This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi

Reviews of Tongabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

64 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tongabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tongabezi.
Hippo

83% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

60% success

Zebra

40% success

Buffalo

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 64
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Hampshire

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Walking back through the reception to our room we both said why haven't we been back here before now, the changes made since our last visit six and half years ago enhance the facilities.

A relaxing end to our holiday, food was excellent, the staff very attentive." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr W
Dyfed

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2014
"A wonderful way to end our trip. A most relaxing and comfortable environment.

The visit to Victoria Falls was memorable and the day spent on the Zambezi was wonderful" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B & Ms B
Horsham

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Lovely place on the banks of the Zambezi. The rooms are very luxurious and spacious and the staff went out of their way to look after us. Isaac, our personal valet was charming and helpful as was Thomas in the restaurant. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and the whole ethos is to make guests feel pampered. The guides were very good. There is a certain lack of organisation manifest when trying to check out. However, Juliet, the manager is delightful and welcoming and provided a fantastic day room as we were leaving in the afternoon and they needed us to check out of our room - a nice touch not seen in many places.

Health and safety is excessive and intrusive - life jackets on every boat trip and indemnities to be signed in advance. Given the cost of the accommodation, it is a shame that entrance into the falls, game park and any transfers to non-Tongabezi activities were charged extra. The cost of the trip to Livingstone island - which is managed by Tongabezi - was pretty steep. I felt that the management were trying to extract every last dollar from guests. The activities manager was selling activities rather than offering experiences.

The food was mixed -sometimes excellent, othertimes less so. Quantities were very (over) generous with both lunch and dinner being 3 courses. There was a choice of main course but all came with multiple vegetables - one couldn't choose either content or quantity. Unfortunately I also got food poisoning.........

There is no atmosphere and very limited contact with other guests. It is more like a luxurious spa than a safari camp and could disappoint anyone who is there to see animals - except for rhinos which are not found in South Luangwa. However, it is a lovely luxurious place to stay when visiting the falls and to chill out at the end of a safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Atlanta

"Tongabezi Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"We loved our stay at Tongabezi. The facility is breathtaking and our valet Japhet took very good care of us.

The service was friendly and efficient and our every need or desire was taken care of. It was so good that we were afraid the rest of our visit wouldn't be able to measure up but that turned out not to be a problem. I would recommend Tongbezi to anyone without reservation." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The L family
Mayfield

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"Very luxurious too many guides made it feel a little disjointed no overall host" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Belgium

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2013
"a great way to end with a rest at a beautiful location
worth doing the sunrise and sunset cruises
definitely recommend the 30 minute helicopter flight over the falls and gorge - what a thrill
Raphael an excellent guide" See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Y family
Surrey

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2012
"Very impressed how we moved from camp to camp with no difficulties.

The staff were particularly helpful, especially as they helped us when we were looking for a particular item in the shops.

The only comment I would make about this leg of the trip was how comparatively expensive the activities were. While I realise you have no control over this it may be worth informing visitors of this fact." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Luxurious, relaxing and romantic Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2012
"Location

Beautiful situation in Zambia overlooking Zambezi river. A little far from the Victoria Falls and we were not told that the Zambian side of the Victoria Falls were dry at this time of year. The lodge advised that the walk at them was not worthwhile.

Rooms

Well laid out with luxurious single houses with balcony and veranda. Nice room, bathroom with shower and bath. Fans, fridge and safe. Good bed with mosquito net. Subject to occasional power failures.

Service

Excellent with personal valet who ran bath for us.

Food

Good with nice variety. However it sometimes took a little long to arrive.

Activities

Excellent range but some were difficult to book - particularly the visit to Livingstone Island, the only way to see the Victoria Falls close up from Zambia. We did finally get on it and it was spectacular but t would probably have been advisable to have pre-booked from the UK.

The 30 minute helicopter ride over the Falls and through the gorges was expensive but spectacular.

The nearby wild life reserve has one of the few herds of White Rhino which we were lucky enough to see. The rest of the reserve is not worth driving round if you have come from other reserves/safaris.

The sunset cruise was pleasant.

Most activities are an "extra" at this lodge and we ended up spending a significant amount of extra money doing them.

Facilities

Good but the main emphasis is on romanticism and in this it succeeds superlatively. Private meals are available on your own terrace. A feature for us was the interesting nature of the other guests with whom we had fascinating conversations in the evening over drinks around the fire and over shared dinners." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
LC family
SW London

"Fabulous safari lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"We loved it here. Had our own private family quarters with a sitting room, two rooms and a plunge pool. There were many activities on offer and we spent a lot of time on the river. A stunning location with wonderful staff.

I met Ben and Vanessa and talked to them about Tongabezi and the school. The food was amazing and I want them to bring out a cook book ASAP!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Dr A
Cleveland

"Tongabezi review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2012
"A beautiful setting and an amazing room - we stayed in the Tree House.

Service here was absolutely top class, starting with our 'personal valet'. Sunsets over the Zambesi form our room were a truly memorable experience, as was dining on the river and island

Victoria Falls were, of course, an amazing sight" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 64
93%
64 reviews of Tongabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
48
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes' walk from the Victoria Falls, with access for guests included, the Avani features good facilities in peaceful grounds at a modest price.


85% (230 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (56 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


89% (23 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (6 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa