This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Romsey

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Brilliant 2 week holiday

South Africa between 23 Mar 2018 and 7 Apr 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fanstastic two weeks in South Africa, with about the right amount of time in each place apart from Swelledam. We enjoyed various activities in Cape Town including the botanical gardens, cape point, kayaking at simons town, visiting Stellenbosch, table mountain etc. We had a lovely meal at the Hussar Grill near the hotel aswell. We would have preferred less time in Swellendam but this may not have been helped by the rainy weather we had while there. We really enjoyed Plett which has lots of different activities to do from walking on Robberg Peninsula, visiting various animal parks and Knysna. Despite the great fire less than a year ago everything was up and running, and the views were fantastic. The safari was a great way to end the holiday and the lodge was a lovely bit of luxury to finish the trip."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Nice rooms and good location"

4 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2018
"Vineyard hotel was ideally located for getting out of Cape Town to go to other places. The rooms were nice and large and the pool was lovely. The gardens were well kept and it was nice to see tortoises and different birds roaming around. The breakfast was lovely, and we would highly recommend the eggs benedict. However, we did have trouble eating in the restaurants in the evening - we had tried to book to eat in the bar for evening we arrived but were told we could not book, then we tried to eat there that evening but there were no tables due to a conference having been on during the day. We ate in their main restaurant on that first night and the bar the next, but we were not impressed with either food. Overpriced and got our orders wrong, the food was then not brilliant either. The pool food was good however and so were the milkshakes. Would stay here again but would book to eat out every night."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Schoone Oordt Country House

Schoone Oordt Country House

"Lovely country house"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2018
"Schoone Oordt is a lovely country house that has been beautifully and sympathetically restored. We had a very nice warm welcome with afternoon tea ready for us. The scones were lovely! The rooms were very nice, with lovely bathrooms and toiletries. It was nice to have complimentary water and hot chocolate sachets as well as a selection of different teas. The little note we got on the bed each evening was lovely. However, we did find the mattress hard and hence uncomfortable, but this is personal preference! We also had birds constantly rustling and moving around in the ceiling which kept us awake/woke us up, but we informed the owners when we left and I do believe they will sort this. The weather was not brilliant for our time in swellendam and we struggled for things to do, the pool was cold and swellendam didn’t have loads to offer. We had a brilliant meal at Drostdys and would highly recommend this restuarant. The food at swellendam was ok, the breakfasts were at times a bit out of the ordinary and not exactly what we wanted at that time in the morning. The staff were lovely and very friendly."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Periwinkle Guest Lodge

Periwinkle Guest Lodge

"Lovely seaside guest lodge. "

4 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2018
"Periwinkle was a lovely place to stay. It had fantastic views both from the lounge / breakfast room and the bedrooms. The complimentary water and the hot chocolate sachets as well as tea and coffee in the rooms were lovely. The rooms were nice and large, however there were a few little things wrong with each room such as tissues having not been replaced, broken towel rail and the floors were not clean. However the management staff were friendly and helpful and it was lovely to get some little Easter eggs from them on Easter Sunday. The massage I had in house was very nice. The breakfast was very nice, lovely selection of food both hot and cold. The pool was also nice and clean and had great views. Periwinkle was in a great location. We had a fantastic time in Plettenberg and Perinwinkle was a good place to stay for this. Despite us feeling the floors in the rooms could have been a bit cleaner we would happily stay here again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Fantastic safari and lodge. "

3 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2018
"Kwandwe Ecca lodge was fantastic. The welcome staff were very friendly and informative of how it would all work. The rooms were lovely and large and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the showers were amazing! The all inclusive drinks included a nice selection. Kwandwe had a very good and organised set up in terms of meal times and game drives. The safari game drives were fantastic. We had two a day and we managed to see lots of animals - too many to list here! Our guide was excellent, we have been on safari before in Nambia and we learnt more than we ever did on any other safari, with our guide Ivan at Ecca. The special and surprise evening of candles in the room, with champagne and an outdoor meal was fantastic and a great night to end our holiday on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Honeymoon July 16

Namibia between 19 Jul 2016 and 1 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"An absolutely amazing trip and honeymoon. We are now so glad that we decided to go on honeymoon to Africa- the people are lovely, and the food is amazing and the lodges made us feel special on our honeymoon.

After having so many concerns and worries, your knowledge and willingness to answer our questions made us feel much more at ease. We got one bad puncture with the car but an african person (tyre garage person!) stopped and changed it for us - so there was nothing to worry about. It was also amazing to learn about the guides lives both at the lodges - their training, their families back home - and the guides who work at government run attractions. We gave a lift to two people who had finished their shift (one at burn mountain, and one at petrified forest) and needed to get back home. Although dubious about this at first, they are genuine people who don't have a car and do hitch a lift - its amazing how much they know about English football (more than us!). The food was also amazing - eating at Joes beerhouse and the Tug in Swakopmund are both places we would go back to, and the wilderness lodges do an amazing job.

I think one highlight was the dunes and hot air balloon, and I really enjoyed seeing the animals, especially getting close to them in Damaraland and the Okonjima.

We now feel that we are ready to go on another African adventure, and with all our stories I think I have persuaded my parents to go on their first next year as well! At least for our next African holiday I won't have to do the initial research of who we go with - I will certainly be getting in touch with you again!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Great one-night stop"

1 night Arrived 20 Jul 2016
"Great place to recuperate from the flight. Luxury room was spacious - and the hot water bottles they made at night were a nice surprise.

Had a lovely meal at Joes Beerhouse which was near - tried all different kind of game and crocodile! They were happy to book a taxi for us. The best breakfast we had in the whole holiday was at Olive Grove.

Didn't appear to be much parking but wasn't a problem for us as we seemed to be the only car there. The pool also didn't seem too appealing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A great friendly dune lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2016
"An excellent friendly lodge in a great location. The manager, Petronella, was very helpful and welcoming.

The dunes activity is well worth booking onto - the guide, Mathew, was very informative, and the landscape is incredible. He even managed to spot a young spotted eagle owl from quite some distance which enabled us to go right underneath it and look at it. This activity also includes a lovely lunch back at the lodge - you cannot fault any of the food at this lodge. The frittas and soups were amazing, along with the warm breads.

The morning we were leaving we went on the hot air balloon (the lodge will book this if you ask them). Well worth doing, and hence well worth staying two nights so you can fit both the dunes and the hot air balloon in. Only small niggle we would say is that the rooms are a little dark even when the lights are on so its hard to see things. However again hot water bottles were very welcome and the lovely honeymoon surprise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"Sam was very willing to help and offer advice, which we found useful. Especially on how much we should be tipping the people looking after our car - about 6 namibian dollars, maybe a bit more if at night. His dog is also very friendly.

The garden looked lovely although we only walked through it once. Unfortunately the room could do with updating. We would have appreciated two glasses/cups in the room, and also a label or some information informing us what product it was in the shower (shampoo/shower gel). In shutting the curtains on the day we arrived the pole fell down and hit me as there was no stopper on the end of it. We also had the end room which did not get wifi signal - but then you are on holiday and who needs the internet! However this was meant to be the honeymoon/kingsize room and it did not feel like one.

However, Sam was very willing to do us breakfast early which I understand not all the B&Bs will. Breakfast was ok. It did however enable us to get to Jeanne Pelican Point Kayaking on time.

The kayaking was absolutely amazing. There were so many seals - it is hard to describe how many there are and what it is like without doing it. But as keen kayakers it was nice to get so close to nature. We managed to touch the seals and play with them with the paddles, and they loved us paddling fast and sideways. Something we won't forget! The buns Jeanne provided where great too, and so was the knowledge she passed on about the birds etc on the drive to and from the kayaking point.

We also did Quad Biking with dare devil adventures. My husband enjoyed this, and it was nice to get right into the dunes and to see them. However, I have previously (not here may I add) suffered a quad biking accident and when I got stuck because I wasn't going fast enough up a dune at the start, the instructor got annoyed with me or got annoyed with the fact he had to come back. We felt the instructors needed to show a bit more compassion - and reminding us to tip them at the end, not something we liked... However he did do a good thing with the black sand and magnet, which made a good photo, and it was nice to get into the dunes. But by the end of 30 minutes my husband felt we were just driving around to fill the time."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Fantastic Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2016
"Wow...what a welcome! It was a nice surprise to be welcomed by a lovely Doro Nawas song - and even for some of the kitchen staff to come out and sing it as well.

We enjoyed the evening meal out in the bush, which we believe they do 3 times a week. No mean feat for the kitchen staff and waiters! We were given hot water bottles to keep us warm, and the food was delicious - especially the soup. All the food was once again very nice, although breakfast on the first morning was a bit haphazard but I think it was due to so many of us being up early for tours. However, the cooked breakfast and cold selection was good once it had all come out. Breakfast on the second day when we had it later was more organised and tasted excellent.

The tour we booked onto to see the desert adapted elephants was very good. It was just the two of us and we got within meters of a family of 4 elephants where we stayed for about 2 hours watching them.

The room was very nice - spacious and light, and the honeymoon surprise was lovely. The bathroom was lovely too, unfortunately it was a bit windy in the afternoons for us to try the outdoor shower. The lodge itself was also very attractive and they made it look lovely at night with a fire and lanterns. The pool didn't look very inviting and we didn't see anyone in it.

On leaving we got another lovely song - it made me feel sad to leave this lodge. Again their English is excellent but also their willingness to show us their Damara Language brings special warmth to this lodge.

Before arriving at the lodge we did the rock engravings and burnt mountain. The rock engravings were good, and some imagination is needed. Although I get the impression different guides give different stories. Burnt mountain for us was not spectacular but maybe we went at the wrong time of day. We also visited the petrified forest after leaving Doro Nawas - my husband especially enjoyed learning how the trees have become fossilized, and they have a nice little craft shop there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Great waterhole but could be so much better!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2016
"Check-in was long and tedious with unfriendly staff, and then couldn't check-in till 2.30 (although we are pretty sure the keys were there waiting for us on the hook).

Room was ok, but shower was not good at all. It clearly needed the head cleaning so more water could come out or a new shower head.

Pool looked good, although we didn't use it there was lots of people that were. They also have a tower you can climb to the top off to see of the Etosha plains which was nice.

The dinner was also overpriced compared to where we had eaten previously and not very good - would recommend if you can have a bbq. We couldn't as we didn't have any bbq equipment. The second night we were the first ones eating as we had booked to go on a night drive, and asked if we would sit outside instead of inside (inside gets very smokey). Our waiter said yes and changed two of the table numbers, and for some reason this caused an argument between some of the staff later on - despite the fact we were gone before anyone else came. It appears they need to have a better, more relaxed system in the restaurant which isn't so strict on where people sit and keeps customers happy! Breakfast was a little better food wise, but again the staff never seemed happy. Tried to eat at the kiosk - was told shuts at 4.30, went at 4.00 and got told not doing anything apart from toast as cleaning down.

Also found it incredible that there is a big water shortage in Namibia and the government camp were using sprinklers to water dead grass. All other camps we were staying at were trying to preserve water,

The night drive was ok, but it was on a big vehicle which was full. We did manage to see baby hyenas and a rhino very close.

One thing I would say is this camp is good for the waterhole. We saw lots of animals here. So unfortunately the camp do have that in there favour and I think they know it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

"A little piece of paradise"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2016
"Fantastic peaceful location - the rooms overlook a beautiful setting.

The food by Erasmus was wonderful. The lunch that we had was simply superb. I could not fault it.

All the staff at the camp were attentive. The morning of the day we arrived a lionness had killed a baby giraffe outside our tree top chalet. She had dragged it away from the lodge, but she was still visible from two of the chalets while she was sleeping. One member of staff had spotted her sleeping and came to fetch us so we could go look at her.

We did the morning bush walk which enabled us to get close to a giraffe and we learnt a lot about termites. We did feel we could have learnt about more varied things on the walk. We also did the sundowner tour which was nice..

The rooms are beautifully done and the outdoor shower worked well. It was nice to eat round a big table with all the other couples at dinner time and get to know them.

A lovely little camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Great place to see cats"

1 night Arrived 31 Jul 2016
"We used this as a stopping point between Etosha and Windhoek and before we flew home. However, we wish we made it more of a destination in its our right and spent longer here than 1 night. 1 night doesn't give you much time to do all the activities they have to offer, or the chance to see the cats because there is a chance that on one of the drives you won't see one.

We got upgraded to a view room - although I have a feeling this was due to some sort of mix up with the booking. We were written in pen at the bottom of the sheet when we arrived at the gate for the reserve, and they were not ready with our check-in sheets when we got to reception unlike everyone else's. The view room we got was also brand new with us being the first in it, and still clearly in the process of having finishing touches being done. However, it was a lovely spacious room and very spacious bathroom with a nice view. We did however, both have to have two cold showers - not sure if this was due to it still being finished off.

The activities were brilliant with an enthusiastic guide who clearly cares for the nature. We got there early enough to go onto the leopard tracking, and we managed to track the first leopard to some deep undergrowth. Unfortunately it was clear that we were not going to spot him so we moved on to try and spot another leopard. All the guides talk to each other, and another guide had spotted a leopard called Shanti, up a tree. So we went to see her. It was incredible to be so close to her while she was up a tree. It was nice to also hear the guide say that sometimes we can't always take photos and its just for looking, when someone was complaining a branch being in the way and could he move the vehicle.

The next morning we got up early to go on the cheetah tracking - this was incredible. We walked with two cheetahs while they were hunting and watch them make a kill. I got the impression it doesn't happen often, and it was something I won't forget!

The food was ok. The cake and tea was nice before the activities. The evening meal was a bit chaotic, but they explained it was the busiest night the camp has had since it opened - I think they learnt a lot that night, and they managed to deal with it! I have a feeling if we stayed another night it would be a bit smoother, and be a bit quicker.

A great place, with friendly staff and fantastic guides and activities. Busy but once on the activities you don't notice that so much. Activities are well organised."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team