This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs P from Horsham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

1

Kenya safari 2018

Kenya between 25 Aug 2018 and 7 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Vary enjoyable given the circumstance, obviously some days very hard as Peter had organised this and he wasn't there to share it.

Only reservation, final camp would have been better if they told me what the routine re securing tents in the evening was - on first night escorted to camp by guard but it was pitch dark and on my one felt a little scared. However they did sort it out for the other nights making sure that the blinds were all down and the lights were left on.

Generally felt very safe despite being on my own."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Very welcoming even though we arrived at almost midnight. Lovely adjoining rooms, just a shame we weren't there to enjoy them for longer.

Very bumpy difficult access.

Location, easy access to airport and in the national park - difficult to say much more."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tortilis Camp

Tortilis Camp

"Tortillas camp in Amboseli Conservancy "

3 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"Loved this place, unfortunately we never got a very good view of Kilimanjaro which I really wanted to see as Peter had climbed this 10 years ago. However wonderful wildlife - and birds - flamingoes were stunning.

Lions, cheetahs, hippos buffalo, elephants giraffe wildebeest, hyena gazelles, Secretary bird.

Brilliant guide, good hosts, great service from all the staff.

Visited local village, felt slightly pressured as on my own with one of the chief's sons as we were shown all the handicrafts"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Laikipia

Kicheche Laikipia

"Kicheche Camp for Laikipia Safari "

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Again, great location, brilliant guide, Louise was a lovely host, food very good.

Abundant wildlife.

Peter was guide.

Hot water bottle in bed!!

Cold in the mornings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

"Wonderful time at Nabisco "

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Lovely camp although long walk to tent (see general comments). No fence so animals roamed over camp land. Location wonderful - could watch dawn breaking from bed!

Hot water bottles in bed and on drives!

Good hosts, again brilliant guide ( Dixon)

Visit to Mara - didn't see any migration but could relate what we saw of the hundreds and hundreds of wildebeest and zebras and the crossing points to the iconic picture that is seen worldwide about it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

"Day Drive to Maara "

4 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

Quite a long drive to get there but we spotted lepard on the way.

Amazed by the extent of the plains - miles and miles of land with animals grazing everywhere.

Didn't see any migration but got good impression of what it would be like with long trails of wildebeest plodding slowly to the river.
Excellent

My Sept 2016 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 16 Sep 2016 and 27 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was a very enjoyable trip with good guides, good accommodation and good service.

Regarding the team member below, Tracy continued the good work of Nick Hobbs who left after arranging the trip.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"Generally we enjoyed our stay but we felt they were charging for too many of our activities. On the itinerary for the Elephant camp, you said the price included shared safari activities. I’m not sure what that included. We were offered to go on a safari in the nearby safari park which we decided to do and assumed it was part of the shared safaris referred to. However we were charged for this and we thought that should have been included from the description.

I also thought the guided trip to the Falls should not have been charged for as it was a member of their staff who guided us who wouldn’t have done much more if he had stayed in camp. We tipped him as well."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Our guide, Lesh, was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"I thought the accommodation was a little more basic than I expected. We fed back our comments to the camp.

However we enjoyed our visit, despite the drought, and we thought our gude was very good. We also thought that it was a long distance from the airstrip and we would have preferred somewhere relatively close to an airstrip.

However we did feel we were right out in the bush far from anywhere. Because there was little water so we couldn't get out on the boats, they paid for us to have a 30 minute helicoptor flight which was fantastic and we couldn't believe the number of elephants we saw."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"A very good camp and again our guide was very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team