This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp

Reviews of Chada Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chada Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chada Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

60% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Eland

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs M
Japan

"Wonderful camp!"

3 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2017
"It took about 3 hours from Serengeti to Katavi.
Katavi is remote but a beautiful place. It has variety of landscapes, animals, birds ......
I was welcomed by Katavi team. Manager Hamza was very friendly and helpful.

My guide, Jo was skilled, passionate, and helpful.
I shared the game drives with an American Gentleman for 3 days. It was fun to share the experience with him.
Elephant sometimes passed close to my room...I got thrilled...I was scared a little though.

On my 4th night, Hamza (the manager) and another guide took me a night game drive. It was a wonderful drive, it didn't take more than 5 minuites to find 2 leopards.

It was lovely to interact with other guests...very friendly Italian families.

I love Katavi so much. I really want to go there again.." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Greenwich

"Chada Camp review"

7 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"perfect. Could do with some better guidebooks on the wildlife etc in the libary." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Betchworth

"great"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2016
"Camp brilliantly run, very atmospheric and in a great location. Staff a pleasure to be with." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Great Falls

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2016
"Chada was a really fun trip into a more remote and less touristed area. It's been described as "simple," though as far as I could tell it lacked nothing in terms of food and accommodations. Julien was amazing as a host, very enthusiastic and great company.

We had lots of fun watching lion cubs. Maybe the only downside were the tse-tse flies, but even the were tolerable (more or less)." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr K
Scotland

"Charming Chada"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Lovely camp. Excellent guiding. All staff in camp were very helpful and it had a very nice atmosphere. Camp manager Julien was an excellent host and very passionate about Africa and it's wildlife. Would definitely stay there again.

Only criticism would be that in our car the fridge was sited between the two front seats which had little legroom and no storage or space to place photographic equipment as a result." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Ms W
Geneva

"Fantastic safari at Chada Camp"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2015
"We stayed four nights at Chada Camp and loved it.

Katavi is a great park providing a large range of game and beautiful sceneries. We saw lots of animals, birds, herds of elephants, impalas, zebras, lions. It was wonderful! We would definitely stay there again.

The camp was very comfortable and the food excellent.

Julien, the manager of the camp, was so kind, warm, passionate. He was a fantastic host!

We also were very lucky with our guide, Sami. He was very nice, so knowledgeable about the wildlife, curious and passionate. We enjoyed immensely our flycamping with him. We had the opportunity to learn and discuss about Maasai traditions and culture and the challenges for Maasai children.

Great guides and a real bush atmosphere with elephants roaming through the camp .." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Thor & Deb
Vancouver

"One word: Esprit de corps"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Jean has created a camp with the most remarkable esprit de corps we experienced throughout Tanzania (we were on a 5 week safari) and top among Nomad camps. Everyone jumped to duty, all the time, but with enthusiasm, much laughter, ribbing, and dedication. Jean also ate with us, as did a guide. This is such a great idea. The food was excellent, the beer cold, the icy towel always awaited us as we piled out of the jeeps at the end of our safari.....

The elephants parade through the camp, and one played with the guy wire of our tent. Kati is wild and different, but fabulous, and the camp was fabulous. Again, the guiding was exemplary.

I set out to see an animal before our guide and it finally happened when I spotted the lioness before he did--but in fairness to him, he was in the middle of negotiating a steep ravine in the Land Rover at that precise moment, and was rather busy at the time. I must admit that he spotted it a split second after I did--but I beat him :)" See all these reviews: 25n in Tanzania; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A fine camp in a wonderful setting"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We stayed three nights at Chada Camp and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it.

Katavi is a fine park and we saw some spectacular game, especially the larger herd of buffalo, stacks of elephant and a wonderful leopard. Tsetse flies were nothing like as bad as expected.

Great guides and a real bush atmosphere with elephants roaming through the camp ..." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Witney

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"This was a step back in time towards the original pioneering camps. Although the rooms were well-kept and hot showers readily available, the need to unzip and re-zip tent doors was a bit tedious. We discussed this with Mohammed the excellent manager who told us that he had already raised it with management with a view to re-designing certain aspects of the camp.

Once again, we saw a wide variety of birds and animals and our guide Gabriel was a font of knowledge and passionate about "his" wildlife. Although he has worked all over Tanzania, he clearly loves Chada and Katavi.

Sadly, the main drawback for this camp at this time of year was the Tsetse flies. While I can accept that their presence ensures the habitat is preserved from population and cultivation, their incessant biting is off-putting to say the least. None of the proprietary gels and sprays seem to deter them although a locally made citronella-based lotion seem to have some effect." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Winchester

"Tanzanian Birthday Adventure"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Chada camp was delightful with nice tents well spaced out and with en suite facilities and great bucket showers on request, The staff lead by Mohammed were all very helpful and charming. Our guide Emmanuel was superb - displaying and sharing his great knowledge of the area, the vegetation and the wildlife. His time keeping was, perhaps, a little lax which did upset our companions in our safari vehicle but was not a problem to us.

Wildlife was sparse with the vast herds of buffalo having disappeared just prior to our arrival but that is beyond anyone's control and seeking them out does add to the sense of adventure ! Another addition to the excitement is the regular visits, to the camp, by elephant. On one occasion we could have touched them they were so close to our tent.
We could not fault the camp in any way

The tsetse fly are a problem and seem to like Deet and the like but after some research I discovered Dettol, put on the skin did seem to deter them. It is not the perfect solution as you have to walk around smelling like a hospital (or worse, a public toilet) but It really did seem to work whilst Emmanuel was covered in the wretched things we were only troubled by a few. I tried one game drive without the Dettol nd I was eaten alive!!

Our disappointment was the area of Katavi - from all the reviews we had read we had not expected to be aware of several other camps and their associated vehicles ! It was not the isolation we had anticipated. A large dirt road runs through the national park and we often encountered buses and lorries using this road which passed very close to an area of water with many hippo, crocodile and birds.

Eleanor was right to advise us to make this our first stop as I think our disappointment would have been greater had we already visited some of the other wonderful places on our trip.

Our overall view is of a great camp and I am sure that other folk visiting will enjoy the experience especially if they are lucky with the game spotting." See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 32
98%
32 reviews of Chada Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Katavi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chada fly-camping

Chada fly-camping

Fly-camping from Chada Camp, in the heart of Tanzania's remote Katavi National Park is as wild as Africa gets.


100% (5 reviews)
Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp is a simple tented camp – one of only four in the remote Katavi National Park – with good wildlife sightings all year round.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi is a luxury, tented camp situated in the centre of Katavi and the only camp in the park with a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa