This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr C & Mrs A from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

2

Trip of a life time

Namibia and 3 other countries between 13 Sep 2010 and 16 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Exceeded all our expectations and got better as the trip progressed. Well worth the huge outlay.

Never to be forgotton but will loose all our friends raving about it!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Hard to think how you could have improved it. I think it was a shame we did not listen to the advice regarding our last camp in Botswana and feel she should have told us how little wild life ther was at Selinda. She did inform us the wild life was not as good here but there was very little."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Could not be better"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2010
"Excellent. Very helpful staff. Perfect food and beautiful room and situation

5* plus accommodation and would recommend to anyone"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Not enamoured"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2010
"Grey and lacking character. Room bare with no curtains and creaky laminate floor. Breakfast adequate and room had pleasant views.
Manager/owner was rather untidy and scruffy
Parking not easy and help needed to open gates
Nearby Harbour Vue guest house appeared to be much better and was confirmed by people we met
We would suggest you use other options in the future"
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Good overnight stop off"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"Very adequate for short overnight stay"
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Good for stopover"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2010
"We really only needed a one night stop as there was little to do unless you are in to horses. Scenery not great for walks.

Strong Germanic influence and we were the only Brits there which was somewhat unpleasant at meal times as German was main language spoken so we felt left out. Hostess did make some efforts to help but had to concentrate on others

Dinner food was excellent but breakfast very Germanic"
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Poor
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"14km of terrible access road"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2010
"Having travelled a long way on gravel roads you are confronted by a even worse challenge which needs a 4 x 4 vehicle!

So called option of sleeping upstairs on the roof was not catered for.
Best point was location for access to dunes area but debate if worth it overall
In need of improvement

PLEASE NOTE. Trip to Soussevei sand dunes was quite amazing. The guide was excellent and the trip was excellent value lasting 6 hours and more.

Hot air ballooning in the Sossusvlei area booked with Expert Africa - rating = poor
Good experience but most disappointing part of trip, Lack of sights on trip and no sooner in air than pilot concerned about the landing point. Think this is not a good venue for a balloom trip as you do not see the dunes or any wild life on it. Breakfast was a most enjoyable experience."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Excellent b and b"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"Excellent food with friendly staff in good position

Day trip to Sandwich Harbour booked with Expert Africa - excellent
Good guide and most enjoyable trip in the dunes and on the coast."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"1 hour balloon flight"

25 Sep 2010 • Morning excursion

Good experience but most disappointing part of trip, Lack of sights on trip and no sooner in air than pilot concerned about the landing point. Think this is not a good venue for a balloom trip as you do not see the dunes or any wild life on it. Breakfast was a most enjoyable experience.
Poor
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Excellent trip"

26 Sep 2010 • All-day excursion

Good guide and most enjoyable trip in the dunes and on the coast.

PLEASE NOTE. Trip to Soussevei sand dunes was quite amazing. The guide was excellent and the trip was excellent value lasting 6 hours and more.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Good stop off break"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"Advertised telescope for star gazing did not exist!

Typical Wilderness Safari camp which are in need of improvement. However, better than Kuala Lodge
Interesting trip to Living Museum of Damara people"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Interesting safari experience"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"Location excellent but paid considerably more for waterhole villa. The best waterhole we visited in Etosha.

Communal dining facility was not very good and nor was the food served in it. This really was incidental to the overall experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Another interesting type of safari"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"Excellent camp with first class food and environment
Pleasantly relaxing by their water hole.

Some people we got to know stayed at one of the other Onguma camps and were very dissatisfied to the point of leaving a day early."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Superb experience"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Food was outstanding. The dining area was superb, 3 safaris a day which were all excellent except for the night safari for which we paid extra and felt the guide really did not want to do it.

The safaris were a bit false because of what the camp is all about. The walking safari was really superb with good guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"see previous comments"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"See previous"
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Excellent camp and safaris"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"K was by far the best guide of all our trip. Thoroughly enjoyed every minuite of our 3 days here.

Our first genuine safari and being in the delta enjoyed the boating aspect of the trip. Would recommend this venue to others."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Interesting change of scenery"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2010
"Food and hospitality were outstanding but very lacking in game and from this aspect was very disappointing.

However we enjoyed our stay here."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Good location for relaxing end of trip"

3 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"Was lovely being situated by Zambezi. Lodges in need of refurbishment as bit scruffy and gave the impression of being dirty as for example the bed cover where it should have been white was grey as old and the Mossy net was yellowed did not fit well and generally tatty.

We found it of no great benefit having our personal valet and felt that this job had been created so we would have to tip him generously. Pool needed refurbishing. Breakfast and dinner were good but lunch was outstanding"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team