This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Ontario

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

1

Namibia/ Botswana Trip

Namibia and 3 other countries between 18 Sep 2013 and 10 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our itinerary was so well thought out. Driving times in the Self -Drive part were manageable. Definitely a key point. The folder with notes for travellers was priceless. It really contributed to the success of our excellent holiday. It was most appreciated to have all the bases covered in such exacting detail.

Maruska really helped walk us through the initial planning stages, pointing out practicalities in her most diplomatic way. Her suggestions always held true, yet she listened to our ideas as well. She showed great patience and carefully dealt with our concerns. Her knowledge and expertise enabled us to experience a great adventure.

It was truly a unique experience. We were so very fortunate to have had Maruska as our contact.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

At this time, I can't think of any way our experience could be improved upon."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Acorn House

Acorn House

"Acorn House-Couldn't have been better!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2013
"We can't say enough about our stay at Acorn House. We were so graciously received. Stewart gave us excellent advice, which enabled us to make the best use of the time we had in Capetown It was most enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge-Great Setting"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"We were most taken by the setting at Erongo Wilderness Lodge Our trip to the site in the 4by4 set the stage. Our comfortable chalet provided us with great views. We went on a walk to watch the sunset and experienced out first Sundowner. We saw our first animals visiting the waterhole as we were having dinner.

It was a great introduction to uniqueness of Namibia. We only wish we could have had a longer stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

"Onguma Tented Camp- Great Animal Sightings"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2013
"We arranged a night drive in the Ongama Reserve and saw an Ardvark. an Aardwolf and a Lioness with four cubs as well as Giraffes and Impalas. The next day, on our way into Etosha, driving ourselves, we spotted a Black rhino grazing by the side of the road. Our list goes on. We saw close to fifty elephants at a water hole, a spotted hyena, as well as many groups of plains game. Quite an experience.

Our accommodations at Ongoma Tented Camp were very good. It was a memorable stay.."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp-Room Concern"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2013
"We had concerns about our room as it looked like it had been broken into . The screens had holes near the latches; the front door latch was broken, and he bottom panel into the bedroom had been kicked in. Air conditioning solved the screen problem and we managed to lock necessary doors. In retrospect, we should have asked for another room.

The flood - lit waterhole was a hit."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein County Lodge-Disappointing Star"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"On arrival, we were directed to a motel type room on the left as you approach the Lodge, given a complimentary bottle of wine and told it was a great spot as you can drive up to the Lodge. It did not resemble the other accommodations on site. We were most disappointed when we saw the room and went back to reception saying we couldn't stay there, They relocated us to another room for the first night and then we were moved to a third room for the second night. We did call a representative from Wilderness Safaris, as we wondered if we were only paying the rate for that first offered room We also noted the floors were not clean.

It was all a bit unsettling. We tried not to let it over-shadow our visit to the surrounding area, including the UNESCO World Heritage Site and a drive into the desert to see the elephants ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Sandfields Guesthouse

Sandfields Guesthouse

"Sandfields Guesthouse-Great Spot"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"We so enjoyed our stay at Sandfields. Jean made us feel most welcome. It was the perfect spot to unwind after a couple of long drives. The restaurant recommendations were excellent. We made use of the in-room fireplace to take the chill off. A most pleasant spot!

Whilst in Swakopmund these guests took a day tour to the coast south of Walvis Bay, here's what they said about it:

We really feel we had a true adventure on this day trip. We saw many varieties of birds, which Ernest helped us identify. There were varied landscapes, including the Kuseib Deltas and Sandwich Harbour. The scenery was breathtaking. Ernest navigated the dunes with great skill, [fortunately}, and the tide let us in to the Sandwich Harbour area itself. Again, Ernest's knowledge of the flora and fauna was superb Truly a most worthwhile experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Ernest-Great Guide"

28 Sep 2013 • All-day excursion

We really feel we had a true adventure on this day trip. We saw many varieties of birds, which Ernest helped us identify. There were varied landscapes, including the Kuseib Deltas and Sandwich Harbour. The scenery was breathtaking. Ernest navigated the dunes with great skill, [fortunately}, and the tide let us in to the Sandwich Harbour area itself. Again, Ernest's knowledge of the flora and fauna was superb Truly a most worthwhile experience.
Excellent
Image alt

Agama River Camp

"Agama River Camp-Simple Charm"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2013
"Indeed, Agama River Camp was a great place to stay location- wise. It's a good distance from Swakopmund and reasonably close to Sesriem and Sossusvie. The setting certainly captures that desert feel. Our chalet was comfortable. We did make use of the air conditioning the second night. Rinaldi was a gratious host. They packed us a great breakfast/lunch for our days journey into the desert."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House-Excellent Service"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"We so appreciated the great service we received on arrival. We can't remember the young man's name who checked us in unfortunately. He helped us find a money exchange and directed us to a gas station where we could fill up before returning the car to the airport.

We found it easy to find following the map as we approached from the south.It was also easy to get to the airport.

It was a very relaxing spot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Keara Camp-great Memories, Great Sightings"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"We feel most fortunate to have launched our Safari experience at Kwara.

The staff was excellent. Our Guide Bate and Tracker KP were quite a team. Our Safari drives covered various areas. We had a lagoon boat ride to the Godikwe herony and got great pictures. We traveled in a mokoro to an Island walk. We even saw the seldom seen Sitatunga.

On our last day we were treated to a brunch by a Hippo pond. Unbelievable. Such memories!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

"Xakanaxa Camp-Arrived by Boat"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"We arrived from Kwara by water transfer, which was a unique experience. The setting was inviting and our room comfortable.

Our guide, Water, was an experienced hand. As we were in a Reserve, he had no tracker. On our first drive he heard an impala give a warning cry and followed that up by finding a lion in the grass. Amazing.

On a boating trip, we were with four very serious photographers. We found ourselves in the way. We don't think they expected joiners. We were also part of their group the following morning. We did cramp their style. I think allowances could be made. Our Guide did the best he could.

Other than that glitch, we did enjoy our experience at Xakanaxa Camp and left with fond memories."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp-What a Setting!"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"What an experience to arrive at Lagoon Camp early afternoon to see the elephants make their way across Kwondo River. It's a sight we won't forget. On arrival, we hadn't eaten since early morning and said indeed we'd like a simple sandwich when food was offered. There was nothing simple about it.

Dux then showed us our tent. Again the setting was amazing. Deck, bed, soak tub and shower all afforded a view of the river. No wonder the hippos liked it so well there.

Our Guide Paul and our Tracker Isaiah again proved to be a great team. We watched the elephants maneuver their babies across the river. We saw three female lions resting in the midday. We saw a crocodile feasting on an elephant. We came boat to nose with a hippo in the river.,not to mention tracking a leopard. We were most fortunate."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Victoria Falls Hotel- Fitting Ending"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2013
"Again, a not to be forgotten experience.

We made an effort to explore the various common rooms and stairwells just to glean some of thei history. We spent time on the terrace taking in the view.

The breakfasts were great and we had a couple of yummy dinners. We spent a late afternoon by the pool. Obviously we made the best of our stay. Thank you so much for arranging that Maruska.

The short walk from the Hotel to the Falls deserves mention."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team