This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Acorn House

Reviews of Acorn House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Acorn House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Ms R & Mr B
Lyneham

"Acorn House was great - very helpful staff"

4 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2013
"It was like having our own concierge - the staff were really great at helping us plan our time in Capetown, book restaurants for us, ring the hire car company when we had a problem etc.

The only downside was that it was a little way to the nearest restaurants - so while we could walk there, we had to take a taxi back when it was dark. Lovely area though.

Room was lovely although no air con and was the room got pretty hot when the weather was nice." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Chicago, USA

"Comfortable and Beautiful B&B"

1 night Arrived 8 Dec 2012
"This is a really beautiful and comfortable B&B. On our arrival we had an awkward experience. We were met at the door with an awkward silence. After greeting the person we told her that we had a reservation. Her response was a flat "hmmph" and walked away. Only after she came back did she welcome us. Then someone else took over and we were taken to our room.

The room was comfortable and very nice. We had a balcony with a beautiful view overlooking the bay. Later on someone else sat down with us to give us a brief overlook of Cape Town and suggestions for restaurants. The staff in general was very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast by the pool (gorgeous setting). Breakfast was excellent!!!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Glasgow

"Acorn House -outstanding"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2012
"Staff welcoming and very helpful

We decided to eat in and they laid a table and heated food we had bought in the local deli
spotless rooms and well appointed
Breakfast lived up to its high reputation" See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Sleepy Hollow

"Just what one would expect from a high qualit"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2012
"An excellent b&b with all the luxuries you need, a very accommodating host and staff, excellent breakfast and very helpful in making reservations including travel arrangements.

Its location at the base of Table Mountain, out of the hubub of the city, is to be recomended for those that like to avoid its noise and activities. It's easy enough to go to the center by cab.

It is interesting to note that the "tents", or more like private cottages, of the Botswana Camps were even more luxurious." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms T
San Francisco

"Peaceful Sanctuary in Cape Town"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2012
"Acorn House was a wonderful place to start my trip. Since I was recovering from my long journey from the US, I loved that I could just pick up food for take-away at the deli on the corner instead of having to go to a restaurant.

Stuart was unfailingly cheerful in the mornings and helpful about making arrangements for activities.

I was very impressed by the immaculate condition of the house, my room, and its tasteful furnishings.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Zambia; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms B & Mr D
Colorado

"Acorn House review"

6 nights Arrived 25 May 2012
"Stuart was awesome, and gave us a lot of great advice from hiking to restaurants to wine country to essentials.

The entire staff was completely accommodating. The location and setting are lovely. Carlucci's Market at the end of the street is very convenient." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 6n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mrs & Mr C
Toronto

"The perfect place to stay in Cape Town"

4 nights Arrived 2 May 2012
"For us Acorn House was perfect. Beata and all her staff contributed to a welcoming and comfortable stay. Our room was large, with good bathroom and view onto the garden, light and bright. Breakfast was fresh with local additions, and eggs cooked to order. The staff helped us with very good restaurants, and steered us to local sites we would have missed without their guidance. A book with local events led us to a concert that was memorable. We loved the area: close to downtown but in a safe and attractive neighbourhood.

During their time here, Expert Africa organised an Excursion to Robben Island for these travellers. They commented:

We went on a rainy and rough day but still enjoyed our visit. It was a site we felt was important to visit and the tour was well run, with a former prisoner as our guide. It gave us a hint of how the prisoners lived, and reminded us of the importance of their freedom. We missed the view of CapeTown due to weather, but still would recommend a visit.

We also organised an Full day Cape Point and Peninsula Tour, about which they commented:

We had a good day and felt we got acquainted with the area surrounding Cape Town. If we had more time we would have driven ourselves and lingered at places of our choice, however we were short of time so appreciated our excellent guide who showed us areas of Cape Point and provided both historical detail and information on the wildlife and plants. We had a relaxing and informative day, with spectacular views and a walk in the Botanical gardens." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms N & Mr S
Bristol

"We loved this place!"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2011
"A really warm welcome, great room and excellent location made Acorn House a brilliant place to start our holiday. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and we loved sitting on the balcony watching the sun set over Cape Town.

Breakfast was great and plentiful and suggestions of things to do and the best times to go were much appreciated." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Texas

"Great Stay at Acorn House"

4 nights Arrived 30 May 2011
"This B&B was outstanding in every way. We have stayed in many throughout US, Canada, and Europe and Acorn House ranks with the best we have enjoyed.Our hosts, owners Bernd and Beate, and Stewart, were welcoming, informative, engaging and helpful throughout our 4 day stay. Attention to every detail was a hallmark in the setting of this 100+ year old house in a quiet neighborhood of an old orange grove at the foot of Table Mountain.

We were a ten minute walk from the Red Line tourist bus across from Mount Nelson Hotel. We rented a car and parked right in front of the house and could route quickly and easlily throughout the city and its environs. We had easy access to the M3 for our drive to Cape Point and the N2 to the Airport. Breakfasts were wonderful with a wide assortment hot and cold.

Our upstairs room "Park" was very comfortable with an outside deck overlooking the city lights and bay, Lion's head to the west and Table Mountain. If we return to Cape Town, we would not consider staying anywhere else." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
6
Whangarei

"Lovely home, great location, top breakfast"

4 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2011
"Beautiful old home where we were made to feel very welcome. Nice comfortable lounge with honesty bar for guests. Extra touches made this place special - attention to detail, flowers, complimentary glass of sherry in bedroom. Staff very helpful, Stuart and his amazing breakfast specials each morning. The breakfast buffet alone was just delightfully set - a very classy display.

Nice location at the foot of Table Mountain, views of the top from the garden area. We walked right down to V&A waterfront from Acorn House, but it's quite a distance. For an easy evening meal there is a small deli on the corner, where you can order hot meals to eat there or take back to Acorn House where they are very accomodating. We travelled in two 4x4 Toyota Hi-lux vehicles which were parked on the road outside Acorn House at night.

Unfortunately, at some stage during our 4 night stay, both spare wheels were stolen from underneath the vehicles. Of course, this can happen anywhere in Cape Town, or in the world for that matter, so this is not a bad reflection on Acorn House or the Orangezicht area, just something to be aware of. We would definitely stay here again next time and highly recommend this property." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 31
97%
31 reviews of Acorn House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Cape Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

In the quiet, leafy suburb of Newlands, the sophisticated Vineyard Hotel has close access to smart shops, sports facilities and the main sights of Cape Town.


93% (54 reviews)
Victoria & Alfred Hotel

Victoria & Alfred Hotel

The Victoria & Alfred Hotel is a pleasant place to stay whilst visiting Cape Town. It's located at one of the Cape's most visited destinations, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront.


95% (23 reviews)
The Constantia

The Constantia

The five-star Constantia is an elegant, country-style boutique hotel with well-appointed rooms, situated close to Cape Town’s attractions, five world-class wine estates and many superb restaurants.


98% (20 reviews)
Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat

Camps Bay Retreat is a peaceful sanctuary set in a lush green private reserve overlooking the sea, close to one of Cape Town's most desirable beachfront areas.


85% (15 reviews)
Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead

Four Rosmead is a comfortable, very friendly guest house located very close to the city centre and all its nearby attractions.


97% (12 reviews)
Long Beach

Long Beach

Located on one of Cape Town's best beaches, the Long Beach is a great place to relax and explore, although it is further from the city than many other hotels and guesthouses.


98% (10 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront

Radisson Blu Waterfront

The Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront is located beside the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and has great views of the Atlantic Ocean


95% (8 reviews)
Cape Grace

Cape Grace

The Cape Grace is set in the centre of Cape Town's Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It's a perfect base for those wanting to be close to restaurants and shops.


100% (8 reviews)
Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars-Hohenort

Cellars Hohenort is a luxury hotel set in stunning gardens. Situated in the wine-growing Constantia Valley it is not far from many of Cape Town's attractions.


92% (5 reviews)
Hotel Verde

Hotel Verde

The contemporary and comfortable Hotel Verde, within a stone’s throw of Cape Town International Airport, has a strong focus on sustainability and the environment.


90% (4 reviews)
Bay Hotel

Bay Hotel

On the beachfront at Camps Bay, the Bay Hotel has luxury 5-star amenities, plus close access to one of Cape Towns best beaches as well as lots of restaurants, bars and nightlife.


80% (4 reviews)
Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel

Mount Nelson Hotel is Cape Town's oldest and most famous hotel. It's a place to be seen and the best address for a delicious afternoon tea.


100% (2 reviews)
Twelve Apostles

Twelve Apostles

The welcoming Twelve Apostles Hotel has a great location overlooking the ocean, just a short drive to the beach and restaurants of Camps Bay.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa