This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Indiana

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Real Africa!

Botswana and 2 other countries between 28 Mar 2013 and 16 Apr 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Outstanding in all respects. We have been to most of the world and certainly rank this trip among our favorites.

The assistance and guidance we received from Saskia Adye was fantastic, accurate and honest!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
If I were to go on safari and was assigned to a vehicle with nine people crowded together, not even mentioning the roads - I would end my trip then and there! This did not happen to us and usually it was either my wife and self on one other couple with two couples only once for a short period. Obviously, I prefer the two bench vehicles with a top (although I fully realize this is not always possible for a number of reasons. We are 77 and in good shape, I seriously doubt if anyone our age or approaching our age not in a reasonalbly good physical and mental condition would enjoy the trip we took. However, there are certainly many alternatives for any situation whereby almost anyone could be accomodated as long as they realize it is not a trip to New York City."

Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"Delightful facility with wonderful staff, great food very good location. The only service we used was dining reference which was excellent.

Little taxi problem which I attended to (long way to wrong destination, not an Acorn problem). They had good wine at reasonable price in house by bottle."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
City and Table Mountain Tour

City and Table Mountain Tour

"only way to quickly see Capetown"

29 Mar 2013 • All-day excursion

On time, knowledgible, realistic, reasonable not crowded and fun.
Excellent
Grootbos Garden Lodge

Grootbos Garden Lodge

"Fantastic by any standard"

2 nights Arrived 31 Mar 2013
"First class, luxury and convinience. Very interesting as well as restful. Little way out but worth it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nxai Pan Camp

Nxai Pan Camp

"outstanding first camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2013
"Our introduction to what we came to Africa for in the first place. Staff overachievers at all levels! Not Groot Bos, but not supposed to be either!

If you can handle the roads here, you can handle the roads at the other three camps we visited."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kwara

Little Kwara

"#2 in order of visiting only"

3 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2013
"Great guides and staff, wonderful wildlife

Although very comfortable, one must realize this is Africa with the right amount of luxury and convinience to make it fun."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"#3 in order of visit only"

3 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2013
"Fantastic guide who was a combination guide, tracker, naturalist,entertainer and educator.

As with all camps the staff at all levels and food was outstanding. Much and varied wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"final camp in order of visit only"

3 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2013
"Each camp seemed even more wonderful than the last although in reality all were excellent and although different - all on a pretty even par experience.

The guide here was rumored to be amoung the best in Africa and served as both guide and tracker."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"ilala lodge #1"

2 nights Arrived 14 Apr 2013
"We visited Victoria Falls Hotel and even had a meal there * but other than the view from the terrace, I will take the Ilala over it for cost, convinience, quality of food and friendly and efficient staff that really want to help.

The falls were wonderful and quite an experience. Not there for an extended period but liked the area."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team