This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T & Ms J from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

My Sep 2008 trip

Namibia between 10 Sep 2008 and 25 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The holiday lived up all our expectations of the desert and was enhanced by the animal sightings. Our experience was hugely added to by the efficiency of service but above all by the friendliness of everyone we met. What a joy to see smiling faces and genuine welcomes.

We were impressed by the high standard of accommodation and the care taken to made them fit into the landscape and the privacy afforded to each cabin.

We can't stop without a word about the singing and drumming. What a sound and enthusiasm from all the staff ( we wondered if we were going to get fed one night as no one seemed to want to stop.)

A magical holiday.

Suggestions for improvement:

We were very happy with the service you provided. Your company seems to have a good reputation in Namibia both with people we met and with accommodations we stayed in.
PS. Best wishes from Florencia to Sabina."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Canyon Village

Canyon Village

"Canyon Village review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2008
"This camp was a lovely introduction to our trip.

After the excitment of being met by our Sefofane pilot (Nad) at Windhoek and the flight over the desert and seeing the start of The Fish River we were amazed by how attractive the village looked.

First sundowner and trip to the canyon set the scene for the rest of the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Mountain Homestead, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Sossusvlei Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"Wow, what a place. Met with cold wet facetowels and welcoming drinks in such a setting.

The view over the waterhole and the desert from the huge windows in our room was stunning and at night watching the full moon from our bed was some experience.

The staff were so friendly and quickly supplied me with vegetarian lunch. Joining in with the dancing was great fun too. Our guide was so knowledgable which suited this bird lover and he explained the geology of the area (which was obviously his first love) in a way that added to our whole experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden Guesthouse

"Secret Garden Guesthouse review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2008
"We arrived a bit early which caused some confusion but our room was soon ready.

We felt we had entered a Tardis machine as from the outside the building looked quite small but inside the garden with the rooms around it was most attractive and our little apartment up stairs was lovely. It was good to have secure parking off the street.

We were happy with the central location which made visiting the various attractions suggested by the landlady, shopping and eating out at night easy. Thanks to Jeanne our kayaking guide for sending on the photos. Great fun playing with the seals don't know who was enjoying it most, seals or paddlers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich Harbour"

16 Sep 2008 • All-day excursion

A long day but exciting particularly with the sea being so high but at least we didn't have to dig as others had done before us.
Guide ,Wayne, was an interesting character with a wide knowledge on environmental issues within Namibia including some controversial beliefs which made for interesting debate.

Lunch in the sand was lovely with the veggie catered for.
Good
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Sea Kayaking with seal at Pelican Point"

17 Sep 2008 • Morning excursion

Just us with Jeanne. What fun for us and it seemed for the seals too. Interesting lady who obviously loves what she does and this enthusiasm comes through to her clients.

It would have been worth knowing that she supplies warm clothing, wet shoes, wet glooves, if you want them. We had taken stuff with us which turned out not to be necessary. Also useful to know that she has a choice of double or single kayaks for those less confident paddlers.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"After a long and dusty drive the outside appearance of the building was disconcerting. The cold towel and the welcoming drinks quickly restored equilibrium and made us apprieciate the excellent camouflaging into the hillside.

Huge lavish room with beds that can be pulled onto the veranda - and this is a tent! Birds, desert elephants stargazing. Thanks to all our guides and friendly staff. Florencia, you are in the right job."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"Slightly difficult to find where to check in coming from Outjo. National Park and camp reception staff were rather austere in contrast to other places.

Other staff were fine. Rooms were slightly small but the waterhole provided great interest and while we were there was very little people noise."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2008
"Arrived to find that our booking had been cancelled ( this had happened to another couple we had met at Okaukeujo also with Wilderness Safari). Luckily they could give us a room suitable for disabled which although adequate did not have the same facilities as the Bush Chalet we had paid for.

Neither Wilderness Safari or Halali took responsibility for the error and no recompense /explaination was offered or made. Also disappointed that no alternative meal was available for vegetarians on the BBQ night, just the salads that everyone else had.

Great waterhole, good morning drive with a nice guide. Thanks for the cosy ponchos.

However we had a great time at Halali."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2008
"What a place most beautiful rooms and public areas. Welcoming and efficient staff. Beautifully presented meals with veggie option.

Not so sure about animals from other areas there, perhaps this is influenced by having just come from Etosha. We used this stop as a rest time and did very little other than a swim. Nice pool. A great place to chill out."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"How many more wows can you have on a holiday! Entering the main reception area was breathtaking. Lovely welcome with iced tea and our program of activities carefully explained.

We were given the new honeymoon suite rather than the bush room and it was amazing. We arrived mid day so were able to have a lovely light lunch and some rest time before the tea and muffins at 4.00pm followed by our game drive to find leopards. Dinner was followed by time at the night hide with the porcupines and then bed. Early start for tea and fresh muffins before cheetah game drive. Dean ,our guide ,was great and showed us so many birds and explained how Africat ran.

We had time for a filling brunch before leaving for the airport.

We had only one night here and my only criticism would be that you had little time to just enjoy being in this beautiful place . Try to have at least two nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team