This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Miss M from Margate

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Trip of a lifetime -hopefully to be repeated!

Namibia between 8 Oct 2016 and 23 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an amazing trip, there's no two ways about it - the knowledge of the Expert Africa team (Liz) was invaluable as having never visited there before (and not knowing anyone that had), we'd probably have got stuck on the planning side.

The itinerary was fantastic and enabled us to fit in everything that we had said we wanted to - the map and route planning incredibly useful and accurate. Plus everywhere we stayed was nigh on perfect - the organisation was faultless and made the whole experience very simple for us!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


River Crossing

River Crossing

"A brief but convenient stay near the airport"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"We only spent one night here on arrival in Namibia - it's location made it a perfect place as it's only a short drive from the airport - the room was beautiful and the setting very peaceful.

Breakfast was great the following morning and then unfortunately we had to head off to our next location"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Beautiful place"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Beautiful room, amazing food, great service - we did a sundowner trip which was stunning and had the added bonus of Skundy the pet Sprinbok, a pool visit by some goats and meerkats constantly scurrying around."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Canyon Village

Canyon Village

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2016
"Very much off the beaten track but a beautiful location with a gorgeous swimming pool. Rooms more basic, but still very comfortable and clean.

Staff very helpful, particularly the manageress - a great location for visiting Fish River Canyon itself"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert Horse Inn

Desert Horse Inn

"Very homely with a lot of thoughtful touches"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2016
"After the remoteness of Fish River, it was great to arrive at Desert Horse Inn - it had a very homely feel and the room had a few thoughtful touches like a hot water bottle and blankets in case it got chilly.

The restaurant and bar area were lovely - we didn't eat dinner there as we were full from lunch although the barman did suggest a cheese platter which went down a treat - breakfast was lovely with lots of home made treats"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Stunning location, convenient for visiting the desert - very peaceful and relaxing although plenty of activities on offer - very personable host and lovely staff - beautiful rooms with amazing outdoor showers"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"Although a little more basic that the places we'd stayed at previously, Sam was very welcoming and knowledgeable - he was always on hand to answer questions or sit and have a chat - the room itself was clean and very comfortable.

Also a great location to walk into central Swakopmund for dinner etc. And he has the biggest dog I've ever seen..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"A real haven away from it all in a stunning part of Namibia - the welcome was amazing, our room huge - I took advantage of the opportunity to sleep outside!

The restaurant and bar area were so cosy and the staff really couldn't do enough for you. We did visit to the Living Museum which was very interesting and our guide Boetie was very friendly, interesting and knowledgeable. The pool was a welcome retreat from a long drive!

You're really made to feel like part of a family here"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"The major plus point to Okaukuejo has to be the water hole - to be able to walk out of dinner and two mins away you're sitting watching elephants, giraffes and rhino at a water hole is priceless - the room was comfy, however the restaurant side of things was a little hectic.

The only downside though really were the staff who weren't as pleasant as we'd got used to - some could be a little abrupt, but then I guess they're dealing with much larger numbers than other places we'd stayed at"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Living the dream..."

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2016
"This was probably my favourite of the places we stayed for a variety of reasons - the setting with it's stunning interiors overlooking a waterhole which provided constant entertainment.

The restaurant and food also overlooking the waterhole was perfect with amazing service and fantastic food. The pool. Our room was so comfy with little extras like a bottle of water at night. But most of all the staff - so friendly and attentive - I felt so relaxed and happy here.

We also did an evening drive and saw plenty of animals which made it a fantastic all rounder - I'd happily go back here and spend a week or longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"As much as I loved Onguma, our accommodation at Okonjima was out of this world - we had a separate open air living room and in our bedroom the windows opened right out and we were within inches of visiting warthogs and guinea fowl - at night you could lie in bed and watch various animals wander past - the room was so well equipped with everything thought of, it was heaven and I wish we'd stayed here longer.

We had lunch and breakfast here which were fantastic, however, I skipped dinner as I was ill, but they very considerately sent my dinner to my room. The staff were very attentive and friendly and there is a well stocked gift shop.

There's plenty of activities on offer here, but a major highlight was the leopard tracking and sundowner drive - we were incredibly fortunate in that we saw two leopards, one very closely with her cub - even our guide said he'd only seen one of these leopards twice in four years so he was also over the moon."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team