This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge


33°58’24.0"S 23°28’20.7"E

Reviews of Hog Hollow

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hog Hollow and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
UK

"Exceptional stay at Hog Hollow Country Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2014
"Excellent accommodation in a private chalet. Service from the staff could not have been better. When we had a very wet day they went out of their way to ensure we were warm and comfortable: it was no hardship to stay at the Lodge all day!.

When we had problems with our car they even made the phone calls to the car hire company for us.

The location is amazing, possibly unique and certainly very, very different. It feels like you are in the tree canopy. Food also top quality." See all these reviews: 34n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Happy to be back at Hog Hollow"

4 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2014
"This is our second visit and just as wonderful as the last year. We stayed a little longer (4 nights) as there is just so much to do in the area and the lodge is so friendly. Room was delightful, staff are brilliant and the food delicious. Carmen, the manager, was ever so helpful sorting out bookings for us. It is a great place to stay with kids as they have lots of nice touches for them - cookies and milk, beach towels and toys, etc. We didn't go horse riding this year but did last year and it was great.

What we love about this area is there is so much to do - The Elephant Sanctuary, The Monkey Sanctuary and the Bird Park. Storm River is a great day out (try a short walk along the Otter Trail - the views are awesome). We also spent some time at Robberg which was stunning. The highlight was a walk with a cheetah for those of us taller than 1.5 meters. Incredible experience.

So Hog Hollow plus the activities make for a truly great stay. We will be back!" See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Farnham

"Exellent location to explore the Craggs"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2014
"We really loved Hog Hollow - it was one of the highlights of our holiday. The staff are excellent and do all they can to ensure you have a great time. They booked visits for us - walking with Cheetahs and they also gave advice about local places of interest. If you walk to a local place of interest from Hog Hollow, then all you need to do is call and they will collect you!

One of the things we really loved was the evening dinner - all the guests meet for cocktails sat around the open fire and then are sat around a huge table for dinner- a great opportunity to meet other travellers and swap stories, experience and advice. Can't believe that a member of staff went round the table and introduced us all with no notes about names! Food was excellent too!

It was the only accommodation that didn't provide bath robes - perhaps a thought for the team at Hog Hollow?

There is lots to see at The Crags so worth at least a couple of days - preferably 3." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Texas

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2013
"If we had stayed longer there were a multitude of activities we could have participated in but did not. A very pleasant and appealing facility and quite surprised with the wonderful facilities.

The food was outstanding." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Family
Roke

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2013
"Another highlight of the trip - we loved Hogs Hollow.

The room wasn't as swish as Grootbos but still great and the staff were wonderful. Food was also great and lots of brilliant activities on the doorstep. Horse riding was a highlight as was the Elephant Sanctury, Birds of Eden and Monkey Sancutary.

Could have stayed longer here too! Very family friendly and relaxed." See all these reviews: 13n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Langport

"Hog Hollow Country Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2013
"Unfortunately had wet weather at this stage of our holiday but loved the lodge and the communal eating.

Food and drink excellent value and lots to do in the area." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S R
London

"Lovely spot despite the rain"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2011
"we arrived in the dark having not realised how long it would take to get there but had no trouble finding it.
day One was rain almost all day but the room was so nice, we could sit and read.

Day two was fine and we could appreciate the deck for breakfast.

Communal dining is a bit nerve wracking and I think it could be made clearer that is what happens although I feel it woudl look unfriendly to ask for a separate table." See all these reviews: 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Leics

"Good hotel, good location"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2011
"A nice place to stay with comfortable and well equipped rooms and a nice swimming pool, and plenty to do in the surrounding area. It was a long drive from Hermanus, with a few scenic stops along the way, so we were glad to arrive and check in for dinner.

Possibly because of our late arrival we didnt actually explore the rest of the hotel until the last day when we discovered the tv internet and nice library (it is all mentioned in their guide but none of us had thought to ask where it was!) There were not many other guests when we stayed so the communal evening dining was quite entertaining and the food well presented. The breakfast buffets were extremely good with lots of choice and even Bucks Fizz for an extra treat.

The last day we took a boat trip up the river where there are some very pretty picnic spots but due to a miscommunication our picnic hamper only contained some fruit and muffins when we had been hoping for something a bit more substantial - particularly those of us who had done the quite energetic walk over to Monkeyland first.

The staff on our return were very apologetic and unknown to us kindly arranged to pay for our meal out that night - at Emilys a very pretty location with good local food." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Aberdeen

"Hog Hollow review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2010
"Hog Hollow was my favorite place, the rooms are spectacular, we especially enjoyed lighting a fire in the evenings when it got a bit cool. The food was excellent with great service.

We left wanting to stay longer as the area has so much too offer. I am sure we will return for another stay at Hog Hollow." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C
York

"Hog Hollow review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2010
"The highlight of the various places we stayed.

The service was excellent and non intrusive. They were very good at helping us plan our activities. The situation of the swimming pool was lovely.

The food was very good and we enjoyed the communal eating in the evening." See all these reviews: 9n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 29
94%
29 reviews of Hog Hollow by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
5
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tsitsikamma | Garden Route National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Mouth Restcamp, offers simple self-catering accommodation and a restaurant – with truly impressive views of the South African coastline; it is perfect for a stop along the Garden Route


76% (15 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa