This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn
Desert Horse Inn

Reviews of Desert Horse Inn

Wildlife sightings and reviews

49 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Desert Horse Inn and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Desert Horse Inn.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Oryx

71% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 49
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Great place"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2018
"Once again wonderful setting with excellent accommodation in very Moroccon style lodges/chalets.

Lovely outdoor dining area on a balcony around the main building. Food was very good, service friendly, eager to please & welcoming.

The wild horses were worth a visit but sad to see them in such a poor state & learn how man is interfering with nature." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2017
"Used as a brief overnight stop en route north from Fish River - pity as we could easily have stayed longer.

Good walks available." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
raedrian
Canada

"Great stay at the Desert Horse Inn"

1 night Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"We stayed here just one night so as to see the feral horses in the area. The facilities and rooms (very roomy) were great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate supper in town so could not rate it but the breakfast was excellent.

We were a little late in arriving so did not see the horses at the nearby waterhole but by getting there early the next morning, we were rewarded by a beautiful sunrise and seeing the horses (6) saunter over from afar to drink at the waterhole, followed by a lone Oryx bull.

As elsewhere in Namibia, the scenery was outstanding." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Northamptonshire

"Desert Horse Inn review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2016
"This accommodation was above our expectation and food was excellent." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M
Margate

"Very homely with a lot of thoughtful touches"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"After the remoteness of Fish River, it was great to arrive at Desert Horse Inn - it had a very homely feel and the room had a few thoughtful touches like a hot water bottle and blankets in case it got chilly.

The restaurant and bar area were lovely - we didn't eat dinner there as we were full from lunch although the barman did suggest a cheese platter which went down a treat - breakfast was lovely with lots of home made treats" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms V & Mr C
Belgium

"Relaxed camping at Desert Horse Inn"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2016
"We camped at Desert Horse Inn for 2 nights. On our arrival, we missed the entrance to the campsite. There are no signs for Desert Horse Inn at the side of the road, but there are for Klein Aus Vista and that is where you need to be. This was indicated in our travel information, but we noticed it a bit late.

However, this gave us the chance to visit the Garub waterhole immediately. The campsite itself is nicely located at the side of a few mountains. All facilities are good, the main building and reception area are at Klein Aus Vista which is 2km from the campsite." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Friendly, homely place to stay"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"A very comfortable place to stay with individual chalet rooms well spread out, with a number of local walks with good views.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the meals were excellent. One of the owner brothers came around each table at dinner and gave us some great insights into the lodge, the hstory of the area and the Namibian climate.

A walk in the evening gave great views at sundown even if we did lose the route on the return so walked further than planned!

We only saw a few of the desert horses in the area and not close enough for photos. The drive to Luderitz is amazing with the barren Karoo desert, including sandstorms closer to Luderitz, albeit not sufficient to impact driving on the tarred road.

We had two lunches at the Bahnhof Hotel in Aus coming and going. It is a friendly and efficient spot with a surprising good and broad menu and worth a stop in the town." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
NSW

"Fantastic private cabins"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2016
"Great cabins and good meals.

Actually spotted a few wild horses." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Staffs

"A truly wonderful place to stop over."

1 night Arrived 14 May 2016
"The location is fantastic, with incredible scenery and really well worth a visit.

The afternoon tour with drinks and game drive was a marvellous experience. This site is worthy of a two night stop over. One night is really not enough to take in all the tours and attractions the site has to offer.

The buffet meals really exceeded our expectations as was by far the best to date." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
UK

"Eagles nest"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"we upgraded to Eagles Nest - 6 or 7 chalets about 7km from the main lodge. Lovely room with amazing views.

Supper on the first night was not good, and we thought rather expensive compared to other meals we ate in Namibia, because we felt we were a captive audience. So on the next night we went to Aus for supper - the Bahnhof hotel, wonderful meal great service - we loved it!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Showing 11-20 of 49
89%
49 reviews of Desert Horse Inn by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
20
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Luderitz

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

The rustic chalets at Eagle's Nest on the Klein-Aus Vista reserve make a scenic base for hiking in the mountains, or just to enjoy the solitude.


95% (84 reviews)
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

With ocean views from all its rooms, the Nest Hotel is perfectly placed to appreciate the best of Lüderitz.


79% (61 reviews)
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

Island Cottage offers simple but comfortable self-catering apartments in an attractive if desolate location overlooking Lüderitz Harbour.


90% (6 reviews)
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose offers comfortable self-catering units in the heart of Lüderitz and a good base to explore the many attractions in and around the area.


87% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa