This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Gloucs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

2

An excellent holiday - very diverse

Namibia between 7 Nov 2012 and 30 Nov 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"We enjoyed it very much - very diverse. It was good to be self-drive.

The highlight was the flying safari.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

A very comprehensive feedback website ! Hope my comments were useful."

GocheGanas

GocheGanas

"An excellent lodge and spa"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"It was very good to be out of Windhoek on our first night in Namibia (and frankly, it would have been even better if we had stayed two nights at Gocheganas to recover from the long journey. Lovely big chalets. Good massages and pedicures (although manicure did not last long !)."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Okay for one night"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2012
"Perhaps we would have enjoyed our stay more if we had been in one of the chalets on the ridge. We had a wonderful early morning walk with three bushmen - booked the night before as an extra. It was fascinating.

However, on our return for a shower before checking out, they were working on the toilet (why could they not do so when we were out or after our departure ?). It was just rather irritating as we were not aware of any problem."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Wonderful lodge in stark surroundings"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"It was worth the long drive. Perched on the ridge of the canyon with breathtaking views, the lodge matches the environment perfectly. We were so pleased to be staying two nights as we were rather tired by this stage. It was wonderful to have a view of the canyon from our own chalet. The staff were very helpful - a rather unique place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Delighted to be in an Eagle Nest chalet"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2012
"Rather than accept the room booked for us at the Desert Horse Inn, I asked about their Eagle Nest chalets and was lucky enough to pay for an upgrade. This made our stay there as I fear we would not have liked the busy (and perhaps noisy) atmosphere of the main Inn.

We were supplied with our breakfast and supper (food and beverages) which we took to our chalet 7 kms away from the main building. It was a good experience barbecuing (had to pay extra for the wood and firelighters) our supper. We enjoyed the overall and different experience."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A good lodge in a remote area"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2012
"A very good, remote lodge in an area of stark beauty. We had an excellent guided half day trip to the desert dunes."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Lodge

Lagoon Lodge

"A colourful guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2012
"This is a colourful guesthouse - yellow and blue exterior. The French owners are equally colourful but also friendly and helpful. Even our bedroom was colourful - a strong pink. However, the location on the front of the lagoon is good, although we found it very noisy on Monday morning because of the lorry traffic at the busy intersection. We were therefore pleased that our stay was over a weekend but frankly we were surprised to have been booked into this guesthouse in the first place. There were only two restaurants in the vicinity - both a 25/30 minutes walk along the coast which was in some ways good, yet challenging on a dark and windy night."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"An excellent half day."

17 Nov 2012 • Morning excursion

We enjoyed our kayaking very much and found Francois to be an excellent, interesting guide.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich Harbour was interesting"

18 Nov 2012 • All-day excursion

Pick up time was delayed twice and then Ernst arrived late. We understood that he had to pick up others in Swakopmund but we did not appreciate how many others there would be. In addition, our first stop was 300 metres down the road to see the flamingoes (we had just been walking down there earlier that same morning) and to visit the toilets !

By the time we then left, it was at least 10.30 a.m. - two hours later than our original pick up time. The visit to the former Sandwich Harbour was very good. However, lunch was late and on a sand dune swept by the wind - why could we not have been down by the water out of the wind ?

Our guide, Ernst had gone to ask about some fresh fish from the fishermen. So sadly, it was disappointing. Is it wise to mix guests from Swakopmund and those from Walvis Bay who have already seen the flamingoes - all the time.
Poor
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"A good lodge amongst huge boulders"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2012
"A good and interesting lodge built amongst the boulders.

We were warned on arriving that ours was the only tent which had not been renovated but it was fine for one night. We had a lovely view from the outside seating area. Our visit to the cave paintings was good and our early morning guided walk was good too."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"A wild reservation in a remote area"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2012
"A very authentic camp with the tents placed within a bomba. We were the only guests at the time and enjoyed our numerous walks and conversations with Bruno Hebe, the owner who is a most interesting guide.

The amenities were very basic - much like living in the bush - but a wonderful experience. Walking was the only activity."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A very good lodge"

2 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2012
"We were very fortunate as we think we were upgraded to their bush suite, because of a big party staying at the main lodge, which was fantastic.

The bush suite was a 3 minute drive from the main lodge and the other chalets. We enjoyed some very interesting guided drives to see leopold and cheetah. An excellent stay."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A good small boutique hotel"

1 night Arrived 25 Nov 2012
"Two very pleasant overnight stays at this friendly and well run boutique hotel."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

"A great safari"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2012
"We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day flying safari with Andre Schoeman - an excellent guide with great flying and driving skills.

We were also very fortunate in getting on very well with our fellow travellers, another English couple. We stayed overnight in tented accommodation at three different locations each with their own speciality."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"A good boutique hotel"

1 night Arrived 29 Nov 2012
"As previously

[ Ed: See their review, below. ]"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team