This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Frodsham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2019 trip

South Africa between 28 Jan 2019 and 9 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our Expert Africa trip could not have been bettered. Our contact Megan was brilliant, very knowledgeable and helpful.
it really did feel tailor made for us and Chris McIntyre - the MD - clearly took into account our personal preferences when he initially suggested an outline for our trip before handing us over into Megan's very capable hands to fine tune the details and book us in.

We will definitely be returning to South Africa for another holiday, what an awesome country - needless to say we will not hesitate to ask Expert Africa to plan it all for us, safe in the knowledge that another awesome holiday awaits us!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Awesome 1st Safari Experience"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2019
"This was our first ever Safari so we didn't really know what to expect but it turned out to be a fantastic experience.
Our transfer from Port Elizabeth airport went very smoothly as did the very warm welcome that we received on our arrival at Kwandwe. Our Lodge was really nice and the plunge pool a welcome addition to our expectations. But the real surprise was the wildlife that we could observe from our large outdoor terrace!
A group of Nyala antelope were regulars, including a large very handsome male who regularly used our pool as a watering hole - which was brilliant to stand and watch. One afternoon a herd of elephants could be seen in the distance strolling one after the other across the hills opposite our lodge. Our afternoon 'chill time' took on a whole new meaning!

Our guide Nick was superb as was our tracker who was know as 'Banana'! Between them they tracked down a huge array of wildlife, which very often we were able to see at close quarters, which isn't something we expected. Nick's in depth knowledge of the flora and fauna was so impressive and we learnt so much during our twice daily trips out in the 56,000 acres that make up this superb private game reserve. It is also worth noting that safety was clearly very important to all the staff here and at no time did we feel anything other than completely safe.

The food, the ambiance and staff in the main lodge were also excellent and we had some lovely evenings around the huge logs fires sharing our day's experiences with fellow guests. All in all an awesome start to our South African trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootbos Forest Lodge

Grootbos Forest Lodge

"Location, location, location!"

3 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2019
"We arrived late evening, in the dark, after a very smooth transfer from Cape Town airport. We were greeted with huge smiles, champagne and such warmth. It is the first time that we have ever arrived at a hotel and been told that 'there was no need to complete the paperwork, its late you must be tired, we can do it in the morning'....very refreshing! We were shown to our beautifully appointed, immaculately clean lodge and slept so well in the sumptuously comfortable bed.

The real shock came the next morning when we opened our blinds and saw the view from our floor to ceiling windows.
The wide sweep of a pristine Walker Bay stretched out in front of us - acres of white sand, soaring cliffs and all with a background of misted mountains - awesome!

Our three nights here were fabulous, nothing was too much trouble - the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful and went above and beyond to accommodate our every wish. Stefan the manager always seemed to be around - not sure when he slept, but he was exceptional - making all the guests feel so welcome with drinks, chats, advice and information when required. The food and wine here were of a very high standard and always served with a smile. Our only slight negative is that the design of the restaurant needs to incorporate some 'warmth' in it's decor - it felt almost like a cafeteria, though this was only apparent in the evening for dinner. Having said that, on a warm evening the restaurant's outdoor terrace was always an option and is brilliantly positioned to watch the amazing sunsets!

Our stay here was a really wonderful five star experience!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent advice and support.

South Africa between 31 Jan 2015 and 14 Feb 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first trip to South Africa and the support and advice we received from Claire at Expert Africa was excellent.

Nothing was too much trouble and our queries were always answered promptly.

Altogether a great experience and we will definitely be returning, both to Africa and to 'Expert'!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

"Own Arrangements - Cape Town's fabulous"

5 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"Loved our five nights with friends on the Waterfront in Cape Town"
Excellent
The Plettenberg

The Plettenberg

"Lovely Hotel in a wonderful position"

3 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2015
"Our overall experience was really good. The staff, service and food were excellent.

Our only negative is that the room we were allocated had a separate toilet which was essentially situated in the wardrobe with no hand washing facilities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tsala Treetop Lodge

Tsala Treetop Lodge

"Fabulously different place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2015
"Our Tsala welcome was excellent and our tree top lodge was fabulous. The staff and service were attentive but unobtrusive and the breakfast was really top class.

Our evening out for dinner at Zinzi (as recommended by Expert Africa's MD!) was just great and not to be missed. The setting, service and food were brilliant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

"Definitely Not a 5 star hotel!"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2015
"The Bay Hotel was a choice we made ourselves and to be clear, was not favoured by Expert Africa when we asked to book it. Our choice was based on a friends recommendation.

Just for the record this is a very shabby, tired hotel in a noisy, busy position. The sun terraces and one of the swimming pools are situated almost on the pavement of the busy road that is situated in between the hotel and the beach.

The rooms - particularly the bathrooms are scruffy and poorly designed. The breakfast and in house bistro food is very poor and the service haphazard."
Poor
Location
Terrible
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Terrible

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team