This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp
Chada Camp

Reviews of Chada Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chada Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Chada Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

60% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Wildebeest

25% success

Eland

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2014
"Buffalo herds and concentrations of hippos very impressive. Night drive, walking safari and fly camping all very good. Our guide Paulo was good an knowledgable. The camp askari Francis was kind and helpful at all times and had a great sense of humour. The tent was good, but the large number of zips that needed to be opened and closed to get to the bathroom was tedious.

When we arrived we were not made aware of the fact that the manager was not there as he was ill. A young private guide called Ethan had been drafted in and all he said was that he had been asked to give us a safety briefing. He was at the camp while we were there and he was kind and helpful.

Unfortunately, Shireen fell badly on the first night as the steps down from the mess tent were not well lit. We did have torches, but she missed seeing the drop at the side and bruised her back quite badly.

Hopefully they will now have kerosene lamps at the edges and maybe paint the edges of steps in white as they have done successfully at Greystoke Camp." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
EastEwell

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2014
"Good place and well located and certainly a very good set of staff both at the camp and the game drives.

Lots of game to see and good sightings of both grazing animals and cats, lion and leopard.

They do carry out walks but be a little wary of who you guides you as the qulaity of the guides for walks varies and thus how much you get out of it." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr N & Ms S
Zambia

"Well worth the journey"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Getting to Chada Katavi involves a three hour plus light aircraft flight across Tanzania from Arusha (or Ruaha) but is well worth the effort. We were impressed by the camp, expertly run by Mark and Kristen who are great hosts and really nice people, and really enjoyed our stay there.

The sheer distance, time and cost involved getting there means that visitor numbers are low (for now - that appears to be changing as word gets out about Katavi) so we seldom saw other vehicles as we explored a small corner of this enormous park, expertly guided by Mark, Paul and Gabriel.

The fly-camping trip to a section known as Paradise was particularly worthwhile (indeed we would strongly recommend either a day or overnight trip there for anyone staying four nights or longer); and it was good to be able to do a couple of decent walks during our total four night stay.

Mammals are plentiful - especially hippos crowded into diminishing pools as the dry season bites - and we were very impressed by the bird life.

" See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Edinburgh

"Very remote and quiet camp"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"We did something which seems to be pretty unusual - visit Mahale first and then Katavi. When we got to Katavi at first; I thought that was going to have been a mistake. It was so dry and burnt after Mahale! However while it turned into a running joke with our guide Philip, that I would start everything with "when we were at Mahale....", and while I think I probably would advise people to do it the other way round if possible (also because doing it this way means a lot more flying and more cost), we did really enjoy our stay in this unique environment.

Chada camp was nice. Obviously our room/tent was less luxurious than the ones we had in the previous two camps, but we expected that and were very happy with it. It was good to have a change and a spell in a more traditional camp.

The only problems with the tent at Chada were (a) it was very, very hot and so almost impossible to go into the tent in the afternoon for a siesta; and (b) there were bees living in the drop shower which made having a shower in daylight extremely hazardous! We only tried it once.

We soon found that the camp was no stranger to large visitors. Elephants were common sights. One came to try to get the dregs of the water from our shower and gave us a bit of excitement; another reason for being a little wary of using the shower! We also had giraffes and at night there were numerous passing hyena.

Our guide, as I have said was Philip. We really enjoyed being with him. He had a great sense of humour and was very knowledgeable and intent on ensuring that we had a good time. We were lucky to be sharing the safari vehicle with a South African who was also a guide (and who was doing a tour of Tanzania for work purposes) so we did not miss much with two pairs of eagle eyes in the vehicle!

I think it would be fair to say that the concentration of animals in Katavi was not as high as some places, although we did see a lot - but the great thing was when you did see something you did not end up with lots of other safari vehicles converging on it - as did tend to happen at Sayari. We spent quite a bit of time watching the poor hippos packed in to disappearing pools and the crocs.

We also tried very hard to see lions hunting successfully but while we watched a few attempts, none was successful. One day we drove to an area called "Paradise" which was quite a distance from the camp and had it all to ourselves. There we saw large herds of buffallo which were impressive. We also went on an enjoyable walking safari.

We went fly camping. That is something I would definitely recommend. It was amazing how they managed to take every comfort-pretty much-with us-and the food was great. While the main camp was not exactly in a metropolis(!), in fly camping you do really feel out in the middle of the bush. However there was one thing which rankles a bit with us. We were asked when we arrived on which of the 4 nights we wished to go fly camping. I think we were the only guests that had booked it (although our safari-vehicle- companions ended up coming and one of the other guests who was a Nomad manager from another camp). We decided on the 3rd night of the 4. However having planned with our guide what we were going to do that night etc, -which was to go to the Paradise area - we were then asked if we would mind changing it to the last night. While we did not mind which night it was, we were looking forward to it - thinking it would be a bit of a highlight - and did not want the morning to be rushed. We suspected it would be rushed if we had to get back to the airport. But we were assured that it would not be rushed as we would camp in the direction of the airport. So we agreed.

Admittedly we were not pressurised to agree but we did get the impression that for some reason it would be awkward for them if we did not, as they needed the vehicles that would transport the equipment etc somewhere else. However what we feared happened. Our guide was obviously tense on the last morning about getting packed up to go. We had a very short walk but it felt very time pressured. Then at breakfast we felt we had to hurry. So I am afraid while we enjoyed the experience, we felt that it was a bit spoiled by this.

The food was really good at Chada as well and the staff were very friendly again. The managers were great raconteurs, of an evening particularly! Because it was such a small camp, similar to Greystoke, it was easy to get know everyone and felt like a house party.

The tstese flies were a big problem here. They were appalling. We got very badly bitten as did some of the other guests. We had to constantly fan ourselves while in the vehicle but it did not work. We were particularly badly bitten on the ankles, even with socks on. I think this may have been the worst time of year for them but I think you should probably warn people. We met a few people on our trip who said they would not go to Katavi for that reason.

I should also mention that as far as we were aware at none of our first four destinations did we get troubled by mosquitos, or even see one. Again that is no doubt a seasonal thing." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Stanford

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2010
"The co-managers were very attentive and personable.

The staff was uniformly friendly and on top of everything.

Our driver/guide Frederick was excellent.

A top-notch experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
W Sussex

"Chada Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"Great camp, great guide. Three nights fly camping was everything it should be. Lucky enough to get a guide to ourselves for most of the time - which meant we could spend hours at some good spot just sitting watching animals come out of the bush and "birding". Four hours sitting by the river watching lions mate, pied kingfishers fish, and crowned cranes wander.

Did not leave one fly camp site (Paradise) until well after midday - just sat watching hippos, a variety of waders and herons, and eagles fighting. Three hours at a waterhole watching two elephants drink slowly from the only clean water supply whilst everyone else (including playful young elephants) waited patiently or drank from the muddy pool shared with giraffe, zebra and mud bathing warthogs.

Apparently Nomad will guarantee a guide to yourselves for a supplement - why isn't EA mentioning this?" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Mrs H
London

"Fantastic camp to explore wild Katavi"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2009
"Katavi was probably the highlight of our safari - great game and untouched by tourism and modernity, it truly feels like a world away from modern life. The concentration of hippos, crocs and buffalo was truly incredible and the varied, untamed landscape of plains and woodland serve as a great backdrop.

Chada blends in perfectly into this landscape as highlighted by the frequent camp visits of all kinds of wildlife and we really got the feeling of being immersed in this wilderness.

One can see how much thought has gone into every little detail of this remote outpost, from the tents to the library tent and the comfortable 4-seater vehicles. Food was great, service flawless and camp managers Nicola and Peter made you feel very welcome every step of the way and their personal attention only added to the experience.

Regarding the much written about Tse-Tse flies - we felt that they were a distraction during the afternoon activities, but not really a major issue - and the camp itself is free of them." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2008
"Very friendly management.

Our guide was a bit staid but he was very conscientious. The vehicle was the best we experienced.
The tsetse flies were appalling! I got a few bites in Ruaha but in Katavi I was eaten alive!

Food was excellent.

The tents were good but it was frustrating the number of zips you had to negotiate to get to the loo at night. The zips did not always close properly. The tents were well spread out.

It was disappointing that you always had to set off for a game drive in the same direction. The safari breakfasts were good but it was sometimes a challenge to find some shade without tsetse flies.

It was nice to have a drink with your guide in the evening before dinner." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Chada Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"A proper Safari Camp run by proper Safari people. The tents are clean and spacious and the beds could sleep four adults comfortably. The camp staff were very friendly and the mangement team were great, making sure that everyone was included and all requested were dealt with. You add to this a top quality guides (Silvarnus is a top guide) and some great game viewing, it's starting to be a good place to stay.

The fly camping experience should not be missed, you are out in the wilds with all the comforts of the main camp.

As with everything in life there are some downsides, it took me 5 hours in a 14 seater plane with 4 stop off's to get to the camp and there are several other camps being developed in Chada, which means there is a an increased density of vehicles, so go now while it remains one of the unspoilt locations of East Africa. I would highly recommend this camp.

The game is stunning, including wild dogs (this is a rare treat in this part of the world), more lion, hippo and elephant than you can shake a stick at, so be prepared for a great adventure, I stayed for 7 nights and this wasnot really long enough as there is so much to see." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Cheetahs
Lanarkshire

"Face to face with the Chada pride"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"Chada is a small tented camp in the Katavi NP. Don't be fooled by the 'tented' description - everything in the camp, the personal attention, the food etc., is top quality, even in the absence of running water. The limited numbers mean that you have the freedom to do as you please. You discuss and agree with your guide when and where you want to drive or walk.

The guides are superb, with detailed knowledge of the park and the animals and a real passion for them. The animals are plentiful, even in and around the camp. We spotted giraffes, elephants and monkeys in the camp, as well as lions and buffalo within walking distance.

The drives are tailored to your own preferences, and are likely to get you some great close-up views of all of the big 5 (except the shy leopards, who are around, but difficult to spot). Even so, the highlights were the walks, especially coming face to face with some lions. Meeting lions and hyenas on foot gives you an entirely new appreciation of your position on the food chain. An experience not to be missed.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Chada to anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 32
98%
32 reviews of Chada Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
29
3
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Katavi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chada fly-camping

Chada fly-camping

Fly-camping from Chada Camp, in the heart of Tanzania's remote Katavi National Park is as wild as Africa gets.


100% (5 reviews)
Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp

Katavi Wildlife Camp is a simple tented camp – one of only four in the remote Katavi National Park – with good wildlife sightings all year round.


100% (4 reviews)
Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi

Mbali Mbali Katavi is a luxury, tented camp situated in the centre of Katavi and the only camp in the park with a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa