This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs D from E Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

15

Excursions taken

0

Stunning landscapes round Namibia

Namibia between 15 Jan 2019 and 31 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is an extraordinary country most memorable for the astonishing scenery and its remoteness.

We had expected it to be under-populated, but were surprised to find most of the country devoid of humanity. It also seemed to be largely devoid of wildlife other than for the desert adapted animals in the Namib and in and around Etosha.

We stayed in a range of Lodges with differing levels of comfort, but all of them in remarkable locations, making for a very memorable journey round the country.

We were very well advised by Sabina at Expert both in terms of a practical itinerary and as regards the choice of Lodges."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


River Crossing

River Crossing

"Convenient first stop close to the airport"

1 night Arrived 16 Jan 2019
"We were glad to have only a short drive to the Lodge after the overnight flight from UK.

The room had a slightly "tired" feel to it and the air conditioning unit somewhat inadequate for the very high temperature prevailing.
But the Lodge is ideal for an overnight stop to or from the airport."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Top end Lodge in a remote desert landscape"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2019
"A beautiful Lodge set in stunning scenery. Our guide (Darius) was outstanding.

The early morning excursion to the dunes at Sossusvle / Dead Vlei was an unforgettable experience.

We also saw plenty of Oryx, springbok, zebra and ostriches on a couple of drives around the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Very comfortable B&B "

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2019
"Cornerstone is conveniently located on the south end of Swakopmund, within easy walking distance of two of the better restaurants in the town (The Tug and Jetty).

Very friendly owners and comfortable room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Spectacular setting"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2019
"Camp Kipwe provides a stunning setting among the granite boulders of a kopje with far reaching views, particularly from the sundowner bar above the Camp.

The rooms, however, in need of an upgrade - the air conditioning inadequate for the heat of the day; an overhead fan would help; as would a small fridge; and the outside bathroom a bit too rustic.

Surprisingly, given the remoteness of the location, we saw no wildlife at all during our stay, other than birds visiting the small pond beside the main building.

The provision of only two shade umbrellas next to the small rock pool needs addressing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Top class Lodge / Hotel"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2019
"We found ourselves as the only guests at this Lodge / Hotel. It is set in it's own wildlife reserve adjoining Etosha, which is very well stocked with a large variety of game, including oryx, kudu, springbok, wildebeest, waterbuck and giraffe.

The staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. A beautiful main building with an excellent swimming pool and far reaching views towards Etosha with a large and busy waterhole in the distance. The room exceptionally well appointed and comfortable. We went for a short walk with the very interesting guide to a viewpoint above the Lodge for a sundowner before an excellent dinner on the terrace.

We were very sorry that we had only booked an overnight stay here en route to Etosha, and would have been happy to have stayed two or more nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"Rustic Lodge overlooking a waterhole"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2019
"Tree Top Camp is set in it's own wildlife reserve adjoining Etosha, which would be a more than adequate safari destination in its own right. We had frequent sightings of game right in front of the Camp at the waterhole, and had an excellent game drive with a guide (Victor) who managed to provide an extended sighting of a cheetah with two cubs, and a (more distant) sighting of a lioness with a cub, along with many more commonly seen game species.

The Camp is very well located close to the eastern gate of Etosha where we did self-drive game viewing. Chudob waterhole, in particular, provided numerous spectacular game viewing experiences - a kind of Garden of Eden location ! Etosha (like everywhere else we visited) had very few visitors.

We also had exclusive occupation of Tree Top Camp for two of our three nights there. Under the circumstances the staff could have been a bit more flexible and proactive. The open-fronted room was adequate other than for the absence of hot water."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Remote Lodge in stunning location"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"We again had exclusive occupation of this Lodge for two of our three nights. It is set in a remote location among the rocks of a large kopje with fabulous scenery.

The large tented room was very comfortable. Walks around the area provided some challenges both in terms of the steepness of some of the climbs but also the extreme heat after about 10am. The staff unobtrusive but helpful when needed

We saw very little game, but there was a considerable number and variety of birds around the Lodge.

Altogether a beautiful place for relaxation at the end of our travels round Namibia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

A fabulous safari holiday in Selous and Ruaha

Tanzania between 14 Jan 2018 and 27 Jan 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"One of our very best trips. We had done many previous safaris but always in the dry season. While going in the green season has some downsides (much thicker bush and some areas were inaccessible due to flooding) the scenery was more attractive and we still had excellent game viewing while the bird life was significantly more abundant than in the dry season. Combining Selous with Ruaha provided good contrast and meant that we saw a wider range of game than remaining in just one reserve."

Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"A restful start to our safari"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2018
"We had stayed at Ras Kutani two years before. It was even more delightful than we had remembered it. Very relaxing environment, with welcoming and friendly staff and well managed by Simon. Also excellent food. We only stayed for two nights but wished we had stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Siwandu

Siwandu

"Top class camp in a beautiful location"

4 nights Arrived 17 Jan 2018
"We spent four nights at Siwandu. It is an excellent camp, very well managed by Conrad and his team. Very comfortable tented rooms well spread out from each other and overlooking the large lake. We enjoyed the variety of game viewing activities - drives, boating and walking.

It had been unseasonally wet for two weeks before we arrived, so there were areas of Selous that were inaccessible. Consequently we were unable to find most of the predator species during our stay, although we did see a pack of wild dogs. However, there were remarkable densities of several other animals, notably giraffe and zebra as well as impala, along with sightings of less common species such as kudu, waterbuck and eland. Being the green season, the bird life was prolific. Flocks of carmine bee-eaters around the safari vehicle were particularly spectacular.

Our guide, Mohamed, was very knowledgeable and competent, as was Allen, who led our game walk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Spectacular camp in Ruaha"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2018
"Ikuka is situated in a spectacular location on the escarpment overlooking the Mwagusi plain. It is a remote camp, with quite a long drive to it up a steep track. But the views from the camp are stunning, as are the tented rooms and the camp's main building.

Tanya is a lively and entertaining manager of the camp. Our guide, Ernest, was also excellent, very knowledgeable and with a pleasant sense of humour.

We particularly enjoyed a long and interesting game walk led by Mark, the co-owner of Ikuka, which ended with a fabulous bush breakfast next to the Mwagusi river.

We stayed five nights at Ikuka and it was one of the very best safari camps we have ever stayed at. Although it was the rainy season in Ruaha, we had excellent game viewing, particularly of predators. In one memorable afternoon we saw a pair of cheetahs, followed by a leopard in a baobab tree with an impala kill, followed by several lions round a giraffe kill watched by hyenas and numerous vultures. Also frequent sightings of most of the main game species; particularly good to see numerous herds of elephant. Spectacular bird-life, which included numerous eagles and other raptors and five different species of stork etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Great safari coupled with R&R on the beach

Tanzania between 8 Nov 2015 and 23 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our safari in Selous and Ruaha compared very favourably with other safari holidays we have had in southern Africa. A few days at Ras Kutani was an ideal way to relax at the end of our trip.

All the travel arrangements worked well.

The staff in all the places where we stayed were invariably very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Altogether a wonderful holiday."

Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Delightful land and water safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2015
"We spent four days at Selous Impala. The weather was very hot, with only light showers one morning. Andrew (along with his driver, Rajabu) was an outstandingly good guide with a remarkable knowledge of every aspect of the role. It was particularly good that Andrew was our guide throughout and we did not have to share a vehicle or boat with others. We had good game sightings throughout our stay. The open acacia landscape which predominates is both attractive and good for game viewing.

We particularly enjoyed the variety of game viewing activities, with a mix of drives and boat safaris, along with bush walks. A remarkable concentration of crocodiles and hippos in the Rufiji river and lakes, as well as large numbers and a wide range of bird species.

We had a room with a view over the river. The pool was a very welcome facility during the heat of the afternoon.

The food was wholesome and perfectly adequate, but not special - although the bush breakfasts were excellent.

All the camp staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Slightly odd that tables for lunch and dinner were set for individual rooms rather than communally as in all other safari camps we have stayed at. This meant that there was limited interaction with other guests. The policy of charging for all drinks (other than tea and coffee) was also different from all other camps we have stayed at."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"An authentic bush experience at Kwihala"

6 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2015
"We spent six days at Kwihala. It was exceptionally hot throughout our stay with only one brief shower. One area of the Park had received enough rain to start to green it, but most areas were very dry. In particular, the Mwagusi and Mdonya rivers were more or less completely dry with only a few puddles remaining, and even the Ruaha river was virtually dry with only the area next to the Ruaha bridge retaining some deep pools.

The camp provides an authentic bush experience with tents and bucket showers etc. But it is nonetheless very comfortable.

Ruaha provides a wide variety of differing landscapes including a remarkable concentration of huge baobab trees.

Tam, the manager, was an outstandingly good hostess and made everyone feel very welcome. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Game was fewer and further between than we were expecting, but we did nonetheless have several remarkable game viewing experiences, especially with lions and leopards. Alex, our guide most of the time, was very experienced and a reassuring person to lead a game walk - particularly when we happened upon a lion!

The food was imaginative and very well prepared and presented, especially the buffet lunches.

Tsetse flies were an issue in some areas, notably along one stretch of the Mwagusi, but were not a problem in the camp itself. Although we expected to share game activities with other guests, in practice we only did so on a limited number of occasions, although we found that sharing with four others in the vehicle (which happened once) was not a good experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ras Kutani

Ras Kutani

"Idyllic place to wind down after our safari."

4 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2015
"We had hot and dry weather throughout the four days we spent at Ras Kutani. It is a beautiful place which feels very remote from the world, with a small freshwater lagoon and (in effect) a private and very large white sand beach overlooking the Indian Ocean. The sea water was remarkably warm, while the pool water was even warmer!

The lodge is very well managed by Leo and Frankie, who were very friendly and welcoming hosts. All the staff were also extremely friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent, particularly the buffet lunches.

Of the activities available, kayaking on the lagoon was fairly limited as was the snorkelling, but the swimming in the sea was very pleasurable, as was the pool. A visit to the local village was a particularly interesting experience, and the walk round the lagoon was informative and helped to work off a few calories!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2009 trip

Botswana between 7 Nov 2009 and 17 Dec 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fabulous trip - although Expert Africa was only responsible for the first week (in Botswana) and the flights / car hire - which worked according to our booking."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2009
"The camp was made even more remote by virtue of the fact that the normal airstrip was being repaired, necessitating a three hour drive - effectively an extended game drive - to it when we arrived. This was not ideal following an overnight flight from UK and transfer to Maun, but was not a serious inconvenience.

The camp itself was excellent and the staff particularly welcoming. Isaac was as good a guide as we have been fortunate enough to encounter in many safari holidays. A game walk was memorable for getting fairly close to a large herd of buffalo making its way to the river, followed by a close encounter with a bull elephant. Isaac handled a potentiallly hazardous situation with considerable skill.
The only serious problem with the camp was the plague of insects after dark, which was quite an issue over dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"Little Kwara review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2009
"This was our third visit to Kwara, although the previous two were to the main camp. The location of Little Kwara is arguably not as special as the main camp (inasmuch as most of the rooms do not overlook the lagoon), but the rooms themselves are considerably better.

As with previous visits to this consession, the game viewing was top class, and the range of activities is broader than is available at most camps. However, the guide on this occasion (Hobbs) was not as good as on previous visits - seemingly more interested in driving around (both in the safari vehicle and in the boat) at a speed inconsistent with watching game. After two less than satisfactory drives, we and our fellow travellers prevailed on him to slow down, which improved things. Nonetheless, he did not demonstrate the same enthusiasm for his role as we have experienced at Kwara."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team