This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge

Reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xigera Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2012
"Saw Pel's fishing owl plus many other birds. Mokoro boat rides were very peaceful and relaxing.

In contrast, the long boat journey up to Chief's Island was fast and noisy in the motor boat which tended frighten the birds away." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Mozambique; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Guildford

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"We so enjoyed Xigera because it was different from the previous camps. We enjoyed mokoro and boat trips and swimming in the lagoon with sundowners in the water was a highlight.

We were also treated to dinner a deux on our last evening, which was very special and a beautful end to our trip." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr E
California

"Xigera review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2011
"Although we only had two nights in Xigera, our visit was truly memorable. Our tent was located at the end of the camp, overlooking the lagoon. It was just fantastic. We were the only guests in camp on the first night, so the staff was even more attentive.

The wildlife viewing was also excellent. On our first mokoro ride, our guide, Teko found a Pel's Fish Owl. It was one of the most beautiful birds we have ever seen. The next day, we had an all-day excursion to Chief's Island. We saw all sorts of wildlife, include more hippos that we could count. The "picnic" was quite a spread - as good as any in camp. What a treat!

In the camp we were entertained during the day by all of the vervets. One of the staff took Cynthia around to watch them play and mock fight, which resulted in some great video clips.

In hindsight, we would have enjoyed a third night in Xigera; it's beauty, peacefulness, and the hospitality of the staff made the whole stay idyllic." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"A Heronry with Attached Safari Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2010
"We visited Xigera about 6 years ago but it was spoiled by inappropriate malarial treatment - the one that makes the skin sun sensitive! This was a return visit to do all the things we missed last time.

What a treat to find Ann and Mike in residence as managers. We met them when they were running Kwetsani 2 years ago. A truly professional team determined to make the best possible use of all their natural and human resources. The camp runs like clockwork and we were in no doubt that all their efforts were to ensure we had the best holiday ever. It worked.

We knew this was a water camp but the team also managed to fit in several game drives despite the unseasonally high water levels. Teko is a guide of unrivalled experience of the Xigera area and he did us proud. The absolute highlight was the afternoon boat ride to the heronry. A completely magical place and a must for any September visitors who appreciate birds. A water camp par exellence run by a great team. We loved it." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms B
Toronto

"Waterworld with lions, hyaenas and birds"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2009
"From the moment our helicopter touched down near the camp, we knew this would be special and were not disappointed. Since all the activities are water-based, the knowledge and skill of the guide are critical to enjoyment of the landscapes and animal and bird life the camp has to offer. Our guide, Ndebo, grew up in the Delta area and brought both local knowledge and professional experience in seeking out the not frequently seen - e.g., the Pel's fishing owl - and in explaining animal behaviour.

The food was excellent, especially the pounded beef dish that formed part of the boma dinner, and the service was unerringly friendly and attentive. It was July and cold at night and in the morning during our visit. While each camp we stayed at provided the requisite hot water bottles, Xigera ranks at the top for having the hottest ones. The cold did not seem to deter the elephants - each night we drifted off to sleep to the sound of them calmly crunching their way through the palm bushes surrounding our tent.

Top marks too for the quality of the baskets made by Xigera staff. These are serving as excellent mementos of our visit there." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Norway

"Xigera review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2009
"An excellent wet camp. we saw many animals on the boat safari trips, which were very beautiful and atmospheric. The staff made us very welcome and organised a special honeymoon brunch.

We would willingly return -- a good first lodge fro our trip" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Langley

"High Water at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Xigera. Although we had been warned that unusually high waters might curtail land activities, that was not the case as we drove in vehicles equipped with snokels and we travelled without any difficulty through water a metre or so deep.

Our game viewing was excellent with 3 separate leopard viewings close-up. Elephants frequented the areas around our raised tents and baboons greeted us on the walkways. On our first game drive we saw leopard, impala, giraffe, baboon, red lechwe, kudu, zebra and warthogs.

On the picnic boat excursion the next day we say hippos, crocodiles, cape buffalo, and a variety of birds including African Fish Eagles, Open-billed storks, and pied kingfishers. The staff at the lodge provided us with excellent service." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Ms K
Windsor

"Wild water at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2009
"Flying into Xigera was amazing - at first it was hard to spot where we'd land - it was so watery. It really was a stunning arrival - the delta viewed from a light aircraft is quite special.

We'd chosen Xigera for its emphasis on water activities and weren't disappointed.

The motor boat excursions were an absolute highlight. We loved skimming through the delta on these - we saw an impressive range of animals including hippo, crocs, elephant, giraffe, red lechwe, numerous birds and fantastic frogs. This was my first viewing of hippos and we were able to sit close to a large pod from some time which was really exciting.

Teko was our guide and we liked him hugely. He was full of knowledge and very professional with a good sense of humour and really nice manner. He grew up in the delta and paddled mokoros around camp location as a child. This depth of knowledge of the area made him a very authoratative and interesting guide and we felt in very safe hands as he negotiated his way round the maze of the delta.

The day trip out to Chief's Island was fantastic because we got to see such a large area of delta.

The Mokoro rides were lovely and relaxing and a wonderful way to view the lushness of the delta. The lilies and the jacana birds are so pretty and ideally viewed from a mokoro. I was slightly nervous about meeting large animals whilst in these boats, but reassuringly a guide went ahead in a lead mokoro and we were able to enjoy a peaceful couple of hours. Our paddler, William went out of his way to show us things of interest.

Despite the fact there were 16 visitors in camp when we arrived, we were still only with one other couple for guiding, which was great. We were able to do the activities of our choice each day.

There are games drives when water permits. We chose to stay on the water but the other couple who'd been in our boat went for a game drive with Teko. The waters were very high and they were treated to an exhibition of great off-roading skill as the vehicle negotiated deep water and varied terrain.

The accomodation in camp is great - the decks outside the rooms are very well located overlooking the water. Sitting out on your deck before sunset is very relaxing. The rooms are really well designed and presented. We liked having en suite facilities in the room removing the need to go outside at night, particularly as one night we had two hippos outside chewing their way through the vegetation. We also saw a bull elephant standing a few metres from our room in the moonlight - that was spectacular.

One evening we had dinner outside in the boma with drinks around the fire, which was very atmospheric. Other evenings we ate at a large dining table in the very pleasant dining area, close to the water.

There are a lot of staff at Xigera - more than you could get to know in a short stay. Anton, Terri and Tlamelo were the managers we came across and got to talk to quite a bit - all were absolutely committed to ensuring that we enjoyed our stay and we were very well looked after both by them and the camp staff.

Overall this was a fabulous camp which delivered all we'd hoped for and more." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
TV & Family
Portugal

"Xigera review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2008
"Overall, a fantastic experience.

Our guide, Teko, was really excellent. He went to a lot of trouble to find us a Pels fishing owl, which we were very keen to see. He also took us out on a makoro and tracked down the rare and elusive sitatunga antelope, which was very exciting.

On the game drive, we got our best ever viewing of hyenas which were feeding on a recent buffalo kill and were very sated.

We spent Christmas at this camp, and they went to a lot of trouble to ensure it was memorable by producing handmade Christmas crackers, which enclosed a tradtional local proverb and a small local gift - a very nice touch." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Newcastle

"Xigera review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2008
"Excellent camp in beautiful setting with friendly staff and knowledgeable guides.

Considerable game around the camp means that it is a good place to draw breath. We had an afternoon staying in camp rather than going on a drive and felt it was worthwhile taking time to relax and enjoy our immediate surroundings.

Managers from another camp were on holiday at Xigera. They also had an afternoon off and admitted they had not realised how tiring game drives can be and they now better understand how tired their guests may be." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 35
98%
35 reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (46 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


90% (31 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (33 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


92% (31 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (25 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (19 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (11 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


83% (6 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


100% (1 review)
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


80% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa