This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M & Mr G from Scotland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Malawi 2016

Malawi between 7 May 2016 and 20 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Claire Scott arranged our second trip to Malawi. She organised all that we had wished for.

How fortunate to see three leopards while visiting Chelinda, the trip was made!! A challenging first week walking the Livingstonia Trail. Great fun, wilderness & sense of achievement. Cannot praise the staff enough.

My heart is lost in Tongole a very special place. Enjoyed all our other accommodations too. A real comfort to see Abasie our driver from our previous trip, we were right at home! All in all another very successful trip. Thank you."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Luwawa Forest Lodge

"Luwawa Forest Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 8 May 2016
"In a fine location, good for activities available. Welcoming hospitality. Rooms are spacious."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chelinda Lodge

Chelinda Lodge

"Chelinda Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 May 2016
"Chelinda sits in an amazing undulating spread out wilderness. Animals graze around the facilities.

The log cabin we stayed in was cute, quaint & lovely. Log fire on in the evening. Great facilities, food & reception from staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Livingstonia Walking Trail

"Livingstonia Walking Trail review"

2 nights Arrived 10 May 2016
"What an experience! The staff on our hike were absolutely amazing & made it all the more special. Knowledge, strength & abilities. Catered for all our needs & much more.

An exilirating, entertaining & educational walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Stone House

"Stone House review"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2016
"We were aware of the type of facilities at Stone House. Basic but happy to have stayed there for the historical setting.

Comfy bed & friendly staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Chintheche Inn

Chintheche Inn

"Chintheche Inn review"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2016
"We had visited Chinteche on a previous journey. location & setting all good. This visit it seemed the place had a new face on it.

Facilities all good, fresh & inviting. Great improvement!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongole Wilderness Lodge

Tongole Wilderness Lodge

"Tongole treat"

2 nights Arrived 14 May 2016
"Love Tongole, my favourite place. Facilities, food, staff, wildlife all great.

A new swimming pool to enjoy in completely relaxed surroundings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Blue Zebra Island Lodge

Blue Zebra Island Lodge

"Blue Zebra Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2016
"Small island resort.

Good water sport facilities. Relaxing bar & restaurant.

Great place to relax & chill out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Historical Malawi Adventure

Malawi between 15 May 2015 and 28 May 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"An amazing two week journey round Malawi. City, lake, wilderness & missions. Thanks to Expert Africa - Not Mission Impossible but Mission Achievable!!

A very great big thanks goes to Claire Scott, my contact who took on board what I thought was a massive ask & querie into what I was aiming to achieve. Having explained four of five main locations I wanted to visit in Malawi & why, Claire set about making & suggesting a plan for me. My quest was to visit locations in Malawi that my great grandfather had pursued over a hundred & thirty years ago in the late eighteen hundreds.

In 1888 William Murray had set out as a young man of 22, from the Highlands of Scotland, to pursue a vocation of working in the Mission field in Central Africa. The first location that I was aware he worked at was Bandawe. Others included Livingstonia, Kota Kota, Kasunga & Mombera to name a few.

Claire set about making a plan suggesting flights, airports, accommodation and transportation. Within a few days she returned to me with a plan that certainly encompassed as much as I could fit in with the time available.
The trip was set in motion! As we reached nearer our departure date Claire contacted me regarding seeking information from Malawiean sources. Sources in Malawi had offered to help me find information on the Hisotrical Missions, if I was interested. I was over the moon. This proved very worth while. I met with Dora & Mike from Mandala House, in Blantyre (the Society of Malawi) I spent a morning with them and shared photos & information. This was a positive start to our Mission adventure.

All our accommodation on our trip was unique to their locations and varied in style & facilities. Frank & I enjoy meeting people and try to accommodate all activities where possible when we travel. Was it luck or what?? Everywhere we visited we met new & interesting people - staff & guests. Had fun, enjoyment and companionship in all activities.

Our driver from Central African Wilderness Safaris - Abassie was a real gentleman. Patient, attentive to our needs & wishes. He delivered us to all locations on the schedule & squeezed a few more in, while en route to destinations. We valued his local knowledge & connections with people. Although we learned loads from him, I do believe he also learned from the 'journey' & information we had taken along.

Our 'journey' took in all the locations we aimed to cover. Arriving in Livingstonia was the end of our journey but also the most important to me. We met with the librarian & estate manager of Livingstonia Mission(arranged by Abassie I asume). Both provided us with a guided tour, history lesson & a hilariously enjoyable morning. Finding a photo of my Great grandfather with Dr Robert Laws in one of the museum displays in the Stone House was the height of happiness for me. The rounding up of a long, searching journey. Ah!

Now, I have a lot of correspondence to catch up with everyone in Malawi who assisted with my search.

Our trip also provided some holiday time too. The treat part was to visit Tongole Wilderness Lodge and what a treat. Aswel as enjoying the visit from the local elephants, everyone & everything about Tongole was just brilliant.

Expert Africa provided well organised travel information, assistance with my specific reason to travel & a very caring, helpful Claire Scott - thank you so much!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Ryalls Hotel

Ryalls Hotel

"Clean, comfortable with friendly staff"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2015
"Very comfortable, spacious town hotel. Staff very helpful. All facilities in our bedroom & bathroom worked well. An array of toiletries in bathroom. Bottled water. Small fridge. We always appreciate having a safe, which was in the wardrobe. Tray of tea facilities.

A choice of dining on offer - buffet or daily menu. Variety of seating areas in bar & dining room.

Musical entertainment provided during the evenings (sat & sun) that we stayed in bar/dining area.

Interesting collection of historical photos are displayed throughout the hotel which are well worth a look."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Danforth Lodge, Malawi (this camp has since closed)

"Do it all at the Danforth - if you can!"

3 nights Arrived 18 May 2015
"Warm welcome on arrival. Danforth can be relaxing if you wish or hive of activity! We felt we fitted in well with staff & the other guests, a compatible group.

All enjoyed boat trip with snorkelling, hike up the hill with sandwiches at the top and a canoe trip to Otter point to snorkell & watch the sun go down. Otter point is a very unique & beautiful spot, if you get the chance - do it! We also managed a bike ride round the village & surrounding area. Plenty of gear for everyone. If there is something you may need but cannot see it - just ask. They aim to make your stay as enjoyable as can be achieved.

The whole Danforth Lodge is very secure. Rooms & bathroom spacious, toiletries & a safe. Daily menu offers amazing variety. Food was excellent. Staff catered for exactly what you wished. Relaxing bar facilities on offer.

Clean sand lies in front of you as you make your way down to the lake.

We enjoyed every bit of our short stay at the Danfoth food, activities, staff - the lot!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongole Wilderness Lodge

Tongole Wilderness Lodge

"A treat at Tongole"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2015
"As we stepped out of our vehicle and shook hands with our welcoming hosts, we just knew we were in a very special place and that's before we met with the local elephants - the icing on the cake!

It became clear we had a natural connection with the staff. We embrassed their relaxed but competent manner. Their knowledge of nature, their surroundings & their ambiance with people was very appealing.

Tongoli was to be the 'treat' on our adventure around Malawi - and what a treat. With our luxury lodge housing a large comfortable bed - like camping in real style.

Enjoying a soak in the massive bath while a crocodile basks on a mud bank down at the river - don't get that every day! Dined by lantern light on the terrace. Menu choice amazing for the remote location. Varied locations for sundowners - so relaxing.

Wilderness luxury."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chintheche Inn

Chintheche Inn

"Great location"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2015
"Fine place & location. Large spacious grounds for camping and outdoor pursuits. Right on the lake beach. Great relaxing spot. Staff welcoming, friendly & helpful.

Bedrooms, bar & lounge to be honest could do with a big dose of TLC & spruce up. Having said that, the tired look did not prevent us enjoying our stay by any means. We understand new management have work in progress.

We took out bikes, had a good cycle which we thoroughly enjoyed, cycling to next town & surrounding villages. Water sport facilities available but we didn't have time to use them.

Food & dining very acceptable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Lukwe Eco Camp

"Quirky hillside camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2015
"Unique quirky alternative accomodation. May not suit everyone but you have to try it to understand the sheer majestic location.
Basic facilities in the bamboo hut but very comfortable. Bed, chair, veranda, wardrobe(with padlock) and solar power lighting.
A wander around the grounds & gardens is a must. Visiting the toilet is a innovative experience!
In close proximity to Livingstonia Mission & Manchewe falls. Which is why we stayed there.
Bespoke wooden veranda bar/lounge area. Individual seating, everyone tries out the swinging chair & views the amazing scene that spans out infront of you, the hills of Tanzania beyond Lake Malawi.
Bar facilities available. Menu is basic but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast is a separate charge.
Staff helpful & cheerie.
Thoroughly enjoyed our couple of nights there on our hillside camp. Enjoyed the beer looking over the view! 'Wow'
Although we have rated Lukwe Eco Camp excellent overall, it's due to the enjoyment we got out of the whole experience.
The individual aspects are graded on a realistic view. We are not aware of any activities on offer that is why we have put no comment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Luwawa Forest Lodge

"Good outdoor lodge facility"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2015
"A very good lodge for taking part in outdoor pursuits. Rural garden setting with lake. Canoes or kayaks available.
A venue for team building and teaching new skills. Entertains schools, youth groups etc
Informative walking routes of varying distances. Hosts mountain bike challenges and much more. Varied countryside terrain.
Luwawa Forest Lodge was our last nights stop over en route from Livingstonia platea to Airport in Lilongwe. After a long drive we did manage to fit in a fair sized walk. Taking with us the directions which was on offer from the large folder of activities programme. Plus 'Bob' the dog came too!!
Homely bar, lounge and patio area. Very relaxed.. Lovely big open fire to sit round after supper.
Good sized room, although just two of us staying, could easily have accommodated another four or five.
Although perfectly comfortable, the tired bedroom & bathroom facilities could do with a freshen up.
Bar facilities & food menu very acceptable. Staff & pets all very helpful."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team