This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge
Xigera Safari Lodge

Reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Xigera Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
safari lovers
UK

"Xigera Review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2015
"Delightful camp , feels deep in the delta ! Staff all welcoming and friendly and working well as a team . The cultural evening held on Mondays was a joyous musical memorable time in the boma. They all love singing and dancing . I know they do it every Monday but they really seemed to enjoy doing it .

Tents very comfortable and we enjoyed our walkway to it . Food delicious and again the chefs took pride in their work. Tables all looked so attractive in the evenings with lots of effort put in the the napkin designs which we all loved

Our guide Onks was delightful , patient , knowledge and good fun . We loved our mokoro trips with him and Brendan the poler. We were very lucky with a leopard sighting and also many birds . We knew it was not an area for lots of big mammals.
Re water levels , although we were there in the rainy season the big rains that fall in Angola and take many months to reach the further reaches of the delta had not arrived so water levels were still low . ie the huge lagoon I front of our tent was totally dry .
There was enough for the mokoros but not the boats. We therefore had the majority of the game viewing in the jeeps .
Because Xigera is advertised as a water camp we probably expected more water based activities. Having said that I know water levels /climate can be unpredictable. We chatted lots to the guides about the best times to come for a truly water experience and it's June July time .

Having made the mistake / misunderstanding 2 yrs ago when we stayed at Sandibe and there was no water for mokoros at all then and we were a bit disappointed we had hoped to get it right this time . I think it would be really helpful in your literature if you explained clearly the different seasons and what you can expect in each one . My mistake this time was assuming that the rainy season would mean masses of water, but actually it all fills up later on.
No problem really , we will just have to return later in the season for the really water experience!!" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Somerset

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2014
"Fantastic!

Thought Kanana was excellent but this was even better. First class management and all staff. Great fun with excellent guides. Great food and wine. Sundowner experience in the bush was superb!" See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Xigera Visit 3"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2014
"Another of our firm favourites in the Delta, Xigera manages to overcome most of the disadvantages of a large camp by being stunningly beautiful and a feast of birds. We had not been there at this time of year before and were disappointed that the water levels were too low to allow the usual all day boat cruise to Chief's Island or to visit some of the more remote lagoons and narrow channels.

Rather like the new Tubu, the management presence was rather confusing with a general manager and a number of deputies who seemed to carry out shifts of front of house duties. However, the camp runs reasonably well despite the odd failure to replace a missing wash basin plug or to carry out requests to light anti mosquito coils at turn down.

Our guide Dips was delightful and clearly a mover and shaker in the camp entertainment programme. A highlight was the discovery of an adult Pels Fishing owl plus juvenile in camp and photographable. A 12 year mission fulfilled! In contrast to the Tubu private group we coincided with a party of 6 Australian guests with their private birding guide. They were charming, joined in and made no negative impact whatsoever.

Interestingly, the general manager Johann told us that he was asking Wilderness to reduce the number of rooms at the camp as he feels the current 10 is 2 too many! We had a wonderful time at Xigera which included exuberant Independence Day celebrations. Huge fun and we are sure to return." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr P
Chicago

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2014
"I thought it was excellent.

As a birdwatcher I had the opportunity to see two endangered species and many bird species that were totally new to me." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Wales

"Chilling out at Xigera"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"Megan (Expert Africa) suggested Xigera as our last camp and how glad we were to have taken her advice. The only thing we would have changed was to have stayed an extra night!

After two weeks of 'African Massages' driving over rutted sandy tracks the smooth and tranquil boat trips were a blessing and the magnificent scenery a joy to behold. Malachite Kingfishers & African Fish Eagles abound, African & Lesser Jacanas, Long-toed Lapwings, Goliath Herons and not forgetting the majestic Pel's Fishing Owl. Dips, our private guide, kept a watch out for this beautiful bird and on our final morning we were rewarded with a perfect sighting (in camp), out in the open in glorious light by tent 9. Photos galore! Thank you Dips for your patience, your company and your expertise in giving us wonderful photo/viewing opportunities of all the birds above ( plus many more), chilling out with hippos and stunning sunsets as a backdrop to our nightly sundowners. Alas, the elusive sitatunga eluded us ........... yet another reason to return!

We did experience a short mekoro ride poled by perfectly balanced Solly but unfortunately the low down seating arrangement put too much strain on my husband's back after his recent injury. We did however, get close and personal with an exquisite painted reed frog so we were not disappointed.

Our room (no.8) was about a 4 to 5 minute walk along the raised boardwalk, close enough to numbers 9 & 10 to check out the Pel's Fishing Owl 's favourite perch, and far enough away from the main camp to make an interesting walk watching out for the resident elephants - a welcome road block. The camp was very well laid out and we particularly liked the 'star deck'.

The management and staff at Xigera were a credit to Wilderness Safaris - always helpful, efficient and friendly - with special mentions to Claudine, Rose and Kenny. Cheers Kenny for making the best margaritas in the whole of Botswana! Food was delicious with the most choice of all the camps we visited, the traditional night in the boma a lot of fun and our romantic meal by the pool a wonderful surprise.

A fitting end to a fantastic holiday and yet again a camp/company we would highly recommend and would return to at a moment's notice." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"a great end to our holiday at Xigera"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"The great thing about Xigeria camp, apart from the area's natural beauty and friendly, attentive staff, is the lack of expectation regarding big game sightings. Having said that, we got some of our best elephant viewing of the trip as lone males and small family groups splashed between islands, or passed close to our accommodation in the early dawn. One can truly relax here and enjoy the slow pace of life, and the fantastic birds which abound in this water drowned landscape. The smooth boat rides and the tranquility of the mocoro trip were a welcome relief after two weeks of bumping and revving over miles of roads in search of elusive game.

Our guide, Lesh, was the epitome of patience and friendliness, always willing to answer questions and ensure our experience was the best it could be.
We left Xigeria refreshed and already anticipating our return to this beautiful country and its generous, friendly people." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
Dublin

"Xigera review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Mar 2014
"This was by far the best camp that we stayed in. The rooms were good - the food excellent - the staff enthusiastic and competent - the Manager young and very able. They were also the only of 3 camps in which we stayed where they washed mens underpants.

The menu was varied, we got two choices of main course at dinner e.g. steak and fish and the cook could also produce excellent pastries and cakes. Breakfast at 0530 had fruit, cereal, bread, marmalade and muffins.

The Guide "Goms" was excellent" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Elephants in camp at Xigera"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2012
"It's a long way (app. 400 metres) from the "base" to the furthest room - information which didn't seem to appear in anything we read before we went; we had to ask to be moved. Also, with a lot of wildlife in camp it could have been difficult to move between room and base.

Impressive use of solar panels.

Our guide, Onx, went out of his way to find us not one, but two, Pel's fishing owls. Wildlife was good - saw leopards again.

There seemed to be a lot of "managers" - all friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately we were not able to book a private vehicle here - this restricted our activities. A lot of the drives were very bumpy and the drive to the boat ride was horrible, with a long part of it through close trees; it turned out there was a much quicker and easier route." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Brussels

"Xigera in the heart of the Okavango"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2012
"Beautiful setting right in the Okavango delta: wonderful and varied grasslands, reed-lined waterways and palm trees: great for photography. Lots of giraffe, elephants, zebra, hippos to mention but a few. A pair of Pel's Fishing Owls perch in the trees near the camp.

A highlight was the high speed boat down the canals to the lagoon where we swam and drank our sun-downers in the warm, and fast flowing cristal clear water. We saw pink backed pelicans and the rare African skimmer. Fantastic sunsets.

The food was not as good as we had experienced in other camps in Botswana." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Billericay

"Great stay at Xigera"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2012
"This camp was a complete contrast to our first camp as it was water based. Going out on the mokoro boat was so peaceful and relaxing even when a large male elephant decided to cross the water right in front of us (brilliant video).

Food was lovely and we enjoyed eating and chatting with the other guests over dinner." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 35
98%
35 reviews of Xigera Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
33
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa