This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M from Wakefield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Fabulous road trip

Namibia between 15 May 2018 and 1 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The whole trip was excellent and that was down to your professional expertise and efficiency. I must say you have been one of the best companies I have ever dealt with and it has been a thoroughly enjoyable experience..

Top marks to Josh for his overall efficiency and very engaging personality. It was always a pleasure chatting to him and nothing was too much trouble.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

To be honest I'm finding it difficult to suggest anything and that is because everything was perfect. The service we received from yourselves was exceptional and I say this as someone (not trying to sound big headed) who has travelled a lot since I began in 1973 ! Just keep up the good work. I'll be back !

Just one small point. I don't know what is happening with the proposed newsletter which I signed up for but I would recommend that you get it up and running as a priority. I think this is an ideal way of keeping past customers informed and a very effective way of getting new ones."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Quality stopover"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2018
"Very comfortable stay and well appointed room. I was particularly impressed with the quality and choice available at breakfast.

Great location especially for Joe's Beerhouse !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Room with a wonderful view"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2018
"We were in Dune Chalet 3 which had a fabulous view over the waterhole. We only stayed one night but had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

I'm glad we had a 4WD car otherwise we would have struggled with the sandy parking area near the chalet.

The D road that accesses the property was one of the most challenging we encountered on our whole trip."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Amazing location"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Fabulous location on the rim of the Canyon and well worth the long and challenging drive.

The day trip down in to the Canyon with Engelbrecht was one of the outstanding highlights of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Great location and food"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2018
"We had a well appointed and spacious room with a great view. Good bar with wide choice of beers.

The food in the restaurant was the best we had on the whole trip and the price of the wine the best value for the quality as well.

Very well placed for visiting Kolmanskop and Luderitz."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead Outpost

Desert Homestead Outpost

"Tranquil location"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2018
"A beautiful property but the location was a bit too far from Sossusvlei for my taste. It was a very long drive to get to the dunes.

We were in Chalet 8. The view was great but it had limited clothes storage facilities and was quite a walk from the main building.

Breakfast was good but the service was slow and on the second morning was a bit slapdash. For example the woman who opened up (slightly late) for breakfast didn't say anything, she didn't leave any milk with the cereals and I had to plug in the toaster myself. Small points I know but telling ones for the quality of accommodation it promotes itself as being."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Quality accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2018
"A great couple of nights here in Swakopmund. We had rather surprisingly a spacious apartment that was very well appointed.

Great service from all the staff especially Robyn and Peter.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Relaxing stopover"

1 night Arrived 26 May 2018
"We stayed here to break the journey between Swakopmund and Mowani but principally to visit the seal colony which is amazing.

Well appointed and spacious room with a great view of the Atlantic ocean.

The communal areas were quite cold during the evening."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"A real highlight"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2018
"We had a fantastic chalet that was very well designed. The lack of air con wasn't a problem given the time of year we visited but I would have been more concerned if it had been any hotter.

The sundowner bar was a huge plus and we really enjoyed it both nights. Dinner/breakfast service was a bit erratic at times but overall very good. The elephant safari was excellent and our guide willy was outstanding.

The absence of internet access/wi fi is a big issue and a negative. Every other property (no matter how remote) we visited had it. Several other people we spoke to shared our concerns about this. It really does need addressing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Too short a stay !"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2018
"Despite only being one night this was one of my favourite places. We could stay only one night due to difficulties with our return flights. However, it was well worth it.

On arrival we wee upgraded to a View room which was massive and very well appointed. Indeed the view was excellent and we could watch loads of wildlife from our terrace.

The visit to the on site AfriCat Foundation Conservation Centre was a highlight.

Highly recommend overall."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Nice B&B"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2018
"Great location in a quiet cul de sac. Room was a little tired and dark.

The personalised breakfast on the balcony was a nice touch.

Was good for a one night stopover prior to flying home but I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team