This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn

Reviews of Desert Horse Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Horse Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Horse Inn.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

71% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 41-49 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Ms J & Mr R
Bath

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2009
"Unfortunately we couldn't get a room at Eagles Nest so we stayed at the Desert Horse Inn. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent.

We didn't particularly rate Luderitz but we loved our trip to Kolmanskop, the old diamond mining town - well worth a visit but it's worth noting that it closes at lunchtime." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hampshire

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2009
"The original rooms we stayed in were lovely as was the patio area. Only drawback for someone with disabilities was the stone stairway to the rooms had no handrail.

In this respect the chalets were more accessible (I appreciate these were more expensive) as the stairs to the reception/dining room had handrails." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs P
UK

"Another favourite."

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2009
"Location for Luderitz/Kolmanskop/feral horses very good.

Piet helpful knowledgable and amusing.

Proposed pool a distinct benefit." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2008
"Enjoyed our stay but perhaps the least spectacular of the locations visited on our trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Wattled Starling
UK

"Great, varied walks in wonderful location"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"Campsite - One member of staff was very unwelcoming when I arrived and remained unfriendly but other staff really lovely. Beautiful location for walking and of campsite. Loud pop music played in bar early evening, which seemed more of the staff need than the visitors. This seemed out of place, especially when people seemed to want to enjoy the sunset peacefully. Varied lengths of walking trails through different mountain terrain. Stunning views. Feral horses nearby a must visit on your own - wonderful." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
The Dassies
Cumbria

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jun 2008
"The Desert Horse Inn provided perfectly adequate acommodation for our third night in Aus.

The staff here were very hepful." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs H
IOW

"Outstanding location in Eagles Nest bungalows"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2007
"We had Desert Vista, tucked under the edge of the mountain at the far end of the access track. Worth the extra 7 km drive from the main buildings to the Eagles Nest.

Peace and quiet with ouitstanding views. We did one of the self guided walks that was quite exciting. The evening meals were very good and the optional breakfast pack enabled us to prepare our own breakfast and thus avoid the drive down. Visiting the Desert Horses was well worth while.

Visiting the village of Aus and its visitors centre is well woth while." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Bristol

"Desert views at Eagles Nest."

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2007
"Boulders Chalet incredible. We spent the afternoon looking at the fabulous view.

Shuttle bus to Desert Horse Lodge (7 kms away) would have been much appreciated. We actually did get a lift from somebody else also travelling with Expert Africa!

Great to see the desert horses on our way to Luderitz the next day." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr DS
Surrey

"Two days would have been enough!"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2007
"It was very cold, we had not been warned about the temp and winds! We'd only brought clothes with us suitable for a chilly English summer evening. No heating in the rooms and hot water in short supply. Went to bed with hot water bottle!

Also we tried 2 of the advertised trails and both times the signposts were inadequate. This could potentially be serious if caught on the mountain after sunset. Would be happy to talk about this." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Showing 41-49 of 49
89%
49 reviews of Desert Horse Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (84 reviews)
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (61 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa