This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn

Reviews of Desert Horse Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Horse Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Horse Inn.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

71% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
AB
Essex

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"Rooms were great - clean and fresh and had fridge and tea making facilities.

Supper was a real disappointment because we were placed in the bar area/walk through to kitchen area [ table of 5 had been moved there we think] and it was boiling as fan useless] so we ate food and got out of there. Shame really as rest of restaurant space was good just our space.

They were very helpful re our puncture - lovely chap helped me out." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
6
Whangarei

"Desert Horse Inn, Klein Aus Vista"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2011
"As recommended, this was a great place to stay for 2 nights with a day trip to Luderitz/Kolmanskop/Namib wild horses in between. Fuel is available at nearby Aus.

The rooms were good, food and service also great. Lovely remote location for enjoying the sunset and sundowners on the deck. Staff were helpful and Piet very hospitable.

Would definitely return here." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Leeds

"Desert Horse Inn"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"It was a great place, but after the isolation of the Eagles Nest, seemed very busy. The food was excellent and the facilities very good.

I cannot think of any downside, other than it wasn't the Eagles Nest!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Berkeley

"Wild West Movie Set!"

3 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2010
"This is like a wild west movie set complete with the fantastic wild horses nearby. Three nights here were ideal, especially after the long drive from Fish River Canyon (Canyon lodge). We used the southern C13 route so that we could visit Ai-Ais en-route (Ai-Ais accomdation and campsite has largely been re-built recently) and for the dramatic scenery. However this route is long and in parts quite difficult, (if it wasn't for the clear directions in the Bradt guide it would have been easy to have taken a wrong turn - so well done Bradt guide!). Even so the decision to use the C13 route was well worth it.

Everyone very helpful and they make you feel at home, e.g allowed to use the internet which is not possible in most places. Standard rooms are spacious but functional at best.

Long awaited swimming pool is still not built.

First day there we relaxed and the farm dogs took us for a lovely walk!. Aus Visitor's Centre well worth a visit as were the wild desert horses (don't panic when they lick the flies off the front of your car!)

Second day we were booked onto the "Sedina" - a trip out of Luderitz to visit penguins, flamingos and seals. This trip is advertised widely as being a great experience. However, Gunther (page 228 Bradt Guide) no longer owns the Sedina and the trip was disappointing. It lasted only two hours with little commentary and served as little more than transport. At £30 each it was not good value.

Diaz Point near Ludertiz an interesting area (you can see the penguins, seals and flamingos without the £30 price tag!), but the remote cafe did not provide a wam welcome - owner a bit offhand." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Surrey

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 4 May 2010
"Wish we had taken Tracy's advice and booked Eagle's Nest!

Desert Horse Inn was good but Eagle's Nest would have been absolutely amazing...the scenery and sunsets are to die for!" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2010
"The Desert Horse Inn is a good staging post on the way to Luderitz.

The rooms have a lovely view but would benefit from fly screens so that you can leave the windows open on hot nights.

The staff are all friendly and professional." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr W & Mrs L
Belgium

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2009
"We arrived there at X-mas evening- nice dinner and very friendly staff.
Nice rooms.

Visit to luderitz and wild horses is a must.
We liked it there. - We missed a swimming pool in hot december..." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms J & Dr S
London

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2009
"The best food of our trip (with Wolwedans coming a close second and Little Kulala third).

We're keen hikers, and the Inn is nicely placed for a number of hikes. We took a 10km one from the camp site and it was very nice - reasonably well marked too, bar the odd lack of an arrow here & there.

If you're driving here from Fish River Canyon, make sure you take the Orange River route via the C13 and Rosh Pinah - it is a stunning drive, through the mountains and then by the river, which is beautiful. The gravel roads were fine, and it's tarmac from Rosh Pinah" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Hampshire

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2009
"We really liked the atmosphere in this hotel - the rooms were built in semi detached blocks and were pleasant, but the dining room was good, serving excellent food and a good atmosphere - the bar area was good as well. The electicity kept failing but that just added to the atmosphere, and the staff were charming.

We drove ourselves to Luderitz, but found the town very uninspiring, but the ghost town tour was interesting, and we found desert horses on the way back to the Inn" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2009
"Again, difficult to follow Canyon Lodge - Desert Horse lacked its ethnic charm and is starting to show its age although the accommodation was more than adequate in terms of size and facilities.

For the first time a cooked breakfast was not 'custom made' so we went without one as we didn't fancy the pre cooked food which was being kept warm. However, there was plenty of lovely fruit salad, seed bread and cheese and ham.

We decided on the 10 k hike which revealed a far more interesting terrain than driving had done. Dinner on the second night was better, on the first they had run out of potatoes and presented us with hard ones - we would have prefered to have been told that there weren't any!" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Showing 31-40 of 49
89%
49 reviews of Desert Horse Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (84 reviews)
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (61 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa