This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs K & Mrs T from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

3

My Jun 2013 trip

Zambia and 2 other countries between 22 Jun 2013 and 12 Jul 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"I felt very satisfied with the overall trip. I had an adventure and saw a lot of animals. My only comments is this was a very physical trip. Anyone going needs to be in good health with no physical problems. The weather at night and early in the morning can be very cold so coat, hat and gloves are a must. The camps are tents so there is no heating at night and can be cold, along with open screens the air can blow through. Africa is famous for their beautiful sunsets of red an orange skies, that's from all the dust in the air. So one needs to be aware there is a lot of dirt and dust in the air. Anyone suffering for respiratory problems or asthma might have a real problem. Also camps like Kaingo run on burning wood which is another respiratory problem.

I will always remember my trip to Africa, the kind people, the abundance of animals, and the striking evening sunsets. Thank you for the adventure.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

My only suggestions is to make clients aware of the physical demands and aware of cold and dust problems. For most healthy people this would not be a problem, but anyone with a respiratory condition this might not be the right trip for them."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"The Acorn House is a older B and B located near the base of Table top Mountain. Anyone wanting to be near the main tourist areas like V and A Waterfront may want to think about a closer location.

The service was wonderful and the staff very nice. The only negative was the beds were very uncomfortable, too hard with no mattress pad.

Whilst in Cape Town, we organised for them a private half-day City Tour, and a private tour to Cape Point and the Peninsula.
They commented::

Loved the Cape Town city tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and were impressed with everything we saw. Loved the museum.

The Cape Point tour was the highlight of our visit to Cape Town. Then coast was very dramatic and the point beautiful. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
City and Table Mountain Tour

City and Table Mountain Tour

"Cape Town half day tour"

24 Jun 2013 • Morning excursion

Loved the Cape Town city tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and were impressed with everything we saw. Loved the museum.
Excellent
Cape Point and Peninsula Tour

Cape Point and Peninsula Tour

"Cape Point and Peninsula tour"

25 Jun 2013 • All-day excursion

The Cape Point tour was the highlight of our visit to Cape Town. Then coast was very dramatic and the point beautiful. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable.
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2013
"Kwara is one of the more established camps in the delta. The location is in a prime spot with access to water. Kwara is more rustic in it's accommodations with a more camping feeling.

With the ability to off road the guides are able to track game and offer the best photo opportunities. The highlight of the camp was our chance to see three cheetah brothers beginning there sunset hunt."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2013
"Lagoon's location set on the water was breathtaking. The water draws large herds of elephants to drink so you always have a view of them.

Lagoon is famous for it's wild dogs that are always present. Seeing the large packs was a special treat. My memorable moments was a late afternoon drive when we came upon a gathering of hundreds of elephants meeting at a large waterhole for their evening drink."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2013
"The Islands Of Siankaba is located on a small island in the Zambezi River. The rooms are connected by walkways above the ground. The property is very unique it it's design.

The staff were always available and very helpful. The only draw back it is at least a 45min drive to get into town and the falls. The food was excellent, our favorite of the trip.

Whilst in Victoria Falls these travellers did 25-minute Helicopter flight. Here's what they said about it:
The flight over the falls was fantastic. Well worth the cost. We sat in the front and had an exceptional view of the falls. This was the best way to see them and I highly recommend a flight."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Helicopter Flight - Zambia

Helicopter Flight - Zambia

"25 mim helicopter flight"

4 Jul 2013 • Morning excursion

The flight over the falls was fantastic. Well worth the cost. We sat in the front and had an exceptional view of the falls. This was the best way to see them and I highly recommend a flight.
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2013
"Kaingo located in the SLNP is an established camp know to wildlife photographers for there location and animal hids. National Geographic has been know to do filming there, especially their lion prides.

Massive amounts of hippos can be seen all along the river. For an up close view the hippo the hides can't be beat.

Prides of Lions are easily seen, especially the "Hollywood" pride know for all the filing that has been done on them."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

9 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"Tena Tena a Robin Pope camp has been recently moved to a new location. The camp is new and clean with a wonderful staff.

Large prides of lions are easily seen. The highlight of the camp was watching a group of five lions eating a cape buffalo. I would highly recommend Robin Pope camps with a well run staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team