This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Cambridge

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2019 trip

Zambia between 15 Aug 2019 and 28 Aug 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent trip with fantastic wildlife sightings at all camps. All the camps we stayed at were small, which afforded a very personal experience and the sole focus was on maximising opportunities to see wildlife in its natural setting.

The standard of guiding was consistently high.

Food was great and the camp cooks were innovative in the way they catered for vegetarians (it was not all mushroom risotto!)

All staff were very happy to interact with guests and share their own experiences and knowledge of the bush and of life in modern Zambia."

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2019
"A friendly, welcoming camp easily accessible from the airport (should you have a later flight) - being just outside the park is not a drawback. The short boat ride across the river afforded additional photo opportunities.

Obi was an excellent guide and a fount of knowledge who helped us see so much."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"An intimate camp in a great location directly overlooking the river. The hippos were a constant delight.

The walk from here to Tena Tena is a great introduction to a walking safari and Sebastian was a great guide - very experienced and knowledgeable, setting just the right pace.

The wild dog sightings were an added bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2019
"Slightly more setback from the river than the other camps we stayed in.

Great guiding from John - the highlight was seeing a lion stand-off against a herd of buffalo."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro"

4 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2019
"Lovely camp. We were in room 3 which has the benefit of a view over the river and the lagoon - siesta time was spent watching an ever changing wildlife panorama from the veranda.

Juliet and James were very friendly, welcoming hosts and all the guides were excellent.

We had some fantastic leopard sightings here but will always have a memory of the elephants ambling through the camp and stopping to browse or have a good scratch on the trees.

The bathtubs are a great added luxury."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Avani Victoria Falls review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2019
"A large hotel. Being the low season, not all restaurant options were available so choice vegetarians was limited.

However, the location is excellent for Victoria Falls - if your aim is to visit the falls it is the best place to stay as it is straightforward to walk to both the Zambian and the Zimbabwean side of the falls from this hotel."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

3 weeks in Namibia

Namibia between 19 Oct 2017 and 7 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A fantastic trip!

It took a while to organise everything but Tom was ever helpful in suggesting alternatives and doing his utmost to include everything we asked for.

Would we do it again - you bet!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2017
"Lovely little guest house. Staff very obliging. Chef happy to make something for us (we are vegetarian)."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2017
"Nice place to stay in Swakopmund - although a bit far to walk to the downtown area.

Quirky owner who is happy to chat and help in any way possible."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"What a great place! So peaceful and such friendly helpful staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2017
"We were a bit concerned about including this in our itinerary - no need to have worried!

The camp is lovely - you really do get away from it all (although there is wifi access if you really feel the need to catch up on the outside world).

Owner is very friendly and ensures everyone has a good time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"OK, so this is a big camp in a National Park but don't let that stop you staying here. The wildlife viewing is superb.

Food was fine - chef even concocted something just for us one evening (we are vegetarian)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2017
"A smaller camp in the NP - good central place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2017
"Amazing rooms - although coming here from Etosha (where we stayed in the NP itself not at a private lodge) it was a bit overwhelming.

Great game drives - the driver certainly pushed the vehicle to its limits.

And an opportunity to get right up close to cheetah. Sadly we saw no leopards."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"Used as a brief overnight stop en route south to Fish River - pity as we could easily have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Lodge

Canyon Lodge

"Canyon Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"Nice lodge - very convenient for Fish River Canyon.

It is a long drive south to get here but well worth it for a peaceful uncrowded visit to this beautiful awe-inspiring canyon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Desert Horse Inn review"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2017
"Used as a brief overnight stop en route north from Fish River - pity as we could easily have stayed longer.

Good walks available."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2017
"A bit of a drive from the Namib-Naukluft NP. We chose to take a organised drive from the camp to the N Park - good decision. Our guide was excellent and enabled us to have a much better more0informative experience than we would have had driving ourselves.

We had our only puncture of the trip within a mile or so of this camp - the staff could not have been more helpful in helping us get this fixed - many thanks for excellent customer service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2017
"Our last stop - back where we started.

Friendly welcoming staff."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team