This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge


33°58’24.0"S 23°28’20.7"E

Reviews of Hog Hollow

Wildlife sightings and reviews

29 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hog Hollow and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-29 of 29
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs L
Oxon

"Christmas Day a dip in the pool"

4 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2009
"Hog Hollow was the most african of this trip - much of the Cape and Garden route are more European than african, so we were delighted to be here. The staff were very attentive and their ability to remember each guest's name simply amazing.

The whole team wanted their guests to enjoy not only their stay at Hog Hollow but also the surrounding area - great emphasis was spent each morning to help us with plans, provide us with maps, directions, picnics, sun umbrellas - what ever they knew we may need. They also helped us get off the tourist route which is difficult on the Garden Route at Christmas - again great walking country.

The rooms are delightful - we couldn't decide whether to sit in the hammock, the beanbag or the sofa. We loved the provision of a CD player and the wide open doors - these were fun as you couldn't leave them open for too long without the Monkey's arriving - one tried to come in whilst we were showering !! And if its a bit chilly, which it wasn't for us - you could light your own fire - how romantic is that.

The grounds are delightul but beware if you are a little unsteady on your feet - there are some steep paths. not a problem for us, but could be for some.

The food was good but not excellent - as it was Christmas we stayed in every night but another time we may try some other local places. We enjoyed the dining arrangements being all around one table but it is reliant on fellow travellers enjoying it too for good conversation. We were lucky and had good company most evenings." See all these reviews: 8n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr P
Suffolk

"Hog Hollow"

4 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2009
"We had a great time and I have no doubt that we will return again!

Bathrobes would make the rooms perfect." See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr P
Suffolk

"Hog Hollow"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"A great place in all ways, we will go back" See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LS
Dorset

"Hog Hollow - what a treasure!"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2008
"Certainly has the wow factor! The setting, the rooms, the staff, everything was excellent.

Although it was full, it never felt crowded and nothing was too much trouble. We wished we could have stayed there longer as there was so much to do in the area. Might just be forced to go back in the near future! Being selfish we don't want it to become so well-known that you have to book years in advance!

Some very nice touches like the hammocks on the balconies, the drinks bars by the pool and the staff's efforts to remember everyone's name. Quite a feat!" See all these reviews: 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Hog Hollow in the rain"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2008
"This is a high class operation but we arrived in the rain, it rained overnight and we left in the rain. We probably missed some of the scenery due to the rain but our room actually had little view across the gorge on whose side it was perched.

We ate and drank well, the other guests (mostly honeymooners from Ireland) were great fun and the food was very good. It failed however to make the sort of impact of Klippe Rivier or other places we stayed at. Perhaps the staff were a little over attentive with knapkins being refolded while a guest went outside for a smoke during dinner?

It is a lovely place, one is well looked after but...." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs Owl
UK

"Fabulous location, great food"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2008
"A wonderful place. Lovely views from the individual lodges whidh are furnished to a high standard. Again the people were so friendly and helpful. We had intended to dine out for one of the evenings but the food and atmosphere at Hog Hollow were so good that we dined in every evening." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"Hog Hollow"

2 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2007
"Too many honeymoon couples, felt a bit crowded. did not need all the luxury extras.

Great location, staff were very helpful" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Squacco herons
UK

"Wonderful in all respects."

4 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2007
"We enjoyed a great welcome on our return. The staff are lovely and go out of their way to be helpful. The situation is gorgeous.

Even the monkeys trying to help themselves to our breakfasts are a great cause for amusement. There is plenty to do in the neighbourhood but equally good for those who might wish to stay in and relax.

This has been our third visit and it remains our favourite place in South Africa." See all these reviews: 12n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr J
Cambridgeshire

"I could live here - mega brill place"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Loved the trips
Loved the location
Cottages/houses are really cool loooking out onto the forest and the cheeky monkeys are so funny, having a shower with them is really funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
In the evening the meal is around a large table and the wiatress manages to learn all 30 christian names and repeats them back to everyone both dinner - amazing.
Love how they have used local labour, giving something back to the community - Big Joe the chef is great comes and speaks with you around a camp fire with drinks before eating." See all these reviews: 6n in South Africa; 4n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-29 of 29
94%
29 reviews of Hog Hollow by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
23
5
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in South Africa

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in South Africa.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Tsitsikamma | Garden Route National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Mouth Restcamp, offers simple self-catering accommodation and a restaurant – with truly impressive views of the South African coastline; it is perfect for a stop along the Garden Route


76% (15 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa