This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr R & sons from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Northern Namibia inc lunch at the seaside

Namibia between 5 Aug 2010 and 13 Aug 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very good trip with first class lodges selected by Expert Africa spaced at "do-able" distances. Local knowledge in choosing the overnight stops was much appreciated. The vouchers worked well. All the staff at the lodges were very welcoming, "old fashioned service" perhaps resulting from a slower pace of life.

I prepared a set of detailed route instructions and took a basic handheld GPS that does not have maps. Before leaving UK I matched the paper map with Google Earth for latitude and longitude at road junctions. Preparation was time consuming but worth the effort for peace of mind to ensure we were at the correct junctions and going in the right direction to the next. This was important when road signs only show the road number.

We detoured off the route to Henties Bay for lunch from Uis Mine instead of going directly to Omaruru and Erongo Lodge, and to the dinosaur footprints near Kalkfeld. The road from the dinosaur footprints, D2414, goes through Erindi game reserve - sign in and out at gates, but no charge.

Total distance was planned at 2200 km but we drove a little over 2600 km. Definitely a "must do again" adventure.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I can't think of anything at the moment"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"The Elegant Bed & Breakfast review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2010
"Very good, friendly, clean, good breakfast, secure parking off-street. I liked the fruit in the rooms on arrival.

There is a small poll but I did not use it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Waterberg Camp

Waterberg Camp

"Waterberg Camp review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2010
"Ex turn of the 20th century German police camp halfway up the Waterberg hills. Chalet was 2 double rooms each with en-suite bathroom. Overnight stay did not include entry fee into the park that had to be paid before departure as a separate item.

The lighting from the chalets to the restaurant in the old police station was virtually non-existent so I would recommend driving even though it is not very far. Dinner and breakfast were good, with more than adequate choice of menu.

I recommend the walk up to the top of the Waterberg for sunrise - takes about 1/2 hour. The views are stunning and early in the morning the dassies are also out as were the mongooses on the lawn outside the restaurant

This is a good location to visit the Cheetah Conservation Fund reserve Otjiwarongo, B1 north, turn right on the D2440 (130 km each way).

We did not use the pool."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

"Etosha Gateway review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2010
"Friendly atmosphere, good food.

The chalet was a single room (1*double + 2*single) with shower toilet facility.

Braai dinner on the Saturday night, ordinary self service buffet on the Sunday night, breakfast under cover but with the possibility of eating on the open terrace.

Adequately close to Etosha - about 20 km to Anderson Gate and another 20 km to Okaukuejo)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"Palmwag Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2010
"Now here's a place for the dedicated traveller to arrive at. A palm oasis in the middle of scrub-land accessible past a health checkpoint when coming from the south, The petrol facility (two pumps in the open) is part of Palmwag Lodge. The workshop which is adequate to do puncture repairs is at the lodge itself.

The chalet was two rooms plus shower / toilet facility and a small plunge pool outside.

The restaurant food was good, with an adequate choice of menu for dinner and the possibility to sit out on the restaurant terrace for breakfast. We did not see any animals walking through the lodge grounds that are unfenced, but desert elephants are regular visitors. We took the afternoon game drive (approx 3 hrs inc sundown) that took the road north out of Palmwag.

Although there were 2-wheel drive saloons passing by, if I were to travel that road north I would probably hire a 4wd."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2010
"Located on a koppie with canvas-walled chalets at the base. The chalet was 1*twin bed with pelnty of space round it. "Please catch the cold water before the hot in the bucket - we get 100 mm rain a year and water is precious". This was not a problem.

The patio windows opened and the beds could be rolled out of the chalet onto the terrace for sleeping under the stars. There is an one-lane wide exercise pool - a new experience of swimming under the stars in the open.

This is also a lodge with no fences and animals are free to roam by. The views from the main building on the koppie were spectacular.

The food was very good, with vegetarian option on request - the manager asked on arrival.

Well placed for petrified forest, rock paintings at Twyfelfontein and Organ Pipes rock formation"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2010
"Perched on a koppie with thatched shelters on separate outcrops. Rooms )2*single bed) were tents suspended below the thatched shelters, shower/toilet outside - close the tent to prevent unwanted flying guests.

Dinner was served at a set time (we arrived after dark - not recommended). Good choice of menu cooked by a professional chef served in the restaurant with windows (no glass) looking over more rocks - the porcupines walked by while we were eating.

The activity (a no-cost option) is a nature walk to the top of the hill behind the restaurant - start before sunrise - the flora and fauna were well explained and the view from the top over the scrub land below was stunning. Breakfast was served on our return - again a more than adequate choice of food.

There is a gift shop of local produce plus the obligatory tee-shirt, hat, etc. and a poll that we did not try."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"The Elegant Bed & Breakfast review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2010
"As before on the first night.

Even though the restaurant we selected to eat at was only 300m from the Elegant, the staff advised we drive there. The key fob on the room key operated the gate."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team