This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Cambridgeshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

A Memorable honeymoon

South Africa and 1 other country between 3 Aug 2007 and 23 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Superb planning by Expert Africa, thank you so much.

Great memorable smiles on the faces of children who have nothing in this world. Shows the Brits that there are people with nothing in this world and they can still smile and not winge. Did not realise that Bic pens can be used to bargain with in the markets.

We have sent our valet at Tongabezi a Chelsea shirt with his hero printed on the back to say a further thank you and we have sent a parcel for the school in the Zambian school of Simonga, they have nothing out there. What a wonderful life experience. All Brits ought to pay a visit to Africa."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Livingstone Island & Devil's Pool

Livingstone Island & Devil's Pool

"Will stick in my mind for ever"

19 Jul 2007 • Afternoon excursion

Standing 1 fott away from a 1100m drop down the falls watching 3m liters per second of water coming of the Zimbawe cateract was breath taking.Standing 1 foot away from a 1100m drop down the falls watching 3million litres per second of water coming of the Zimbabwe cataract was breath taking, what an adrenaline rush. The Vic Falls area is becoming adrenaline capital of the world. Living on the edge type people will be in their element around this area.
Excellent
Helicopter Flight - Zambia

Helicopter Flight - Zambia

"Superb flight"

19 Jul 2007 • Afternoon excursion

Breath taking an absolute must to see Vic falls this way. We then did the Vic falls tour on foot afterwards, the contrast and experience was completely memorable.
Excellent
Image alt

V&A Hotel

"Loved the sheets at this hotel..............."

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"Well this hoteal taught us both about bedding sheet thread count. We now are proud owners of some posh cotton white sheets.
V&A is lovely, fab location, great views of table mountain.

Great fuss made about our wedding/honeymoon. Rose petals on the bedding, champagne and a nice welcome sign
Very friendly in deed especially manager and trip organiser

Bit miffed that they charged for travel into town by hotel car. Should have said up front that it cost X amount versus taxi charge of Y. Honesty/clarity was needed"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Where were the staff......................"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2007
"This place has a fab building, super grounds, middle of know where, very peaceful. Loved the little cottage, but....................

The people let it down, they were removed, somewhat cold, only came out to greet at meal time. They did not mix with guests, did not inform us about history of the building, I asked about the owners etc and did not get a clear answer etc. There was no feeling of warmth, happy for you to be with us - non of that feeling"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"I could live here - mega brill place"

3 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2007
"Loved the trips
Loved the location
Cottages/houses are really cool loooking out onto the forest and the cheeky monkeys are so funny, having a shower with them is really funny !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
In the evening the meal is around a large table and the wiatress manages to learn all 30 christian names and repeats them back to everyone both dinner - amazing.
Love how they have used local labour, giving something back to the community - Big Joe the chef is great comes and speaks with you around a camp fire with drinks before eating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

Kwandwe Ecca Lodge

"Can I live here as well"

3 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"Great place to view animals, although hard to find in quantity, seeing perhaps one of the big five each day. Although did not see a leopard. Next time a park with more anaimals and the same viewing privacy (not many trucks/drives) was great would be ideal

The staff are wonderful and great lodges to stay in by the river.

Trackers are knowledgable and friendly, eating freshly made pancakes in the bush whilst watching wild animals was fab.
Staff were very friendly"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

The Grace, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"This was not a great experience"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2007
"Had trouble in Jo-Burg from the minute we stepped onto the runway. The taxi was late by 1 hour.
The hotel was not well organised
They would not accept the taxi vouchers
They held us up the following morning on the way to train station - incompetent reception staff. I gave them 50 Rand and walked out leaving them to sweat over the vouchers.
The taxi driver did not know his way to Pretoria railway station
I called Expert Africa staff in S.A and UK 3 times to be sure that they had not over charged me and ask where the taxi was."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Rovos Rail

"Great train experience but............."

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"Well I now know why Mr Rovos guarantees nothing at all. This was a nightmare journey at times, but at the same time a real experience. If I was booking again now, knowing about the train delays, Zimbabwe country state, and the noisy train during the night I would skip this experience for further nights at Hog Hollow of Tongabezi. At some point we were 16 hours behind waiting for a diesel train to arrive, we missed our wonderful game drive. We even got off the train dressed for the game drive and then were told by the side of the track that is was cancelled, since the game park owner was fed up of waiting for us to arrive. We were so far behind in our schedule on the second night the train doubled it speed and ran through the night. It was so noisy we could not sleep properly. At some point we were nearly faced with turning back to Pretoria and being flown to Vic Falls. The food and service was very good, all very friendly. I would advise new railway travellers to skip this journey unless you are mega nuts on trains, rich people on a train through Zimbabwe is not a clever thing to be doing right now."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Mega fab place"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"Superb place with wonderful people. What an experience to be woken by 20 Hippos at 5.45 each morning snorting and blowing off wind plus singing in their unique style. The Croc outside our window was small and fab to have as a guard dog.

Our valet Nymabe we wanted to bring home with us.

The setting by the side of the river in hut/cottage number 1 was just an amazing experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team