This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs T from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Extraordinary safari

Botswana and 1 other country between 21 Sep 2017 and 4 Oct 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was fantastic. As a our 2nd Botswana safari it outdid our expectations. The camps were great and the food lovely. The wildlife remains superb. It takes a bit longer to find than say the Masai Mara but rewards the effort with really special sightings in a largely pristine natural environment of extreme beauty."

Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Amazing luxury at Chitabe Camp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2017
"Our stay at Kalahari Plains was cancelled due to fire risk and Chitabe was substituted.
This camp was extremely luxurious with great location in a huge reserve. The game was brilliant! including a white rhino! Our guide was very knowledgable and the staff could not have been friendlier. The view from the room was super and the outdoor shower really great. The feeling of peace and pristine wilderness is what we really love about Botswana. The level of luxury was if anything OTT but a great thing to experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

"Xigera was our favourite camp"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2017
"Xigera is in a beautiful location offering in dry season both excellent game and fun Mokoro and boat trips.

The camp is very comfortable and the food superb. The staff were great fun and our guide NP was superb with an incredible knowledge. We saw a different leopard every day! and the birds were fantastic.

The highlight was the wild dogs and following them for 1 1/2 hours on a high speed hunt through the bush. Amazingly exciting I have waited 35 years to see this again.

The enviroment was pristine and very quiet, the reason we choose Botswana."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

"A bush experience at Machaba"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"Machaba was a slightly simpler camp than our other 2, but we loved it for this. The feel is more one of camping with simpler though very comfortable, rooms and sandy tracks rather than raised walkways.

The view over the river with elephants and hippos was the best we have come across in 5 camps. The staff were a delight and the behind the scenes tour should not be missed. The food was the best we had even at much more expensive camps. A nightime dinner in a bush clearing lit by lanterns and candles was a really luxurious highlight.

Less good is that the area, whilst superb for game, is busy with several lodges and self drives. Expert Africa had warned us of this. Many vehicles can arrive at a scene and there was not the peace which we value so much in Botswana.

It would make a better first camp then go on to a quieter place. We saw fantastic things and would not have missed it.

Our favourite camp but not our favourite location."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Colonial grandeur in a natural spectacle"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"The hotel is very nice with lovely views and grounds. The air con was much enjoyed after the extreme heat of the bush and we were able to sleep well before our journey home.

We got over the border in 4 minutes but another couple on the same day spent 3 hours. We felt perfectly safe but on their own locals were were open about the problems of life for ordinary people.

The staff were polite but nothing like as friendly as the Botswanans we had met. The falls are incredible even in the dry season and we nearly gave ourselves heat stroke in our desire to see everything.

The evening Zambesi cruise is definitely mass tourism with dozens of boats but some good wildlife, especially the African Skimmers. The sunset made a great photo op for the end of our African trip."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Relaxing and interesting holiday

South Africa between 25 Nov 2012 and 12 Dec 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed our first trip to S Africa and would really recommend it.

Wonderful scenery and lots to do. We stayed in lovely hotels and had great food and wine. We also saw some of the problems the country has, and learned much more about its recent political evolution and past history. We also enjoyed the wildlife with whales, dolphins, seals and penguins. The Fynbos was really amazing to see with incredible flowers wherever you looked whilst the remnants of indiginous forest were remarkable.

Our abiding memory will be of the kindness and good humour of the people we met, often living in such difficult circumstances surrounded by such affluence; unsettling and inspiring at the same time.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We have travelled twice with you now and been impressed. You get what you pay for. We will be back."

Arranged By Claire Scott


The Constantia

The Constantia

"Superb. Upgraded to suite.Staff fantastic"

5 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2012
"Upgraded to suite with its own plunge pool. Magnificent gardens and pool. Breakfasts huge. Everyone most welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. We ate in one night by special arrangement and the food was lovely.

Tess organised a very interesting and moving visit to some of the aid projects in the townships. Inspiring work and optimism in the face of extreme difficulty. Another side to S Africa and one well worth seeing though hard to reconcile with ones own privilege."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Nice guest house in centre of Franschoek"

2 nights Arrived 1 Dec 2012
"Nice room and grounds let down by a poor bathroom. Lots of lovely food and wine and scenery!

We ate one night at the attached Ryans Kitchen which is fun as you sit virtually in the kitchen. The food is unusual with some great flavours but some which did not work so well. Only for the fairly adventurous palate?"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Activities
Average
Ocean Eleven

Ocean Eleven

"Fantastic beach house"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2012
"Upgraded to a lovely room with terrace overlooking the bay, we were able to watch whales from our chairs.

Lovely staff and super breakfasts even though one night we were the only guests."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rothman Manor

Rothman Manor

"Really nice hotel"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2012
"Again upgraded to a lovely suite. Nice grounds with good pool and a hot tub looking over a small private nature reserve which was fun.

Run by a really lovely german couple. Great scenery, especially interesting on the drive up from Hermanus. A little road noise from the N2"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rosenhof Country House

Rosenhof Country House

"Magnificent"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2012
"Probably even nicer hotel than at Constantia. Met with drinks and canapes on the covered terrace on arrival. Lovely rooms around a grass courtyard. Excellent pool.

We had a very nice evening meal and the breakfasts were just fantastic with champagne smoked salmon and anything you could want. We found the drive up via the Little Karoo very interesting and plenty to do in the area with some incredible scenery. We would have liked to see The Meerkats but this involes getting up at 4.30am and we just couldn't do it. May be worth spending more than 2 nights to allow you to recover!!

Ostrich farms seemed pretty sad, the wild ones at The Cape much nicer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Cross Beach House

Southern Cross Beach House

"Great location right on beach"

4 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2012
"The location is fantastic with the beach and Indian Ocean outside the garden. Good restaurants in Plettenberg and lots to do. A nice place to relax before flying home.

Our room was very disappointing though. It was small though nicely appointed but the bathroom was poor with only a shower, and the place itself could do with a lick of paint. Very nice staff and nice relaxed feel however with an honesty bar. We saw whales at breakfast!

Difficulty getting additional supplies of tea and coffee for the room and only pots of UHT milk."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team