This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Leeds

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

Sad to leave

Namibia between 27 Oct 2010 and 14 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall it far exceeded my expectations. The Namibian people were extremely friendly and we found consistently high standards of rooms, service and food.

If there was a downside it was that perhaps on a few days we ended up having to drive for longer than was comfortable. However, I knew it was an ambitious programme which was necesary in order to see and do everything that we could. If there is any blame attached to this, it rests solely with me.

I would not hesitate in suggesting Namibia as a self drive destination - although a high clearance vehicle is almost compulsory in some parts.

Many thanks to you all for making it happen."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Upington

"Stopover in Upington"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"This night was booked independently."
Average
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Wacky Races"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"This was a great place to unwind. The staff were attentive without being overpowering, the food was great.

It was a wacky start to the holiday, amongst all the old cars."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"'Da Rock'"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2010
"We are very pleased that we took your advice and spent a night at the Eagles Nest. We were in a cabin named the Rock, which seemed to me to have the best position of all the cabins - not overlooked by anyone else and had an elevated position to watch the sun go down and the game meander across the grassland.

A magical evening, with the Braai pack option, a bottle of wine and a private verandah!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2010
"It was a great place, but after the isolation of the Eagles Nest, seemed very busy. The food was excellent and the facilities very good.

I cannot think of any downside, other than it wasn't the Eagles Nest!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia was a hoot"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2010
"I was more than happy to stay here. The owner and staff couldn't do enough, from the cold towel and welcome drink on arrival, to making sure we always had a full glass of something to quench a thirst. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone who likes privacy and an optional outside shower.

The location was perfect for visiting the dunes. If you get the chance, stay in rooms 1 or 12 - they are furthest from the lodge and very quiet."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Stiltz

The Stiltz

"Up on stiltz"

2 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2010
"We thought we were booked in room 6, 7or 8, but ended up in one of the 2 villas. It had 2 levels and 3 bedrooms as well as loads of space to lounge around in. As a result, we were more than happy with the change.

We walked from here into town - it took about 10 minutes but seemed quite safe even in the dark. The breakfast was fairly standard but taken in very pleasant surroundings.

These travellers arranged a kayaking trip with Expert Africa, about which they commented:

Sea and seals - excellent

Despite the original vehicle breaking down, the experience overall was great. This was our first try at kayaking, you really do get in close amongst the wildlife.

The leader obviously knew her stuff and as it was a small group - 6 of us - was able to spend time with each couple explaining what was happening with regard to the colonies of animals we encountered.

This trip is excellent value for money and well worth undertaking."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Sea and seals"

4 Nov 2010 • Morning excursion

Despite the original vehicle breaking down, the experiecne overall was great. This was our first try at kayaking, you really do get in close amongst the wildlife. The leader obviously knew her stuff and as it was a small group - 6 of us - was able to spend time with each couple explaining what was happening with regard to the colonies of animals we encountered.

This trip is excellent value for money and well worth undertaking.
Excellent
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Lost in the sands of time"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2010
"I know that this was a lodge that I fancied as a stopover to break up the trip to Palmwag. With hindsight I think I would have pushed on a bit further, given that the lodge was, I believe, some 27kms from the main road.

The cabin was basic - no glass in some of the windows for example. This was not a problem until the wind got up and allowed loads of sand into the room.

In addition, the cabins were some distance from the main lodge and quite spaced out in what appeared to be no logical pattern. As a result, when returning to the cabin after the evening meal, we very quickly got lost in the dark and ended up stuck in some soft sand. Fotunately some people in 4x4's were camping out nearby and came to our rescue.

Mealtime was chaos - there seemed to be insufficient tables etc for all the guests and as there was a coach party staying who wanted to sit with certain friends, it ended up like a game of musical chairs. The service was patchy - the staff seemed more interested in supplying alcohol than in getting the food from the kitchen. As a result, those of us that were furthest way from the kitchen had to wait a long time as staff were diverted to go and fetch drink orders that they received whilst serving diners."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Trunk call?"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"Although this was not the best establishment we stayed at, being fairly old, it provided a memory that will last with Sandra and myself forever. Just before turning in for the night we were visited by an old bull elephant which proceeded to spend two and a half hours eating the vegetation outside our cabin. To have such a massive beast some 3-4 feet from our door was both scary and exciting at the same time. He was not in the least bit bothered and showed no signs of aggression. We just watched whilst he ate.

The food was very good, the staff attentive and the guide on the walk was knowledgable. Overall it was a fantastic 2 nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

"Good game"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2010
"This place had obviously had some recent renovation. The overall impression was of good service (although the bar orders took a long time) and excellent food. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, which had been well thought out.

The location was great for getting to the park gate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"A welcome restover after a long day in Etosha. Another very good establishment which does exactly what it says on the tin."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Scaling the heights"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"This place was the only one we stayed at that was run by NWR. There was a marked diference in the attitude of the staff. They were pleasant enough, but took their time dealing with diners for example, and tended to disappear completely or stand around chatting in groups.

The rooms were very good and spacious, but not entirely baboon proof, as they have seemingly learned to unlatch the outer door, which they did whilst Sandra and me were admiring a thunderstorm in the distance. As a result one got in and munched through some snacks that we had.

The food menu in the restaurant was uninspiring, although what they offered was well cooked and presented.

The evening game drive was a little disappointing as it was nearly an hours drive to the plateau, and the vegetation etc meant that game spotting was difficult. We did visit a couple of waterholes and did get to see a white rhino. Overall the knowledge of the guide/driver outweighed the relatively high cost (N$450 each). I know that Chris' guide book covers some or all of these points.

We did hike up the mountain trail and it was well worth the effort."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Die Dam

"Die Dam"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"This was an odd place. When we arrived at 3.00pm, the only person about was someone who described himself as 'night security'. It seems that neither the regular staff or owners were resident on the premises, and would not be available until 6.00pm, when the restaurant opened. They had however, left a key so we could gain access to the room.

Although it's location sounds quite idyllic - on the skirt of a dam - the reality is that it is very close to the trans-Kalahari bypass and subject to the sound of trucks struggling up the incline, out of town to the west.

Because there was no-one about, we ended up in Gobabis town in the evening and visited a bar where we eventually ate, so I cannot comment on the restaurant food. Die Dam does not open for breakfast on Sundays, so we had to settle for a pre-packed meal to take with us.

Overall, although the rooms were comfortable etc, it was a disappointing experience. It was also over an hour drive from the border with Botswana. All in all, I would have preferred to stay somewhere else that was quieter and better placed with regard to the journey through Botswana"
Average
Location
Poor
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team