This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A & Ms B from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2009 trip

Namibia between 16 Jun 2009 and 3 Jul 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Namibia was enjoyable, although some of the driving distances were long this was more than made up by the fantastic places we visitied.

For the most part the lodges were excellent and all the locals we met really helped to make our holiday special.

The information pack provided by Expert Africa, including leaflets / maps and a guide to the region was really useful and great to have with us."

Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2009
"A great small lodge to start our trip. A very relaxed environment."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Zebra River Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2009
"Zebra River Lodge was one of our favourite lodges on the trip. The view across the valley from our room was fantastic.

All the staff at the lodge were very helpful and created a very welcoming atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2009
"Dessert Homestead was a pleasant place to stay with a magnificent view from every room. The location was convenient for visiting Sossusvlei.

We opted to do the trip to Sossusvlei ourselves as we felt the trip run by the lodge was expensive. Doing the trip ourselves was fine and very easy to do... the shuttle for the last 4x4 5km was regular and worked out well."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2009
"Sam's Giardino was an enjoyable and comfortable place to stay. The environment was relaxed, and Sam was very welcoming. The free internet was a bonus!

On our first night we had the 5 course dinner which we felt was a little over priced for the quality of food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"Grootberg Lodge was our favourite lodge of the trip! The location was magnificent, the staff were very relaxed and friendly and the food was some of the best we had in Namibia. They even provided evening entertainmnet singing namibian songs after dinner.

We opted to do the Elephant Tracking Trip,which was really good, the guides locating elephants from a footprint in the road! We were also able to see some local villages."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2009
"Arriving at Okaukujo was a bit of a shock as the resort is pretty bleak... although this was more than made up by the incredible number of animals at the water hole....

The food at Okaukujo was a buffet which meant you had some choice and was generally ok."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"Halali Rest Camp was a generally disappointing experience. The staff were rude and made us feel very unwelcome.... every time we asked for anything (i.e. a drink in the bar) it was as if we were putting them out..

The evening menu remained the same both nights, and was an excessive amount of meat (Game or Pork) served in a griddle such that all of the accompanying vegetables with bathed in fat...

We paid to do the night drive, and our guide seemed to lose interest within 10 minutes of leaving the lodge, providing little enthusiasm or explanation."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2009
"Erongo Wilderness Lodge was a great place to finish out trip. The staff were really friendly and interesting to talk to about namibia. The food was good with a varied selection both nights.

We opted to not go on a guided walk instead choosing to go on one of the excellently way marked walks offered from the lodge and visiting Omaruru an interesting town about 20minutes drive away.

The tented rooms were a bit cold overnight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team