This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Mrs P from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

0

Enjoyable trip

Namibia between 3 Jan 2012 and 27 Jan 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia is a beautiful country and we recommend a trip there!

We love the vastness and openess of the place and the scenery can be breathtaking at times Take a trip up any riverbed and in particular the Swakop River and sit back and be prepared to be blown away by mother nature. Even driving along some of its awful roads is great fun (you must have the right vehicle though!) but the tarred roads we found to be in very good conditon with very little traffic. Put on a CD and enjoy the drive!! You never know what you will see along the way!

Namibia is very expensive though, a complaint made by nearly every other tourist we chatted to and even the localsfeel that we tourists are ripped off with very high charges. It is something the Namibian Tourist Board needs to seriously look at. Not everyone who would love to go there is wealthy!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No further suggestions - we would be very happy to use Expert Africa yet again"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2012
"Twyfelfontein Lodge is set in a magnificent setting and was the biggest and oldest lodge that we have visited. This is reflected in the rooms which were clean but very dated and could do with an upgrade.

I had reason to complain to the management becuase the towels in our room were never completely dry and as a consequence were smelly. Management seemed to take my comments onboard and I hope the laundry respond for future guests.

Our game drive to see the river adapted elephants was very successful and even involved us rescuing two men and their vehicle who had been stuck in the river bed for over 3 hours! They were very happy to see us looming towards them in the dusk!

I would suggest that one night at this lodge is sufficient as the Organ Pipes and Black Mountain are a bit of a damp squid! The Rock engravings are certainly worth a visit though. The evening buffet could also get a bit repetative!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

"Vingerklip Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2012
"This is a fantastic lodge and we loved our two night stay. The setting is lovely and the lodge itself one of the nicest that we have stayed in in Namibia. We have full praise for the friendly staff, lovely food and wonderful swimming pools. A great place to go for two or three nights and just enjoy the wonderful scenery and facilities.

We walked to the top of the escarpment early one morning and were welcomed with a tray of filter coffee for our effort! The chef was still up there as the night before the Eagles Nest restaurant was open for dinner. Another wonderful experience. We highly recommend this lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Rustig Toko Lodge

"Rustig Toko Lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2012
"This is a old fashioned lodge but very clean and pleasant. The lady who runs it was very pleasant and friendly.

We stayed one night and just read our books on the stoep and listened to the raucous birds."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2012
"We were upgraded to the Bush Camp because they were refurbishing the main camp which was rather nice! The food at this lodge was superb, cooked with a delicate touch. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our two game drives, especially the drive tracking the leopard in the late afternoon after a deluge of rain!

We thought the wine was very expensive and the game drives quite pricey although we accept that some of the money is used in their fine efforts in conservancy, which are highly laudable.

A very happy experience and we met and chatted to our fellow guests in a very convivial atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Farmstead

Elegant Farmstead

"Elegant Farmstead review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2012
"This was our last lodge and is mainly used as a last stopover or the first! What a pleasant surprise! It is very well run and has a lovely modern feel to it, without losing the charm of the old farmstead. It was not busy when we were there but we received excellent service and even got to meet the owner who was just dashing back to Windhoek and his other lodge there.

The pool area was lovely and we enjoyed a pleasant drink at the bar in the evening with some locals who had popped in for a beer or two! Dinner was served on the wooden deck which was a lovely idea but a bit cool for us and rather dark but the food more than made up for dark and chill of the night. The stars that night were magnificent and a joy to look at!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and congrsatulate the owners on a very nice lodge."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Most enjoyable.

Namibia between 11 Dec 2008 and 29 Jan 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"All accommodation more than acceptable.
Expert Africa reputation held in high regard concerning honesty/arrangements etc.

Overall standard of food excellent but portion sizes greater than European norm, e.g. Ploughmans at Grootberg Lodge had excess meat.
Also cold puddings more acceptable than hot 'solid' puddings.

Suggestions for improvements:

No! We have been more than satisfied with service provided."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Friendly reception."

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2008
"Building work on new adjacent house made sitting on balcony unpleasant.

Would have preferred Hotel Thule."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Set high benchmark."

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2008
"Excellent management and facilities.

Staff unfailingly friendly and food first class."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

"Beautiful setting."

2 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2008
"Can confirm approach road long and arduous for a small car.

Situation of hot water spring idyllic (sic)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Aspect magnificent."

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2008
"Of all lodges we thought this was the least professionally run."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Favourite destination."

2 nights Arrived 19 Dec 2008
"Standards generally very high.

Excursion costs exhorbitant.

Open air sleeping a delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Innovative lodge."

2 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2008
"Pleasure spoilt by troublesome midges.

Limited lounge facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

South Africa with family

"review"

21 nights Arrived 23 Dec 2008
"Cape Town weather excellent for a change!"
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Windy and hot."

2 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2009
"Personable staff.

One night would have been sufficient."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Another favourite."

2 nights Arrived 15 Jan 2009
"Location for Luderitz/Kolmanskop/feral horses very good.

Piet helpful knowledgable and amusing.

Proposed pool a distinct benefit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"Unexpected delight."

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2009
"Friendly and delightful young owners.

Farm drive most interesting and informative."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Even hotter."

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2009
"Very helpful in overcoming tyre problem.

Management and staff of a high standard.
We believe patio furniture problems being addressed.

Room fans need augmentation.
Even staff suffer from heat.

Again tour costs overpriced."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Friendly lodge."

2 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2009
"Communal dinner on stoep with owners and guests a delightful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Meerkat delight."

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2009
"Attentive owners.

Service of the highest order and thoughtful.

Unique rooms with stunning views much enjoyed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

with Family in Swakopmund

"review"

5 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2009
"Private."
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team