This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Langley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My May 2009 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 9 May 2009 and 12 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our third trip to Africa and certainly one of our best.

Our itinerary as prepared by Expert Africa perfectly and the recommendations of our agent, Gwynneth, for Xigera in Botswana, and Erongo Wilderness Lodge and Olive Grove Guest House in Namibia, lived up to our expectations.

We like the flexibility of being able to combine our own travel arrangements with those made for us by Expert Africa."

Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"High Water at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 10 May 2009
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Xigera. Although we had been warned that unusually high waters might curtail land activities, that was not the case as we drove in vehicles equipped with snokels and we travelled without any difficulty through water a metre or so deep.

Our game viewing was excellent with 3 separate leopard viewings close-up. Elephants frequented the areas around our raised tents and baboons greeted us on the walkways. On our first game drive we saw leopard, impala, giraffe, baboon, red lechwe, kudu, zebra and warthogs.

On the picnic boat excursion the next day we say hippos, crocodiles, cape buffalo, and a variety of birds including African Fish Eagles, Open-billed storks, and pied kingfishers. The staff at the lodge provided us with excellent service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo is a Must for Self Drives in Etosha"

4 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"The lighted water hole at Okaukuejo provides exceptional game viewing and makes the overall experience rate as excellent.

The renovated waterhole chalets are comfortable, if a bit small, and are an improvement over the very tired accommodations experienced on our previous two visits. We were unaware that self-catering was no longer available (something return clients need to know as we had planned to do our own lunches and dinners) and that the only restaurant on site (now the only choice for meals) has reduced its buffet selections offered at dinner.

For people doing self-drives in Etosha, Okaukuejo is an absolute must! On one night's viewing we saw 5 white rhino and 7 black rhino sharing the water hole at the same time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Huab is the Place to Relax and Enjoy Namibia"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2009
"We chose Huab Lodge as the place we most wanted to stay for our 40ieth Wedding Anniversary based on our previous two enjoyable visits. We were not disappointed as Jan and Suzi and staff went out of their way to make it a very special event for us.

We really enjoyed the early morning walks with Jan as it is not often that you get the chance to travel on foot while on safari in Africa. The morning and afternoon drives kept us well occupied during the day. Game viewing includes animals such as zebra, kudu, oryx, and a wide variety of birds, but don't expect to see the abundant variety of wildlife seen in places like Etosha Park.

Huab is a great place to relax and enjoy being in Africa!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Hiking at Erongo Wilderness Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2009
"After extensive game viewing in Etosha Park, Erongo Wilderness Lodge offers a pleasant change of pace with a chance to go on guided or self hikes through some fascinating rock formations.

The multi course dinners were excellent, among the best we had in Africa.

The sundowner walk is not for those fearful of heights or those unable to do some uphill hiking. How much and when to tip guides was a bit confusing as we had more than one guide over the two days."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Relax at the Olive Grove Before or After"

1 night Arrived 11 Jun 2009
"We spent one night at the Olive Grove Guesthouse at the end our 5 week stay in southern Africa. It is a good place to stay either on arrival or departure from Windhoek airport.

We chose to have dinner at the guesthouse and the meal was excellent.

The rooms are large and comfortable and the location is easy to find by car."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team