This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Suffolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful Way to spend part of January

South Africa between 2 Jan 2016 and 18 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We both thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. We loved the landscape, the food, the wines and sunshine and warmth in January.

The Winelands were more amazingly beautiful than anticipated. People very helfpul and friendly.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Thank you for organising a super holiday for us.

If we had to make one recommendation it would be an appeal for better maps for self-drive."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Image alt

Twelve Apostles

"Fabulous location, superb service."

4 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2016
"Superb! We were very well looked after; everything for our comfort had been thought of. The breakfasts were brilliant and it was wonderful taking this on the terrace overlooking the sea. The staff very attentive.

We had an excellent Chef's Menu one evening in the Azure Dining Room.

However, would recommend guests pre-book dinner if they wish to dine in the Azure Dining room. It wasn't possible to eat there the first night and we had to work hard to get a booking for our 2nd night. Once 'in' we were given an excellent table for our 3rd night. (There are other alternatives (Leopard Lounge and Grill Bar) for less formal dining.

The hotel ran a shuttle to the Waterfront - prompt and efficient.

Spa staff were charming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Majeka House

"Majeka House near Stellenbosch"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2016
"Well located for visiting the winelands. Good breakfasts and an excellent meal in the Makaron Restaurant.

Lovely room with shared pool in garden. A bit surprised that door and windows to room were modern metal/plastic when the rest of the decor was so good.
Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We were warmly welcomed by Wonder."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
De Hoop Opstal

De Hoop Opstal

"Well worth the detour to De Hoop."

2 nights Arrived 9 Jan 2016
"We loved being so close to the eland, other animals and birds. The marine walk/rock pool guided walk was particularly good - thanks, Louis. The star gazing session didn't quite live up to expectations but it was a good idea and we enjoyed an early morning walk, led by Hannah, to see the birds and walk around the Vlei.

Registration for accommodation takes place in shop where everything else is booked for all visitors to the Nature Reserve.

Chairs in dining room are ready for replacement - fine if you managed to get one with a seat intact or enough cushions for it not to matter. Good selection of wines."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Hunters Country House

Hunters Country House

"Superb stay at Hunters"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jan 2016
"What a fantastic place! We loved it (despite one chilly afternoon and a wet morning).

The gardens are beautiful, the garden suites are gorgeous and spacious, the private pool and terrace were delightful and the staff were helpful.

Breakfast (spread and service) not quite as good as the Twelve Apostles but the dinners were excellent. We ate in Zinzi's one night but were unable to get a table at Tsala. Again, with hindsight we would have pre-booked Tsala which I think would have suited us better than Zinzi's.

Welcomed with a bottle of sparkling wine and deli platter in our room to celebrate Wedding Anniversary - a lovely touch. Fruit bowl in room too - a great idea."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Great Safari at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2016
"The welcome to Kwandwe was wonderful. We saw four of the big five on our first game drive as well as many other animals. The Soup Stop with barbecue was fun and made more dramatic by buffalo and calf passing by, with a lioness in hot pursuit.

Our ranger, Ruan, and tracker, Vusi, were excellent and made the experience so enjoyable with many close encounters.

Swimming pool appreciated - needed some exercise after eating so well for the previous 10 days or so."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Super safari and stunning setting at GFRL"

1 night Arrived 16 Jan 2016
"We loved Great Fish River Lodge even more than Ecca. Raised on decking and terrace it was possible to see the wildlife on the slopes across the river.

The staff were excellent - great welcome from Chris on arrival - and breakfast waiters charming and helpful. Management clearly on the ball!

Our suite was superb."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team