This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Y family from Surrey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Safari Trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 21 Oct 2012 and 30 Oct 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We could have done with a bit more advice on tipping at the camps. We were a little unprepared as to this cost but certainly did not begrudge anyone their tips!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Thank s to Megan for all her superb help."

Arranged By Megan Green


Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe Camp Stay"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2012
"Overall a very pleasant stay.

We particularly liked the informal atmosphere where staff and guests mixed, particularly at meal times."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vumbura Plains

Vumbura Plains

"Vumbura Main Camp."

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2012
"Again a very good visit. In comparison with Chitabi we missed some of the informailty. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but we missed the informailty of all guests and staff eating together.

Guides were excellent, knowledgeable and went out of their to make the visit a great success. We were particularly impressed with all the guides knowledge.

We took a half day trip on a boat in the Delta. This was a little disappointing"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Tongabezi review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2012
"Very impressed how we moved from camp to camp with no difficulties.

The staff were particularly helpful, especially as they helped us when we were looking for a particular item in the shops.

The only comment I would make about this leg of the trip was how comparatively expensive the activities were. While I realise you have no control over this it may be worth informing visitors of this fact."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Overall review

Tanzania and 1 other country between 20 Oct 2007 and 2 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was fantastic. Saw some great game and had a great experience.

I would however miss out on the beach experience if I did the trip again."

Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Excellent - Mdonya Old River camp."

4 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"We were very happy with all the aspects of the Mdonya Old River camp. Our guides were probably the best part of the experience (Giovanni & Ali). They were always cheerful, helpful and were excited as we were when we saw game.

The camp itself was very well organized from the sleeping accomodation to the meals. We particulaly enjoyed the meals where all guest eat together & shared expeiences. In 4 days we met British, Americans, Venezualians, Peruvians, Italians and the camp was nowhere near full. The camp manager (Nick) and his assistant were also very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp - Excellent"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"A good choice as it contrasted well with Ruaha being in a wetter area, near a river. Again the guides were excellent and very well informed. We enjoyed the "fly camping" although you may warn future guests that the tents are very very hot!

Again we enjoyed the commumial eating in the fly camp but did not so enjoy the dining experience in the main camp. This was for two reasons: it is much hard to share experiences with fellow guests when everyone sits at seperate tables and while the food was "fancier" at Selous I missed the good basic food at Ruaha. (Maybe I am not cut out for luxury living!)

Again the management team of the camp could not have been more helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Fly camp"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"See previous comments.

[
Ed: this traveller's comments on Impala and the fly-camps were:

A good choice as it contrasted well with Ruaha being in a wetter area, near a river. Again the guides were excellent and very well informed. We enjoyed the "fly camping" although you may warn future guests that the tents are very very hot!

Again we enjoyed the commumial eating in the fly camp but did not so enjoy the dining experience in the main camp. This was for two reasons: it is much hard to share experiences with fellow guests when everyone sits at seperate tables and while the food was "fancier" at Selous I missed the good basic food at Ruaha. (Maybe I am not cut out for luxury living!)

Again the management team of the camp could not have been more helpful.
]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2007
"See previous section"
Excellent
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"Shooting Star - Lodge - Average"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2007
"This was the most disappointing section of our vacation. Coming from "camping" in the bush we expected the Shooting Star to be a more luxurious experience that the camps, but it was quite the opposite.

We arrived at about 6.00pm to find the hotel's electricity supply cut (not their fault), their back up generators not working and the air conditioning in the room not working. The air conditioning never did work the 3 days we were there, although we were given a 25% discount on our bill for the inconvenience.

The rooms were small and the bathrooms abit disappointing (showers did not work properly) but the hotel staff were very friendly.

We were abit disappointed with the location of the resort. It seemed to be a long way from anywhere and it would have been nice if there had been some activities to do. On the whole I would not recommend this resort."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai Hotel"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2007
"Small hotel but great location, friendly staff and good food. Rooms were large and clean. Would definitely go again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team