This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Acorn House

Reviews of Acorn House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Acorn House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J
Hants

"Another excellent stay at Acorn House"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2015
"This was our second stay at Acorn House. I asked for this guest house specifically - there is no better commendation. My son and girlfriend also stayed there earlier in the year.

Perfect location, very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Beckenham

"Acorn House Review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2015
"I cannot think of anything negative to say about Acorn House. From the moment we arrived Stewart and his staff were fantastic. Stewart sat us down and asked what we wanted to do. He came up with great suggestions. He took care of restaurants, trip tickets and car bookings and general information about Cape Town.

Great Deli on the corner. The Hop On Hop Off bus stop about a 15minute walk away. He gave us the number of cab company to use. Breakfast wonderful, lots of home made goodies, honesty bar.

It was like staying at a friend's home. I would certainly recommend it." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
C+M
Zürich

"Acorn House review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Mar 2015
"We had the best room in the guest house! They told us because of expertafrica." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Acorn House review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2014
"Outstanding guest house where staff could not be more helpful. Their assistance made the holiday.

Ideally situated if you do not want to be in the centre of the city. Car hire advisable with easy access to main places in area. Breakfast very good.

The staff are first class and would highly recommend this place." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Superb Accommodation and Service"

3 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2013
"Our stay at Acorn House exceeded our expectations and although we expected a small room ( the literature says this ) we were given a bungalow with extra space and a lounge area. It was really comfortable and quite luxurious.

We only had a few days in Cape Town so we had to limit our trips but two we wanted to do were visiting Cape Point and going up Table Mountain. Stewart at Acorn House helped us with a trip to Cape Point at really short notice because the weather seemed good down there and it proved to be a superb trip. We managed to go up Table Mountain when the "tablecloth" cleared and dashed up there immediately after breakfast . Acorn House tried to get us on line tickets but they were sold out however we made it up there early and the queue was only 35 minutes ! Great. You should have seen the queue on our way back down at least 3 hours waiting time for the cable car. We walked back from the cable car station to Acorn House and this was a really pleasant walk. The coffee shop/café ( Carlucci`s ) at the end of the road almost opposite Acorn House is really good by the way.
Nelson`s Eye restaurant is within walking distance and excellent for steaks but we found the service a bit lacking. Still a good meal however.

I had arranged with Acorn House to meet us at the airport and this worked like clockwork.

All told we absolutely loved Acorn House and would not hesitate in recommending this to other travellers and if we ever return to Cape Town would certainly stay there again." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Ontario

"Acorn House-Couldn't have been better!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"We can't say enough about our stay at Acorn House. We were so graciously received. Stewart gave us excellent advice, which enabled us to make the best use of the time we had in Capetown It was most enjoyable." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr L & Mrs O
Indiana

"Your home away from home in Cape Town"

5 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2013
"No detail is too small for the staff at Acorn House...Everything is done to make your stay wonderful, from day trip ideas to restaurant reservations to knowing your favorite breakfast to the small touches in your room....the list goes on.

We especially loved the quiet neighborhood, yet you are five minutes from downtown. I can't imagine that there is a better place to stay in Cape Town." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J
Hants

"Acorn House review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2013
"Delightful guest house in a wonderful position, directly under Table Mountain. The staff and service were first class." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs K & Mrs T
USA

"Acorn House review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2013
"The Acorn House is a older B and B located near the base of Table top Mountain. Anyone wanting to be near the main tourist areas like V and A Waterfront may want to think about a closer location.

The service was wonderful and the staff very nice. The only negative was the beds were very uncomfortable, too hard with no mattress pad.

Whilst in Cape Town, we organised for them a private half-day City Tour, and a private tour to Cape Point and the Peninsula.
They commented::

Loved the Cape Town city tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and were impressed with everything we saw. Loved the museum.

The Cape Point tour was the highlight of our visit to Cape Town. Then coast was very dramatic and the point beautiful. Our guide was excellent and very knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 15n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Indiana

"Acorn House review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"Delightful facility with wonderful staff, great food very good location. The only service we used was dining reference which was excellent.

Little taxi problem which I attended to (long way to wrong destination, not an Acorn problem). They had good wine at reasonable price in house by bottle." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 5n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 31
97%
31 reviews of Acorn House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa