This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chintheche Inn
Chintheche Inn
Chintheche Inn
Chintheche Inn
Chintheche Inn
Chintheche Inn

Reviews of Chintheche Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chintheche Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M & Mr G
Scotland

"Chintheche Inn review"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2016
"We had visited Chinteche on a previous journey. location & setting all good. This visit it seemed the place had a new face on it.

Facilities all good, fresh & inviting. Great improvement!" See all these reviews: 7n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M & Mr G
Scotland

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2015
"Fine place & location. Large spacious grounds for camping and outdoor pursuits. Right on the lake beach. Great relaxing spot. Staff welcoming, friendly & helpful.

Bedrooms, bar & lounge to be honest could do with a big dose of TLC & spruce up. Having said that, the tired look did not prevent us enjoying our stay by any means. We understand new management have work in progress.

We took out bikes, had a good cycle which we thoroughly enjoyed, cycling to next town & surrounding villages. Water sport facilities available but we didn't have time to use them.

Food & dining very acceptable." See all these reviews: 6n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs S
Harrogate

"Chintheche Inn review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2010
"Great location and rooms, not sure it was worth the money though. Loved the candlelit dinner on beach.

Lake not great for snorkelling here as quite tidal compared to some of the sheltered bays." See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms O
Brighton

"Friendly Chintheche Inn"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Chintheche Inn - the staff were all really friendly and welcoming, gave us great advice on activities, the rooms were lovely, the food was lovely and our whole experience of Wilderness Safaris was of efficiency and attention to detail.

We also visited Mvuu Camp in south Malawi after a last minute trip was arranged for us by WIlderness Safaris and this venue is also exceptional with extremely helpful and friendly staff who showed genuine pleasure in the work they do." See all these reviews: 2n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs S
Cambridgeshire

"Excellent Manager. Venue needs investment"

6 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2008
"Before I make any other comments I have to make special mention of Briony, the manager. She is excellent and went the extra mile to make our stay (contrary to the comments below) very enjoyable. The food and the friendly staff are also a big plus.

If it were not for Briony, her staff and the actual lake and beach I would have rated the 6 days as decidedly average

The inn seems totally at odds with the rest of the Wilderness portfolio. If they want their brand associated with this venue (especially when their are better beach resorts in reasonable proximity) they should invest some of their profits into upgrading the rooms, particularly the bathrooms (and the communal bar area)!

Of their 4 kyaks ony 1 worked properly. A little bit if focus here would also not go amiss.

Finally, you would not spend 6 nights at Chintheche without having access to a car (Expert Africa what were you thinking?)!" See all these reviews: 14n in Malawi; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The Hammerkops
Stoke

"Chintheche Inn review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2008
"A beautifully scenic and relaxing white sand beach location wherin the main accommodation block could do with some updating to make the best of the place. Food quality and variety is good with evening dining outside in the garden or on the beach being very pleasant. Chintheche is very much a family lounge-about place very popular with expats from Lilongwe for a long weekend. The 4h 45m drive from Lilongwe airport is a bit of a 'hike'- the return journey seemed better.

The operator, Wilderness Safaris, meet/greet/transport/ driver & guide service was excellent & our compliments to Fetswani who looked after us courteously, engagingly and drove very well.

We understand that Wilderness Safaris, who have only operated Chintheche for a short while as franchisee, are indeed planning a major accommodation upgrade very soon. The location warrants and deserves it. We are pleased to have visited Malawi: nice people, scenery and climate and inexpensive (4 day bar & wine bill only $150)" See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 4n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr R
Twickenham

"A very pleasant stay at Chinteche"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2007
"The stay at Chinteche was very pleasant. It has a superb location with a welcome absence of other tourists.

The managers (John and Brionnie) were very friendly.

Activities I enjoyed were bird watching, horse riding and visits to local tea and rubber estates, which gave an insight into how the local economy works." See all these reviews: 8n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
86%
7 reviews of Chintheche Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Malawi

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Malawi.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Shore of Lake Malawi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pumulani

Pumulani

Beside the lakeshore, Pumulani is a smart, beach retreat. It's owned by Robin Pope Safaris, from Zambia, and perfect for a few relaxing nights after a safari.


92% (24 reviews)
Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island

Mumbo Island Camp is a small eco camp on a small granite island in Lake Malawi. This is a great, remote spot for kayaking and snorkeling.


100% (9 reviews)
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat is a large, family friendly lodge located on a stunning beach on the southern lakeshore of Lake Malawi.


95% (4 reviews)
Domwe Island

Domwe Island

Kayak Africa's Domwe Island in Lake Malawi


80% (1 review)
Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach

Makuzi Beach Lodge is situated on the northern shores of Lake Malawi and has one of the very few private beaches in Malawi


100% (1 review)
Blue Zebra Island Lodge

Blue Zebra

Blue Zebra is a simple and affordable beach lodge with lots of character, which is popular with expats and ever increasingly with international visitors.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa