This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

21

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2008 trip

Namibia between 17 Sep 2008 and 7 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"This trip was not about the wildlife but about the landscape and meeting the local people. We both enjoyed the trip tremendously, a lot of driving but then at the end of the day would be a lodge with some activites.

The highlight was definitely visiting the Bushmen and the Skeleton Coast, both very special places.

Would like to go back again and see somemore."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Relaxing location"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"short stay to relax after the flight, made to feel very welcome."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Great scenery"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"The lodge was very new with views of game from the deck. However some of the game were not indigenous to Namibia, did we really need to have camels to look at?

Activities include a walking trail and game drive in adjacent game reserve with stunning views of White Rhino's. The lodge also had a flowering Jacaranda tree - beautiful"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nhoma Camp

Nhoma Camp

"A great bushman experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2008
"This was one of the highlights of the trip once we got there. Long drive in but well worth it. Arno and Theo were very hospitable as well as the rest of the staff.

Going out with the Bushmen was a humbling experience and for both of us a huge learning curve. They brought the bush to life with demonstrations on hunting and making arrows and snares. Village life was experienced in the evenings with games and rope making. We finished off with a night camping under the stars by the waterhole - what more could we ask for. Can't wait to return with the grandkids.

Make sure you have plenty of petrol, we got back to Grootfontain on empty."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"Green oasis"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2008
"A great stop over spot in the Otavi mountains. Surrounded by hills and trees, very picturesque location with a definite sense of history.

Mikka the manager made us very welcome and we wish the new owner from Dublin all the best.

The main activities were a choice of four walking trails around the property - well worth it."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Elephant camp"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2008
"Saff need to be more organised and more welcoming (smiles are free) the accomodation was excellent and we had great viewings of Elephants and other game from nearby waterholes."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Dry waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2008
"Many waterholes were dry but good viewings of lions and other game where there was water.

Would recommend staying at waterholes for some time - game come and go on a regular basis. Be prepared to do a lot of driving, Mornings were better for game than the evenings."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Rhino rules"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2008
"Not sign posted but take first right after leaving Etosha via Anderson gate, pass through the security gate and its a short drive.

Well laid out camp with a floodlite waterhole as the centre point to the restaurant. Black Rhino's, lions and jackals. Activities are limited but there was a walking trail around the camp with a guide. Staff were extremely friendly and informative."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Cool mountain views"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"Wonderful location in the mountains with views over the valley.

Staff were in abundance and all from the local community, they were very friendly and helpful and seemed to love working with tourists.

Plenty of activities, including a self guided walk around the plateau, minimum of two night stay here is recommended. Could have stayed here longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Leopard paradise"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2008
"Very well run camp, everything went as smooth as clockwork.

Staff very helpful. Lots of activites, almost certain to see Leopards and Cheetah's. Would recommend taking the night trip to see the porcupines and African wild cat.

If you have any energy left after the organised activies there are several walking trails close by."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Nice garden"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2008
"A welcome retreat to relax in the garden.

We chose to have supper at the guest house and just relax by the pool with views over Windhoek. Nice place to unwind after the trip.

Leopold the manager was very attentive and helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

Schoeman's Skeleton Coast Safaris

"Beyond our expectation"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"What can we say about this. Andre, our pilot/guide brought the whole Skeleton coast alive together with his wonderful daughter Yurianka who seemed to search endlessly for diamonds in the sand. Never knew rocks could be so interesting.

This trip was low level flying over the mountains, dunes and sea. We would land in places that one would think was impossible. The camps we stayed in were incredible for the views and the feeling that we were really in the wilderness. Everyday was filled with new adventures.

To experience the roaring dunes was a highlight together with being driven over these dunes whilst perched on top of the vehicle. Never realised a Land Rover could negotiate such steep slopes. We ended up camping on the banks of the Kunene River, spectacular views.

This was the way to end our trip to Namibia, well worth it and would love to do it again and learn more."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Our first trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 18 Nov 2007 and 13 Dec 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Will be back.

All flights were on time, no baggage lost.

The trip went like clockwork"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"This was our first safari - brilliant"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"Lots of activities, although the mokoro trip was shortened by elephants getting too close and a cold stong wind. James the guide was very enthusiastic and we learnt a lot from him.

All the camp staff were very helpful and friendly. Great managers, great hospitality"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Footsteps across the Delta

Footsteps across the Delta

"wonderful footsteps"

2 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2007
"This was magic, best place of all the camps, small tents, close to nature. Great company from the staff and atmosphere. Only problem with walking safari's is the long wait after the morning walk before the evening walk.

This felt like camping in the bush but with the great food and wine."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selinda Camp

Selinda Camp

"Selinda Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2007
"Lots of animals, very good sightings, over all a very exciting experience"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Selinda walking trail, Botswana (this camp has since closed)

"Selinda walking trail review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2007
"Another excellent walking safari with great staff, enjoyed the storms and temperature changes and wonderful converstaions. once again a long break between the morning and afternoon walks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Bishops' Court, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Bishops' Court review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2007
"Great view, wonderful guest house, felt very relaxed. Daniel the driver was very helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Roggeland Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Roggeland review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2007
"Very peaceful setting, staff were attentive and fresh vegetables from the garden - great."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Klippe Rivier Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Klippe Rivier"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2007
"Lots of antiques, felt like being in a museum. A bit noisy, a factory was close by. Had a very friendly cat and dog"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Oulap Country House, South Africa (this camp has since closed)

"Oulap"

2 nights Arrived 6 Dec 2007
"Great hosts. wonderful views, conversations and home cooking. Good place for walking and see the Karoo plants.

Should have stayed longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hog Hollow Country Lodge

Hog Hollow Country Lodge

"Hog Hollow"

2 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2007
"Too many honeymoon couples, felt a bit crowded. did not need all the luxury extras.

Great location, staff were very helpful"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Storms River Restcamp

Storms River Restcamp

"Storms River"

2 nights Arrived 10 Dec 2007
"Great place to end our trip, its all about location. Brilliant walks and vegetation, great place to unwind after all the luxury guest houses.

A place not to be missed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team