This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Cambs

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Feb 2013 trip

South Africa and 1 other country between 7 Feb 2013 and 26 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"A most enjoyable holiday. The highlights were Rovos, Vic Falls in full flow and the Chobe National Park."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

"Camps Bay Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2013
"Excellent room - lovely food - restaurant slightly lacking in character - helpful staff - superb taxi service !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Le Quartier Francais

Le Quartier Francais

"Le Quartier Francais review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2013
"Rooms sizeable and quiet - the Common Room restaurant was nice but the Tasting Room was very special - as it should be for the price !!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Grootbos Private Nature Reserve review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2013
"A fine place to stay for a couple of nights - lovely staff and a special location - driving through the finbos was facinating - such a pity we are not horse riders..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"The Plettenberg review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"Beautiful location in an area where there is plenty to do if you have a car. Good food in the hotel and a choice of restaurants within the town.

Soon to close for a referb we hear....but that is not necessary for our room which was on the small side but very comfortable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Royal Elephant

"Royal Elephant review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2013
"More of a conference hotel than for a holiday maker - newly built in quite a dramatic Egyptian style.

Food very adequate but we had better elsewhere."
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Service
Average
Image alt

Rovos Rail

"Rovos Rail review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2013
"Love it or hate it !....we loved it !!. Our cabin was more than we expected, with plenty of room for shower, loo, basin and a small sitting area close to the bed. The dining car was oozing with character and the food, staff and and service were top notch.

The rail track was worn in places which made us "rock and roll" to a small extent at times, but this was not the fault of Rovos Rail and we slept well in spite of this. The open Observation car was a great place to soak up the atmosphere and watch "everything outside". We will go again some time ..they say they are the most "luxurious train in the world"....I think they are right..."
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Food
Excellent
The Elephant Camp

The Elephant Camp

"The Elephant Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2013
"Great location - 10 minutes from Vic Falls and transportation there at no charge. We did not partake of their activities, preferring to hire a car and "do our own thing" at Chobe - an unforgetable day. Jonathan arranged this for us with almost zero notice - he is quite character too !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team