This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S R from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

A great trip

South Africa between 23 Sep 2011 and 8 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellents and good value for money"

Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"An ideal location in Cape Town"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2011
"I first thought that we were too far out of the city but it was ideal for visiting all parts eg botanical gardens, Table Mountain and Victoria Quay. The staff were very helpful about arranging taxis for us as we did not want to drive.

Breakfast was good ( we did not have dinner there ).
Gardens lovely and well maintained."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Rusthof Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"comfortable B&B in the centre of Franshoek"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2011
"Ideal location for visiting the town and the surrounding wineries."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
The Marine

The Marine

"Ideal hotel for whale watching"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2011
"We were given a lovely room overlooking the bay.

Everything was of the standard expected of such a hotel.

We ate in both restaurants and had very good food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Lovely spot despite the rain"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2011
"we arrived in the dark having not realised how long it would take to get there but had no trouble finding it.
day One was rain almost all day but the room was so nice, we could sit and read.

Day two was fine and we could appreciate the deck for breakfast.

Communal dining is a bit nerve wracking and I think it could be made clearer that is what happens although I feel it woudl look unfriendly to ask for a separate table."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"I wish we had bought something to barbecue"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2011
"The cabin was lovely and if we had been better prepared we would have bought barbecue in advance although we ecould have purchased some things ( limited range ) in shop.

Food in restauarant was average but scenery made up for all.
the suspension bridge was closed becasue of landslip so one of the walks could not be done."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

Kwandwe Great Fish River Lodge

"Best part of the trip"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2011
"every aspect of this was great and so well thought out.
the staff were very attentive and helpful and the guides knowledgeable.

we were a liitle driving down their dirt road for 11km when the hire car people had given us stern warnings about NOT driving on dirt roads and the perils of invalidating the insurance.

as we did not need a car there I would suggest that you offer a driver to and from eg Port Elizabeth especially for anyone flying to and from PE

My only criticism is that there was not much physical activity available between 11am and 4pm . If like me you run or swim a lot, it was enjoyable reading, bird watching or animal spotting but two days was quite enough!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

First time in Africa

Zambia between 17 Oct 2007 and 30 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"I booked this on a whim after reading about walking safaris in the FT. It was our first trip to Africa, first safari and I would go back. Meeting other travellers and hearing their tales and recommendations makes us want to see other parts of the country.

Next time I would not do a safari every day, now I know what is involved, but perhap see a little more of the country.

I initially thought the trip was expensive but looking back and on what we got for our money it was very good value."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Luwi Bushcamp

Luwi Bushcamp

"First time on safari"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2007
"This was our first camp - in fact our first time in Africa and first safari - so we had no idea what to expect. I think the usual route is Kapani first and then the camps but I was pleased we were plunged into camp life. The accommodation was really comfortable and the food was so good.

We particularly enjoyed the extended walks between the camps in this case Lewi to Nsolo. The safari walks are different and the between camp walks are an opportunity to exercise a little.

Walking safaris are not for keen walkers who want to clock up the miles. They are a way of really seeing the bush at first hand.

It was nice just to be able to sit outside our hut in the afternoons and see animals and birds in their natural state."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Welcome at Nsolo"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2007
"Shaddy and Natasha were great hosts/guides and made us really welcome. We felt very comfortable with them .

The covered eating area together with the little seating area and library is a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Kakuli Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2007
"Laura and Aubrey were good host/guide.

The problem here was the weather. It was extremely windy every afternoon and the tent was not anchored down sufficiently so all the furniture - with our things on it blew over and the tent had to be held down with a tractor wheel part. That said, Laura made sure that the tent was swept of sand and everything put right."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Comfort at Kapani"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"You have to be ready for a lot more people than at the camps!

It was very comfortable and we liked having a swimming pool.

Abraham went out of his way to ensure that we had a walk in the afternoon on the last whole day of our stay. There was no scout available in the morning so we had to drive but he made up for it by going out early afternoon for a walk with us."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Victoria Falls"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2007
"Excellent position. Best breakfast buffet I have seen for a long time. Lovely pool and deck for sunset drinks although when they had a big function on our second evening there was no bar at the deck. Lack of staff?

The client relations staff have obviously never walked to the Falls. As the water on thh Zambian side was low, we asked about going to Zimbabwe but they were not sure whether we would be able to get visas and then get back easily.
We walked across the bridge, checked with the Zambian authorities they would let us back in, paid $55 each for a Zimbabwean visa walked to the park. saw the Falls and walked back with no problems.

The boat trip to Livingstone Island ( in dry season) is unmissable. It was one of the highlights of my husband's trip that he swam in the pool at the top of the Falls and looked over the edge.

We recommend the museum in Livingstone and particularly the section on David Livingstone, the colonial and post colonial era and lots of information about Zambia up to the present day.

We went to an African restauarant in town - can't remember name but will let you know - which had good food, lovely waitresses in national dress and an entertaining floor show.

Activities at the hotel are really what you make of them. There is a footpath from the hotel to the Falls on the Zambian side and I don't think enough people knew of its existence."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team