging the rock face with the waves splashing below.

Kayaking was great fun and to snorkel in the clear fresh water was amazing. Such pretty fish and we were privileged to see two otters swimming around. Walking on the various walks through the small beautiful island was really interesting and with only ourselves and the few other guests, it was idyllic.

From the food and brilliant sunsets to the bucket showers and eco friendly toilets, it was superb. It only goes to prove that we do no need all our modern conveniences and that we can manage without electricity!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Danforth Lodge

"review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"Our final two nights were spent with Michelle and Howard, our hosts at Danforth Yachting. It was a real family atmosphere and again we felt very welcome. The ‘Stay and Play’ package was fantastic enabling us to try things we had never done before, such as the hobby cat sailing which was great fun.

The food which was all home cooked and prepared on the premises was excellent. It would give many of our high class restaurants over here a run for their money.

Again the accommodation was clean, spacious and comfortable.

An evening cruise on the yacht ‘Mafusa’ was an excellent way to watch our final sunset over lake Malawi and reminisce over the past two memorable weeks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team