This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
Tongabezi

Reviews of Tongabezi

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tongabezi and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tongabezi.
Hippo

100% success

Elephant

67% success

Giraffe

50% success

Buffalo

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Ms W
Bedfordshire

"Understated but fabulous"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2011
"We all loved Tongabezi. It is a place where you can bring the family and feel really at home and comfortable and there is so much to do. Everything we did exceeded our expectations, from the included visit to the falls, the sunset cruise, canooing etc to the other activities we paid extra for. We did the walking with lions and cheetah which my nieces and nephew were totally blown away with. The visit to Livingstone Island was also fantastic. Ideally, we would recommend a minimum of 4 nights here, as there is so much to do as well as just being a lovely place to relax.

[Ed: These travellers organised the extra activities - including the 'walking with lions' - themselves, and paid for them locally, whilst they were staying at Tongabezi.]

Again the staff were brilliant and were all excellently briefed on what you were up to. We liked the effort they made to know you as individuals and do what they could do make your stay the best. You never felt hurried or that you had to fit into someone else's timetable. Only staff member who was not so good was our valet, but the others more than made up for it.

Minor point for furture reference, the Family Cottage double room is very open and we would only think it is suitable for families, two couples might not find it private enough.

River Cottage was lovely." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Hants

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2011
"This was a beautifl lodge but there were one or two minor points that we would not expect: cracked toilet seat, no shower cap, no writing paper, pen or note pad. This may sound petty but was suprising.

My husband can't walk very far and there were a lot of steps to the reception but the staff were helpful and when we were out in a vechicle dropped us off nearer our cottage.

The menu, especially for lunch was restricted and if you didn't like Thai, this was a problem on one occasion." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Northants

"Lovely relaxing time at Tongebezi"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"Finally Tongebezi where we had a two nights r+r, and it really was – in an amazing position on the banks of the Zambezi - although the mosi net could have been more effective it was torn with holes in it – not so good, but apart from that small grumble the rest was great.

The highlight was the trip to Livingstone island and the devils pool a completely unique experience of the falls!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr C & Mrs A
UK

"Good location for relaxing end of trip"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"Was lovely being situated by Zambezi. Lodges in need of refurbishment as bit scruffy and gave the impression of being dirty as for example the bed cover where it should have been white was grey as old and the Mossy net was yellowed did not fit well and generally tatty.

We found it of no great benefit having our personal valet and felt that this job had been created so we would have to tip him generously. Pool needed refurbishing. Breakfast and dinner were good but lunch was outstanding" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
MrW & MsM
Seattle

"Romantic, riverside lodge"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"We had a lovely stay at Tongabezi as the first stop on our honeymoon. The staff really did a great job of making us feel welcome and organizing activities for us. The river cabins were small, yet very comfortable. The food was excellent for all meals, though breakfast tended to be served late and a little slow in coming which was problematic for early AM activities.

Insects are a big issue due to it's location. The staff kept the cabins sprayed, and made sure that the curtains were shut in the evening which really helped keep the bugs out. They offered a "sanpan" dinner, where they bring your dinner out to a raft in the river. This was wonderful, except for the bugs.

While Tongabezi's location is very tranquil, it is about a 30 minute drive to the falls and all activities there. So, if your goal is to maximize your exposure to the falls themselves, stay closer to town." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H Family
Swanmore

"Tongabezi review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Fabulous lodges with superb food and excellent activities included.I can fully recommend the Sindabezi and Tongabezi lodges; they are safari luxury personified. The food, service and accommodation were fabulous and offered us a wonderful rest with a touch of excitement, hippos and elephants in camp at night, along with an opportunity to canoe down the Zambezi ( avoiding hippos, crocs and whirlpools! ) and even a trip into Livingstone resulted in us witnessing the birth of a baby elephant on the road side. The inclusive trips on the river in early morning & at sundown were especially appreciated as was the trip into the market." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Ireland

"Great bubble bath at Tongabezi"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2010
"This was a great place to end our holiday.

The room, the view and service were great, as were the activities. We even went on a helicopter ride over the Victoria Falls, paid for by us, but arranged by the lodge and taken to the airport and waited for.

The laundry service was also very good.

My only criticism was that the mats in the room needed a good clean to remove stains." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Herts

"Honeymoon at Tongabezi"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2010
"Wow, what a place!!!

After the experiences we had on our honeymoon (Azura Mozambique and camps in Botswana), Tongabezi really raised the bar!!! A stunning location on the hippo-infested Zambezi with outstanding facilities and quite brilliant cuisine. The "Nut House" where we stayed is probably the most amazing place we will EVER stay.

We wished we could have had longer to spend enjoying Tongabezi as we spent a lot of time enjoying the wonderful activities that the Zambezi has to offer at Livingstone, in particular the white water rafting with Bundu Adventures and the helicopter trip which both come highly recommended." See all these reviews: 6n in Mozambique; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr P & Mrs P
Holland

"Tongabezi review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2010
"We can think of worse places to wait for your flight home. We stayed at Tongabezi to be close to the airport the next day, but we got another great day of holidays.

Super service and nice accommodation. And we managed to slip in a visit to Victoria Falls.... At the end of our trip throughout Namibia we did not see much wildlife, but we weren't really expecting any." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Beds

"Lovely camp and location"

3 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2009
"As a relaxing camp following 9 days on safari it was ideal. The cottages were delightful and there were lots of activities to choose from if you wanted to be active. The majority of the staff coundn't have been more helpful and friendly.
Trega , our valet was a star !" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 61
93%
61 reviews of Tongabezi by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
45
12
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Livingstone & Victoria Falls

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

Just a few minutes walk from the Victoria Falls, good facilities, lovely grounds and adequate rooms at a modest price make Avani a good choice for a short visit.


85% (223 reviews)
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

Conveniently located just a short walk from the Zambia. side of the Victoria Falls, the colonial-style Royal Livingstone has beautiful grounds and small but quite luxurious rooms.


93% (86 reviews)
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

In a lovely location on the Zambezi upriver of the Victoria Falls, Islands of Siankaba provides a tranquil setting to relax at the start or end of a safari to Botswana or Zambia.


96% (54 reviews)
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Lodge

Offering great value for money and within easy reach of the Victoria Falls, Waterberry is a small, family-friendly lodge on the banks of the Zambezi River.


98% (43 reviews)
Toka Leya Camp

Toka Leya Camp

The new Toka Leya Camp stands beside the Zambezi inside Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park – so wildlife often passes through. It's a comfortable tented camp which has great service and includes a range of activities.


88% (22 reviews)
Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge

Stanley Safari Lodge has views of Victoria Falls spray from all the rooms, and is a convenient base for exploring the Zambezi River area.


96% (21 reviews)
The River Club

The River Club

The River Club, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, overlooks the Zambezi River.


93% (18 reviews)
Sindabezi

Sindabezi

Sindabezi, near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls, is an island in the middle of the Zambezi River


98% (16 reviews)
David Livingstone Safari Lodge

David Livingstone Lodge

The four-star David Livingstone Safari Lodge is in a lovely spot on the edge of the Zambezi River in Zambia, close to the Victoria Falls.


86% (7 reviews)
Thorntree River Lodge

Thorntree River Lodge

Rebuilt in 2017, Thorntree River Lodge is one of the best riverside lodges in Livingstone, with a strong sense of the environment and straightforward access to the Falls.


100% (4 reviews)
Tangala House

Tangala House

Tangala House, the family home near Zambia's town of Livingstone and the Victoria Falls


No reviews yet
Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma

Sussi & Chuma combines a luxurious, laid-back camp with a good location on the Zambezi River, with quick access to the Victoria Falls.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa